Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Chunky Monkey Ice-cream

Flavor of ice cream produced by Ben & Jerry's primarily consisting of bananas and chocolate

< read all 4 reviews

Who Doesn't Love Ice Cream?

  • May 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I scream. You scream. We all scream for ice cream. Maybe that's why businesses like B&J or Baskin Robbins are still around & I'm thankful for that. I can't imagine what Summer would be like without something as refreshing & soothing as a scoop from Ben & Jerry's.

Whether you are talking about visiting their store or simply grabbing a pint from your local food mart, this stuff is addictive & you won't be able to stop eating it nor are you likely to share it with your family or friends. Well, I guess that just depends on how nice you would like to be. I, personally, would rather have my own pint when I'm ready to indulge in something not too sinful but I'd probably buy one for whomever just so happens to be around me at the time as well. You see, it's Summer & that's just not the time to be greedy.

Chunky Monkey is a classic just like mom's apple pie. At some point, everyone should've had this treat & you will probably get blank stares from everyone if you pretend to be ignorant. If you seriously have never tried this best-selling flavor or any other Ben & Jerry's ice cream, then what in God's name are you waiting for? You simply need to take out time from your busy schedule & treat yourself to one of my life's finest pleasures. 

For those of you who don't know about the flavor, I envy you in some respects. You don't have the addiction which means you're safe temporarily. Chunky Monkey is a banana flavored ice cream loaded with chocolate & walnuts. Trust me, they do not skimp on the walnuts or chocolate pieces at all so each spoonful is chocked with both. I also have to tell you this is the best banana flavored ice cream I've ever tasted. So many ice creams out there claim to be flavored with bananas but simply taste fake or even a bit unpleasant. Needless to say, this is one of richest & smoothest ice creams that I've ever had the pleasure of trying.

The walnuts here are a nice touch. I am not usually a big fan walnut fan per se but they are flavorful & actually do compliment the banana flavor as well as the chocolate chunks. Thankfully, the chocolate & the walnuts are separate so you have the distinct experience of enjoying them both which may be uncharacteristic of most ice creams. Uusually, we are subjected to chocolate covered nuts in most sub-standard ice creams which is kinda boring & certainly overutilized. Pretty spiffy, eh?

The chocolate chunks were also somewhat of a specialty here. They are huge! In fact, the size of each chocolate chunk is almost as big as an Andes candy piece. I'm serious!! While not quite semi-sweet, they are just bursting with flavor although this does not take anything away from the sweet banana taste nor the fresh walnuts. Again, this was yet another nice touch from the guys who know how to make some serious ice cream with their playful inventions.

Ok, enough said. You either know what I'm talking about or you don't. If you aren't familiar, I certainly hope you intend to take action very soon. Find your local store or visit the supermarket & just don't get caught strung out in the freezer. Bon Appetit! 
   

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 18, 2009
I liked this personalized review of Chunky Monkey! Though I'm an addict of "Half-Baked" I will next try out this symphony of all things sugary and delicious.
May 18, 2009
Thanks! I really appreciate that! I've pretty much decided that I could scarf down just about any flavor of Ben & Jerry's honestly. I could make a list of the flavors I'm addicted to these days. Half Baked is another good one. ;-)~
 
May 15, 2009
Yum! Are you a scoop in a bowl or a cone person? Waffles cones are king in my book.
May 15, 2009
I would eat it either way personally. But waffle cones are just simply like crack. LOL Way too addictive! Smiles
 
May 14, 2009
Can't ever seem to order anything but Cherry Garcia...sounds good though. Ben and Jerry's does use unusually large chocolate and fudge pieces in their flavors...nice review
May 14, 2009
I don't think there are any flavors at Ben & Jerry's that I haven't thought were just simply amazing. I am now thinking of Butterscotch Coconut which sadly can't be bought in the supermarket. Time to visit the local B&J. Smiles Thanks for the compliment man! It really means a great deal to me! Cheers!!
 
May 14, 2009
from horror to ice cream! nice work, bud! LOL
May 14, 2009
Yeah, I am definitely in the mood for chomping down on smooth ice cream & this fav-o always comes to mind. Hell, just about anything Ben & Jerry's makes is divine in my honest opinion. I am really craving some One Cheesecake Brownie too. Quite the transition, eh? From Horror films to Tori Amos....and now ice cream! LOL Thanks dude!! Hope you are having a good one man!
May 14, 2009
I tried my first Ben and Jerry's after hearing it mentioned on an episode of Law& Order--Cherry Garcia. It was love at first bite. I've often wondered about Chunky Monkey, but the walnuts put me off. They're one of my least favorite nuts in the world. I don't like brownies either, but that Cheesecake Brownie sounds tempting, after all this is Ben & Jerry, they do things right. I used to just die for their Double Chocolate Fudge Swirl.
May 14, 2009
I think you'd probably love the Chunky Monkey flavor. I am by no means a walnut fan but I didn't mind them here for some reason. The cheesecake brownie flavor is also quite delicious also even though I can usually take or leave brownies. I agree wholeheartedly with you that B&J always do things right when it comes to ice cream & I am always amazed at the creative flavors or combinations they manage to invent. Butterscotch Coconut is also wonderful & I highly recommend this when you visit their restaurant. It's just a shame really that some of their flavors can't be purchased in the supermarket because I would rack up on this one!! Cheers!
May 14, 2009
I know. Ice Cream is becoming more of a luxury these days although who can resist? I look forward to the special occasions such as election day or efforts to help the community in our area when B&J actually gives out free ice cream cones. This happens once or twice a year but thankfully there are two locations in my area so I usually will try to hit both of them up for free ice cream. *Smiles*
 
1
More Chunky Monkey Ice-cream reviews
Quick Tip by . January 05, 2011
Tastes like real banana, not the icky fake-banana flavor. Very delicious, has big chunks of dark chocolate and walnuts
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
A great flavor, but tough to find in my local stores!
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
I used to work at ben and Jerry's and this was my flavor of choice! so good, but dangerous- just remember moderation
About the reviewer
Brian ()
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
B&J redirects here. For the beverage company see Bartles and Jaymes.
This article needs additional citations for verification.
Please help improve this article by adding reliable references. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (June 2007) Ben & Jerry's Type Subsidiary Founded 1978 Headquarters South Burlington, Vermont Key people Walt Freese[1] (CEO) Industry Retail Products Ice Cream Parent Unilever, PLC Website http://www.benjerry.com/

Ben & Jerry's is a brand of ice cream, frozen yogurt, sorbet, and ice cream novelty products, manufactured by Ben & Jerry's Homemade Holdings, Inc., headquartered in South Burlington, Vermont, United States, with the main factory in Waterbury. The company is now owned by the conglomerate Unilever.

Contents[]

[edit] History

Ben & Jerry's ice-cream branch at the United Square Shopping Mall, Singapore

In 1977 lifelong ex-hippie friends Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield completed a correspondence course on ice cream making from the Pennsylvania State University. On May 5, 1978, with a $12,000[citation needed] investment the pair opened an ice cream parlor in a renovated gas station in downtown Burlington, Vermont....

view wiki

Details

Polls
Butter Pecan Ice-cream

Ice-cream Flavors

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists