Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Boursin

5 Ratings: 2.6
A brand of soft, creamy Gournay cheeses.

Boursin is a brand of Gournay cheese. It is a soft creamy cheese available in a variety of flavours. Its flavor and texture is somewhat similar to cream cheese.      Boursin cheese was first produced in 1957 by François Boursin … see full wiki

Tags: Food, Gourmand, Snacks, Cheese, Boursin
1 review about Boursin

Literally Melt in Your Mouth Cheese!

  • Jan 11, 2010
Rating:
+5
Creamier than cream cheese.  Crumblier than feta and blue.  Meltier than butter.  What is it?  Boursin!

For years, I had been eating and totally loving mock Boursin, never once questioning what exactly it was actually mocking.  I just figured that real Boursin was much more expensive and/or more difficult to find.  The mock Boursin that I get is made of cream cheese, parsley, garlic, plus some seasoning.  All of those ingredients are heavily whipped so that it can be as light and airy as possible.  So if you've never had Boursin before, you can imagine how it tastes with these ingredients and method.  Waaaay delicious and a winning combination that is fantastic as a creamy dip or spread.

However, after enjoying mock Boursin for many years, my world was turned upside down during a routine cheese run to Trader Joe's when I spotted a cute little 3"x3" box with "boursin" boldly printed on it.  Garlic and herb flavor.  Holy moly, this was the real deal!  And what's more?  It's only $3.99.  What was I doing eating mock Boursin this whole time?  Of course, I picked up a box, plus some water crackers and a baguette while I was at it.  (By the way, seems like Boursin is pretty widely available, just check out their store locator)

Inside this cute little box is a cute little cylindrical block wrapped in foil.  After unwrapping it slightly, I cut into it with a knife.  It crumbled.  When I put it into my mouth, it instantly melted into this creamy goodness.  Then an idea popped into my head.  I grabbed some scallops out of the freezer, put them on a tray, scooped a bit of Boursin on each piece and steamed.  It was as delicious as I had imagined it to be.  Boursin is oh-so versatile.  I bet it would be amazing in salad and as sandwich spread as well.  And then some!

Now I'm not mocking mock Boursin.  I still love it and would totally eat it, but real Boursin and mock Boursin are totally different and both must be tried.  They definitely have different tastes and texture.  Real Boursin is actually available in several other flavors like shallot and chive, or pepper.  And with mock boursin, you can pretty much stir in any ingredient you'd like (more garlic for me, please!).  Real Boursin is not too expensive, but if you plan on having a huge party, it would be more cost effective to buy those huge one foot logs of cream cheese at Costco and whip up some mock Boursin of your own.  Plenty of recipes online.

Otherwise, if you're just feeding yourself, then go ahead and indulge in the real thing ;)
Literally Melt in Your Mouth Cheese!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
36
Thought-Provoking
35
Fun to Read
36
Well-Organized
35
Post a Comment
February 20, 2012
Excellent review! I had not heard of Boursin, before. OK I'm living in the Cheese Dark Ages. Sounds like a wonderfully refreshing cheese...Got me to thinking how it would hold up on pizza.....hmmm.
March 03, 2012
You need to try it! I once baked pizza dough and spread Boursin over it. It was amazing :)
 
August 23, 2011
Looks delicious and caloric to boot !
August 23, 2011
Haha, that it is indeed!
March 03, 2012
I think that low fat ricotta has fewer calories.
March 03, 2012
Oh, I'm sure :P
 
June 03, 2011
Yep, Trader Joe's will do that!
June 03, 2011
Haha, yeah!  Have you seen my Trader Joe's review?  I'm a self-proclaimed Trader Ho through and through :P
June 03, 2011
No, have you a link?
June 07, 2011
Oh, I hyperlinked my last comment, but here it is again: http://www.lunch.com/Gourmand/reviews/d/User...all_me_a_Trader_Ho.html :)
 
November 16, 2010
I practically grew up on Boursin - as my waistline will attest. Apart from the obvious gorging, Boursin is also excellent stuffing for chicken, by the way.
November 16, 2010
I didn't need to know that! Now my cordon bleu chicken is going to be extra fat...
 
January 12, 2010
I had a taste of this during New year's Eve as a pre-dinner snack. Really tasty and good! I need to look up the recipes...
January 12, 2010
Make sure to get your hands on a hand blender or something if you don't already have one. You need that baby whipped! ;P
 
January 12, 2010
I tried this awhile back upon my former colleague recommendation. Didn't think it's that great although I might not have tried it on the right stuff! I still prefer my cheese to be on slices :-)
January 12, 2010
Blasphemous! ;P Maybe you should try out mock Boursin then. I dig cheese slices, too, but then again, I've never met a cheese I didn't like, whether it's sliced, crumbled, shredded, melted, etc ;) Thanks for your comment, Sharrie!
January 12, 2010
I do like them melted, lol...
January 12, 2010
Comté & Gruyère are nice, especially if you get them in Switzerland!
January 12, 2010
I love gruyere!  I don't know if you've seen this or not, but it's amazing in this edamame salad.  And comte, mmmm... haven't had that since I was in France!
January 12, 2010
You should be able to get Comté in supermarkets. I found it in Singapore and Hong Kong. I'm sure Frisco has it!
January 12, 2010
What I truly love is actually Foie gras & Leverpostej! :D
January 12, 2010
How very Danish of you :-) My wife loves the stuff and I can barely stand the odor, LOL.
January 12, 2010
*DROOL* foie gras, leverpostej and pate are the bomb diggity! (Yes, I just said 'bomb diggity')  Paul, how could you not stand the smell?  It's all sorts of amazingness! :P
 
January 11, 2010
Good Lord would you stop making me hungry....all I had was crackers today cause I was all caught up on a book today and you brought home this delicious cheese. It sounds really good Devora. I know for sure it won't be at my local grocery stores......Where do you get yours?
January 11, 2010
Then go pick up a box of this, lady! :P  I got mine at Trader Joe's and I just checked out the store locator on the Boursin site -- turns out it's available in many places, including Safeway if you have any where you are.  You can check out the store locator for yourself! ;)
January 11, 2010
O man! you said "Safeway" I got one right across the street from me, Thanks for the info ;-)
 
1
What's your opinion on Boursin?
rate
5 Ratings: +2.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Boursin (cheese)
Related Topics
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

A grilled or toasted sandwich consisting of two slices of br

Ricotta Cheese

Ricotta is an Italian sheep milk or cow milk whey cheese.

First to Review
Source: Boursin on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists