Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Chocolate-Covered Honey-Cured Bacon

2 Ratings: 3.5
Bacon coated with cocoa
1 review about Chocolate-Covered Honey-Cured Bacon

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Dec 23, 2010
  • by
  • posted in Gourmand
I like chocolate and I love bacon; but the odd blend of sweetness and salty flavor makes it a very different snack. It is an acquired taste. I would eat it, but not of a lot of it. Full review coming soon...
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
December 31, 2010
Waiting on that full review.
 
December 28, 2010
Nope, never heard of it! I'm not so sure how I would feel about it, I'll have to taste it and let you know! Where did you taste it?
December 28, 2010
at a Christmas family dinner at a friend's house. Someone made it (or maybe bought it) for the party. It was a trip! I have no idea how they got the oil out of the bacon, and made the chocolate stick to it. It was different...I'll ask how they made it.
 
December 26, 2010
Sweetness b4 salty food is actually great! :-)
 
December 24, 2010
And to think that I have a hard time convincing my son in law that salt is good on ice cream--especially chocolate. it's also good on watermelon and apples.
December 24, 2010
my mom does the same thing to watermelon and apples. Really, on ice cream? Hm, perhaps I'll give it shot. Do you just sprinkle some on top?
December 24, 2010
Yeah,mostly. But since I also like peasnuts on ice crea I get the salted cocktail nuts. They have a lot of extra salt on the bottom of the can and I just get a spoon and use a little of that with the peanuts. Salting watermelon and apples isn't all that weird. Turns out a lot of people do it.
December 24, 2010
I will try that. that sounds good! My mom also uses salt on her unripe mangoes. You like mangoes?
December 24, 2010
I've only tried them once but they didn't impress me. I like those cute little Christmas oranges--Clementines, mostly because you don't have to dedicate the better part of your day to trying to peel them.
December 26, 2010
Salt is good on pineapples & Coke too!
December 30, 2010
I never tried either of those with salt. I've salted beer though. I can see where it might be good on pineapple. I can almost taste it right now.
 
1
What's your opinion on Chocolate-Covered Honey-Cured Bacon?
rate
2 Ratings: +3.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Details
Related Topics
Smoked Salmon

Food

Dulce de Leche Ice-cream

Ice cream flavored with or whose flavor resembles a milk-bas

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists