Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

Aa condiment made from tomatoes.

< read all 12 reviews

One of the World's Most Perfect Foods

  • Apr 6, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Jeffrey Steingarten wrote an article a few years back in Vogue, chronicling his experiment to find the best tasting brand of ketchup. Turns out, it's Heinz.
One of the reasons why Heinz is so good, is because it perfectly balances the salty, sweet, sour, bitter, and umami flavors in the ketchup. It's also a rare thing for any single food item to contain all five human tastes.
Also, ketchup goes on fries, but NOT on grilled cheese sandwiches.  And please never spell it "catsup" because that's weird and forces my mind to imagine kittens asking me whattup.
ketchup, heinz

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 06, 2009
ha! that's a lot of uses for ketchup! Steingarten writes Vogue's food column! (they actually do have one) :)
 
April 06, 2009
Love the "catsup" line! I find it odd that Ketchup was written about it Vogue, however maybe I am just out of the loop, lol. Is this your favorite brand as well? My kids put ketchup on everything from (yes) grilled cheese, to even pancakes...I know...I know.
 
1
More Ketchup reviews
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2011
posted in Gourmand
It's the one condiment that seems to be on everyone's menu, but ketchup can sometimes take away from the food you put it on.
review by . August 25, 2010
   We first made this a couple years ago with tomatoes grown from the seeds a Russian friend brought back from Siberia.  We long for August when the past year's supply of chunky ketchup has run out.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Lovely on hot dogs and turkey burgers but sometimes too cold because I think you refrigerate it?
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
On fries, mac n cheese (w/ tabasco), a burger, dog, etc. An all time great condiment.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Ketchup Obsessed -the most AMAZING condiment to ever exist. Above the obvious, try it on eggs & frozen pizza, possibilities are endless!!
review by . December 12, 2008
I won't talk about how much I love ketchup for one simple reason: I'm Persian, and thus, I (apparently) naturally love the stuff.     Growing up we ate ketchup with nearly everything, including a multitude of Persian rice-based meals (Baghali Polo, anyone?). But then I went to college, and a close friend pointed out how much I love ketchup after seeing me eat for many years. I was deeply offended. Personally, I consider mustard to be much classier than the red stuff that's consumed …
About the reviewer
Erin ()
I really dig this website!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EeezOfSteeez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Ketchup, also spelled catsup or catchup, is a tomato-based condiment that is usually served with grilled meats, french fries, burgers, fried foods, and many other dishes. Made primarily with tomatoes and vinegar, salt, pepper, and other spices depending on taste, ketchup is served almost everywhere on earth and is used as a base for a multitude of sauces.

Ketchup first originated in Asia as a fish sauce and was brought back to Europe by Dutch and English traders. The first recipes for Ketchup were printed in America in the early 19th century.
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists