Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...
DVD front

This expansive 4-disc DVD set takes viewers further into "The Fellowship of the Ring".

< read all 8 reviews

Incredible.

  • Nov 10, 2002
Rating:
+5
There are DVDs. There are special edition DVDs. There are special edition DVDs loaded with extras. Now, there is THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING SPECIAL EXTENDED DVD EDITION. I don't think there has been anything like this in home viewing ever. It has been suggested that this Special Edition set is the closest thing one can actually get to having been a part of the movie and I would have to agree.

It will take a person about two weeks of 4 hours of viewing each day to get through all the features in this set.

First of all is the film. The movie has been extended by over 30 minutes of extra footage not seen in the theatrical release. Though some of the scenes would have perhaps dragged the film down some in the theatres, they are a great addition here, tying up a few loose ends and making the novel come to life even more.

The movie itself takes up 2 discs. There are four different commentaries to go along with the film. I found the one with Peter Jackson to be my favorite.

The third disc is called "From Book to Vision". It includes six different documentaries ranging from one on Tolkien to one on Weta Workshop. There are also maps, galleries, and slides consisting of over 2,000 images. Besides that there are also a bunch of storyboards which give even greater insight into the development of the film.

The fourth disc has several more documentaries (around seven, if I'm not mistaken), several galleries, and behind-the-scenes photographs.

This special edition DVD set also includes a free ticket for THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS that is accepted at just about any chain movie theatre.

There is so much in this set, that I can't discuss it all. I mean, it took me two weeks to just view most of it. Wow. If you are a LORD OF THE RINGS fan, this is a must have, far better than the original DVD release and something to hold onto for life.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Lord of the Rings: The Fel... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Good stuff. Even though Glorfindel didn't make it into the script ;)
Quick Tip by . September 30, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
The singular most impressive film series in history takes viewers deeper into Peter Jackson's epic "The Fellowship of the Ring" in this DVD!
review by . February 25, 2004
I was not especially taken with Peter Jackson's films, but was sufficiently intrigued by them to read the story, and wasn't especially swayed by that either - Tolkein's masterwork is a heavily over-written linear, episodic chaser providing the context for a devoutly catholic (and therefore fairly block-headed) rumination on good and evil - the sort of thing you don't see too often in these post modern times (and three cheers for that). What did impress me, though, was Tolkien's complete universe …
review by . November 29, 2003
Long had fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" novels waited for a film worth making. The first in New Line Cinema's adaptions of Tolkien's novels, THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING is just that. In fact, it is the best film since about 1994.Elijah Wood plays Frogo Baggins, the young Hobbit who discovers that his Uncle Bilbo's (Ian Holm) magic ring is actually the source of a wild hunt which involves elves, orcs, and other creatures of Middle-Earth. After being informed of …
review by . January 02, 2003
I must admit that the first time I saw Lord of the Rings, I fell asleep.. assuming that my falling asleep meant I didn't like the movie, I didn't attempt to watch it again until I saw this DVD set and figured it was a great value for the price.WOW, what I missed! I'm glad that I never actually saw the original theatrical version, because this extended version of the film is true to the book I knew and loved as a kid.While 4 DVD's seems like a lot to watch (and you probably WON'T watch them all in …
About the reviewer
I like to read and watch movies.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
tomtom13
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Specially created for home viewing, over 30 minutes of new and extended scenes were added by director Peter Jackson, including new music by Howard Shore.

Hours of bonus features
Packaging featuring conceptual sketches
A 12-page companion booklet
Exclusive DVD-ROM content
view wiki

Details

Director: Peter Jackson
Genre: Action, Adventure, Classics, Drama, Fantasy
Release Date: December 10, 2001 (U.K. Premiere); December 19, 2001 (U.S. Premiere)
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 208 minutes
Studio: New Line Cinema, Wingnut Films
Polls with this movie
DVD front

The Best Fantasy Films, Part I

by

First to Review

"Incredible."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists