Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Aa condiment made from tomatoes.

< read all 12 reviews

Being Persian, I'm naturally required to love Ketchup.

  • Dec 12, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I won't talk about how much I love ketchup for one simple reason: I'm Persian, and thus, I (apparently) naturally love the stuff.

Growing up we ate ketchup with nearly everything, including a multitude of Persian rice-based meals (Baghali Polo, anyone?). But then I went to college, and a close friend pointed out how much I love ketchup after seeing me eat for many years. I was deeply offended. Personally, I consider mustard to be much classier than the red stuff that's consumed endlessly throughout the world.

One day, the friend and I were at an on-campus eatery (the Silo, for all you Aggies out there) and we saw a girl walk up to the condiments tray and take a wad of ketchup packets. Her friend turned to her and yelled, "Oh my god, you're so Persian!" (She really did emphasize the "so" to the point where I can't get it out of my head.) My friend then looked at me with a smug look, while I stood there, seething in anger.

I returned home for break and told my family the story at the Silo. My sister then added, "It's true. Iranians put ketchup on everything." At that point, I realized it would be futile to argue, so I accepted the truth and have since learned to embrace it.

Tonight, at Carl's Jr, I asked for ketchup with my fried zucchini. The hostess looked at me and said "Fried zucchini with ketchup? Who does that?" If only she'd known. (Shouldn't my caterpillar eyebrows have given it away?)

I love ketchup (apparently), and am proud of it!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 12, 2008
o.m.f.g.
 
1
More Ketchup reviews
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2011
posted in Gourmand
It's the one condiment that seems to be on everyone's menu, but ketchup can sometimes take away from the food you put it on.
review by . August 25, 2010
   We first made this a couple years ago with tomatoes grown from the seeds a Russian friend brought back from Siberia.  We long for August when the past year's supply of chunky ketchup has run out.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Lovely on hot dogs and turkey burgers but sometimes too cold because I think you refrigerate it?
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
On fries, mac n cheese (w/ tabasco), a burger, dog, etc. An all time great condiment.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Ketchup Obsessed -the most AMAZING condiment to ever exist. Above the obvious, try it on eggs & frozen pizza, possibilities are endless!!
review by . April 06, 2009
ketchup, heinz
Jeffrey Steingarten wrote an article a few years back in Vogue, chronicling his experiment to find the best tasting brand of ketchup. Turns out, it's Heinz.   One of the reasons why Heinz is so good, is because it perfectly balances the salty, sweet, sour, bitter, and umami flavors in the ketchup. It's also a rare thing for any single food item to contain all five human tastes.   Also, ketchup goes on fries, but NOT on grilled cheese sandwiches.  And please never spell it …
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Ketchup, also spelled catsup or catchup, is a tomato-based condiment that is usually served with grilled meats, french fries, burgers, fried foods, and many other dishes. Made primarily with tomatoes and vinegar, salt, pepper, and other spices depending on taste, ketchup is served almost everywhere on earth and is used as a base for a multitude of sauces.

Ketchup first originated in Asia as a fish sauce and was brought back to Europe by Dutch and English traders. The first recipes for Ketchup were printed in America in the early 19th century.
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists