Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
sangria

Wine punch typically from Spain and Portugal

< read all 5 reviews

I wouldn't have survived Spain without the stuff!

  • Dec 25, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Simply put, I love sangria. When I travel abroad, I usually have to order a Coke with at least one meal per day. But by the time I was in Spain on my last trip, I had completely forgotten about Coke (and water) and was ordering it with every meal (except breakfast!).

In Spain, I really enjoyed the regional sangria variations. In Granada, for example, sangria is almost always made with a little bit of Sprite for both carbonation and a lemon flavor. In Madrid, it's definitely more red-wine based.

The best part of sangria is finishing your glass and eating the liquor-soaked fruits at the bottom! The drink itself is not heavy, very refreshing, and perfect for a warm summer evening. If you don't like wine, don't worry! Sangria is sweeter and the taste of alcohol is virtually nonexistent, thanks to the addition of sweeteners and all the fruits in the mixture.

Also, more and more, restaurants are offering white-wine sangrias, which are also interesting. Regardless of what you order, it's an interesting drink that's perfect year round, no matter what your meal.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
28
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 03, 2009
I've never had Sangria in Spain ... because I have never been, but my girlfriend is Sangria fanatic and she's had it with dinner at three different LA restaurants. I can honestly say the best Sangria is at Cha Cha Cha in Hollywood/Los Feliz. It's an authentic Spanish restaurant and the Sangria is to die for ... and not that expensive. Try the Paella too!
July 15, 2009
Oooooo, Sangria and Paella...sounds heavenly!
 
March 06, 2009
I have had the Sangria at Sevilla in Riverside- very good!
 
March 06, 2009
LOVE sangria. Somewhat surprisingly, the best one I've ever had was at Legal Seafood in Boston- theirs had Absolut Orange, Triple Sec, and one other liquor I can't seem to think of right now- so delicious, though I'm sure the genuine article in Spain would be even more fabulous!
March 06, 2009
Wow, that sounds like an excellent "alternative" Sangria! Usually it never has any hard liquor, just wine, but Legal Seafood's sounds pretty good, too!
 
January 01, 2009
Yeah! I love homemade sangria! Fresh & Easy's website had a good recipe posted earlier this year. I should dig it up and post it!
 
1
More Sangria reviews
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2010
Simple way to make it is to add a little sugar, apples, and other seasonal fruit to red wine in a bowl and let steep for a while. The wine is then poured off into glasses, and a little bit of sprite or 7-up can be added (in Spain they use a sweetened club soda, so I suppose you could just add more sugar and then add club soda if you like). Good stuff.
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
posted in Gourmand
A very good friend of mine told me that the secret to mixing this drink is finding the right wine which is the cheaper it is, the better. I tend to agree with her because she is awesome!
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2010
Caption
This is one of my all time favorite summer drinks to serve my guests, especially when I grill. I do a white or red sangria depending on the meat I am serving.      Recipe:   Typically, one bottle of white or red wine.  I will use some combination of canned mandarin oranges, or sliced regular oranges, limes, pineapple chunks, maraschino cherries, canned sliced pears. I usually add about 4 shots of a light rum or vodka for an added "kick," a can of sprite, …
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
DELICIOUSSS
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Sangria is a type of wine punch common to Spain and Portugal but served throughout the world. In both countries' languages, sangria means "bloody."

Sangria is typically made from the same basic ingredients, although regional variations are common. Ingredients usually include: wine (usually red, but white sangria is not uncommon), sliced/chopped fruits, a sweetener, additional liquors (brandy, triple sec, etc), and sometimes carbonated water or Sprite.

The drink is usually ordered as a pitcher or carafe and is served in small glasses. 

Ingredients:
  • 8 oz ginger ale
  • 4 oz sugar syrup
  • 32 oz club soda
  • 3 oz curaçao
  • 2 oz brandy (optional)
  • 2- 750 ml bottles red wine
  • juice of 1 orange
  • juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • 6 thinly sliced orange and lemon sections for garnish
  • 1 thinly sliced fresh or brandied peach for garnish (optional)
Preparation:
  1. Pre-chill all ingredients (preferably overnight).
  2. Mix the red wine, curaçao, brandy, fruit juices and sugar syrup well.
  3. Strain into a chilled punch bowl with a cake of ice.
  4. Add the club soda.
  5. Garnish with the orange, lemon and peach slices.

Makes 24 servings.
 

view wiki

Details

Polls
Bellini

Cocktails

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists