Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Bruschetta

14 Ratings: 4.0
An Italian appetizer of toasted bread topped with various herbs, vegetables, cheeses or meats.

Bruschetta is a food whose origin dates to at least the 15th century from central Italy. It consists of grilled bread rubbed with garlic and topped with extra-virgin olive oil, salt and pepper. Variations may include toppings of spicy red pepper, tomato, … see full wiki

1 review about Bruschetta

Simple, delicious Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

  • May 16, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Ingredients for 4 servings

2 Roma Tomatoes
1 Small loaf of sour dough bread
4 Basil leaves
1 Garlic clove
Extra virgin olive oil
Salt and Pepper






Making bruschetta (pronounced brew-sket-ah) is a wonderfully easy and tasty Italian appetizer to pair with a dinner of a meat entree and vegetables or served by itself as a finger food to accompany wine or cocktails.  It is very easy to make for the novice cook and when used with fresh, quality ingredients will guarantee to bring out that satisfying sound all chefs seek from their guests:  the murmuring of "yum!" while chewing.

Start by cutting your sour dough loaf into 1/2 inch slices and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper on all sides.  Toast in an oven set to 500 degrees for 1-2 minutes on each side until the bread is golden brown and crusty.  Rub the garlic clove on one side of the bread and top with the tomato basil topping, a simple mix of the diced tomatoes, chopped basil, a few tablespoons of olive oil and additional salt and pepper. 

If your guests are all together, such as before a dinner, you can put the topping on the toast yourself or you can make it  interactive by letting guests add the topping to their liking.  This is especially useful if your guests are running late because you won't have to worry about the toast becoming soggy from the topping.

What I really enjoy about bruschetta is how fast I can whip it up as an appetizer in about 10 minutes.  It's also a convenient dish to bring to a party with the toast and the topping in separate containers and combined at the destination.  Bruschetta is great to pair with drinks when "pre-partying," which is when friends save money by consuming alcoholic beverages at someone's apartment before hitting up a bar/lounge where drinks are pricey.  In this mild state of inebriation, people can get hungry.  Here bruschetta shines because the toasty, warmed bread with a hint of garlic mixes well with the bright colors and crisp flavors of tomato and basil. 

In America, it seems like the going-out philosophy tends to be drink, drink, DRINK and then ending the night with cheap tacos or breakfast at Dennys.  On the otherhand, Europeans believe in always coupling food with drink, as seen in Spain where if you order a beer you will receive free, simple appetizers called "tapas."  I believe munching on food like bruschetta throughout a wild night out of drinking is not only fun, but also helps reduce hangovers and curb those hunger pains that lead to consuming stacks of pancakes at 3:00 A.M. and waking up with what feels like a small bowling ball in your stomach. 

Bruschetta is also wonderfully versatile, as you can add whatever ingredients you like to fit your own taste buds.  A few of my favorite variations include topping the toast with homemade pesto or proscuitto and parmessan cheese.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 30, 2009
I'm a big bruschetta fan. Here's a tip I learned in an Italian cooking class: Chill a metal bowl while you prep. Let all the ingredients chill together for a bit so that the flavors blend and marinate in their own juices. I sometimes serve a bruschetta alonside crostini with an olive tapenade. It's a complimentary flavor combination. The tapenade can provide that extra salty touch.
 
May 21, 2009
nice! thanks for the recipe!
May 24, 2009
woopak must eat between movie reviews!
 
May 20, 2009
Great review. Agree that it is a easy and delicious app. I sometimes make it with Roasted Peppers, but Tomato and Basil is the best.
May 24, 2009
How do you roast the peppers? Just pop in the oven for a bit and then dice?
May 26, 2009
Actually it works best if you blister the skin and then seal in a bowl and let them steam for 15 minutes. Then you peel and discard the skin and seeds and dice. To blister the skin, rub them with oil and put under the broiler turning as they blacken. Or, you can hold them over a burner on a stove or over another flame. Really good.
May 28, 2009
Interesting, I assume that would evaporate the water inside. I will give this a try to add some flair and color to my recipe.
May 28, 2009
I am not sure of the reason, but keeping it sealed makes it really easy to peel off the skins. You still get a little of that charred flavor, but the blistered parts come right off.
 
May 20, 2009
This review is quite simply delicious. I've been craving something along these lines for the past week. Maybe some hummus, bruschetta, or tapenade? My taste buds are certainly aroused. Thanks fooddude!!
May 24, 2009
Let me know what good combos you come up with. I read of one with an eggplant puree that sounded amazing.
May 26, 2009
hmm, sounds divine. i love eggplant recipes. i'm a bit of a mediterraenean freak so anything such as hummus, falafel, or what not works for me. smiles i will have to think of some other great stuff for you though.
May 28, 2009
Pasta alla Norma = Pasta + Tomato Sauce + Eggplant, a delicious recipe from Jamie's Italy.
May 28, 2009
Hmm, never heard of that before but I'll check it out. Thanks! Did you catch the recipe for Mascarpone Cheesecake? I saw that on here not too long ago & have to admit am dying to try it. Thnx!!
May 30, 2009
sounds amazing, send me the link!
May 30, 2009
Unsalted butter for the cake pan 1.5 cups fine graham cracker crumbs 1 pound mascarpone cheese 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted 6 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature .5 cup sugar 3 eggs 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice Directions Wrap the outside of the pan with 2 layers of heavy-duty aluminum foil to prevent leakage. Butter the bottom and sides of a 9-inch springform pan. The foil should come all the way up the sides of the pan because the cheesecake will bake in a water bath. In a bowl, mix the crumbs and butter well. Pat the mixture firmly into place on the bottom of the prepared pan and refrigerate for 1 hour. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar gradually and beat until completely blended. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the lemon juice and lemon zest, then add the mascarpone and beat until smooth. Pour into the prepared pan. Place the cake pan in a larger pan and add boiling water to come halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake for 1 hour, rotating the pan after 30 minutes for even cooking. It will be lightly colored on the top. Remove from the oven and let cool in the water bath. As it cools, it will shrink a little from the sides of the pan. When completely cool, remove the pan sides and slide the cheesecake onto a plate. Cover and refrigerate. Serve chilled.
May 31, 2009
I think I just gained 1 lb just reading that delicious recipe.  Turns out others on Lunch have already enjoyed Marscapone Cheesecake.
June 02, 2009
Yeah, that's where I found the recipe myself. I have not had the pleasure yet of making one but do intend to seriously give this one a try. I'm glad you liked it. Will forward any other recipes or combos I can find for you. Cheers!
 
1
What's your opinion on Bruschetta?
rate
14 Ratings: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Bruschetta
Related Topics
Pizza

A dish of Italian origin, made with an oven-baked, flat, gen

Source: Bruschetta on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists