Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Gingerbread

14 Ratings: 2.7
A sweet that can take the form of a cake or a cookie in which the predominant flavors are ginger and raw sugar.

Gingerbread is a sweet that can take the form of a cake or a cookie in which the predominant flavors are ginger and raw sugar.      As a cookie, gingerbread can be made into a thin, crisp cookie (often called a ginger snap) or a softer … see full wiki

1 review about Gingerbread

Gingerbread cookies recipe with bacon fat

  • Dec 10, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
A couple of Xmases ago, I chanced across a recipe by the NY Times fashion critic Cathy Horyn for gingerbread cookies made with bacon fat. Alarming... and yet ... delicious. 

I couldn't find the recipe as it first appeared in the NY Times, but Cathy's re-posted it again on her blog. Here it is:  http://runway.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/04/08/lets-eat/

I am making it again this year, and will be frying up quite a bit of bacon to get at the fat. In my mind, it isn't the holidays unless it's something really decadent. What do you guys think? Too much? 
gingerbread cookies

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 19, 2008
this is insane. bacon ice cream?? CUPCAKES?? holy...how does the stuff taste in ice cream and cupcakes? I really want to try it ... but I'm not a fan of bacon... it sounds so intriguing though!!!!
 
December 18, 2008
Haha, now there's another reason for them to build that high speed bullet train from LA to San Fran!
 
December 18, 2008
@devora: Thanks for the tip. I'm going have to check it out now. I once had a part of a chocolate bar with bacon bits in it. Unfortunately, it was as gross as it sounds. But! I'll try anything w/ bacon in it at least once!
 
December 17, 2008
This is an amazing discovery!
 
December 17, 2008
You ever hear of Cups and Cakes in San Francisco? They can make cupcakes with bacon bits in it!
 
December 11, 2008
I'm glad you agree! It's so wildly decadent that I can't believe it even exists. But the smokiness of the bacon fat goes really well together w/ the spiciness of the cookie.
 
1
What's your opinion on Gingerbread?
rate
14 Ratings: +2.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Gingerbread cookies
Gingerbread cookies
Related Topics
Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ice cream sandwiched between two cookies.

First to Review
Source: Gingerbread on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists