Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Vermonster

A large ice cream sundae made by Ben and Jerry's served in a "Vermonster Bucket".

< read all 1 reviews

Certainly lives up to its name

  • May 16, 2011
Rating:
+5
During a recent trip to Vermont, an obligatory trip to the Ben & Jerry's Factory in Waterbury was necessary (check out my post of the tour), and therefore, the obligatory ordering of their infamous Vermonster, a so-bad-it's-awesome concoction of ice cream, was also necessary.

A group of ten of us went on the factory tour, and of course, we had to inquire about the Vermonster, because what better place to experience it than at the original factory in its founding city?  Our awesome tour guide told us that our group size was perfect.  He completely sold us on it, so as soon as the tour ended, we headed straight to the Scoop Shop.

So what exactly does this Vermonster consist of that would require this many people to finish it?
  • 20 scoops of ice cream
  • a fudge brownie
  • 4 bananas
  • 3 cookies, 4 toppings
  • 4 ladles of hot fudge
  • whipped cream
  • marshmallows

I don't know about the rest of you out there, but one or two scoops sans cone and toppings satiates my craving for ice cream plenty.  With that said, here we go...

Scoop Shop!
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5252/5577622089_2b6ee7b208_z.jpg


The constructing of the Vermonster
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5043/5372435862_65a27442dd_z.jpg

The monstrosity
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5186/5577624135_9e097f06a5_z.jpg


The keepsake Vermonster tub
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5126/5372442880_dc00ff78ca.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/167343_528374268803_223201296_1179523_8184698_n.jpg

Larger than the size of my head :)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2243/5727794315_9c75f1fc41.jpg

The keepsake Vermonster tub was for us to keep, but they said that they weren't going to clean it for us until we finished it.  So we had some work to do.  We all took turns zealously digging in.  One person from the group even bought an actual ice cream scoop from the gift shop for the group's biggest eater for more efficient eating.  One by one, our appetites for a monster ice cream sundae waned and only the brave/large-stomached ones were left to eat.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5228/5578203302_f205bf68b6.jpg

Somewhere towards the middle of this, our awesome tour guide joined us for a scoop
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5201/5372453488_b37b527cc4.jpg

Towards the end, we ended up left with this melted mess
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5005/5371846121_a31d289a34.jpg

One brave soul took one for the team though and... drank it.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5006/5372454860_2f3ecaf013.jpg

Shhh... Don't tell anyone, but we ended up having to go to the bathroom to wipe down the tub.  And then we brought it back to the Scoop Shop to get it sufficiently washed and cleaned.  They remarked, "Hey, you guys did a pretty good job!" as we tried to look innocent.  Even with ten people, including four guys, we couldn't finish the whole thing.

If you love ice cream and especially if you love Ben & Jerry's, I highly suggest that you try their Vermonster.  You don't just have to be at their factory as they're actually available at most of their full-service Scoop Shops.  Remember though, only take on this feat if you have a sufficient amount of people to get the job done!  We're not trying to get overnight diabetes here or anything ;)
Certainly lives up to its name

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
July 27, 2011
I really need to go to Vermont. I wonder how many they sell a year...The pictures really made me hungry!
July 27, 2011
I bet they make dozens of these a day! And fortunately, you can get the Vermonster at most Ben & Jerry Scoop Shops. No need to make a trip to Vermont ;)
 
July 09, 2011
Omg, that looks like munchie time after some homemade brownies (wink wink). Let me be your tour guide if you come to D.C.....Go to a couple secret clubs I know...Saw Nils Lofgren a few weeks back.
July 27, 2011
Haha, probably best that you're not around ice cream then ;) And cool!
 
June 18, 2011
Very helpful review.
June 18, 2011
Thanks for reading, Mike! :)
 
June 04, 2011
WOW
June 07, 2011
I know, right?!
 
May 25, 2011
Let me tell you something. Diabetes or pre-diabetes is not fun. This Vermonster contributes to such ailments and should be discouraged. I'm all in favor of sugarless ice cream. Carvel has a delicious sugarless custard in vanilla, chocolate and other flavors. The daily sugar allotment is 37 grams and no more. Some people believe the figure is 25 grams . Still others believe that 15 grams is the daily max allowable for sugar consumption.
May 31, 2011
Thanks for the info, J! I try not to eat sugarfree desserts because they pretty much always contain artificial sugar, which I think is actually worse for health than actual sugar. But in general, I try not to have sugar at all (except when I get dragged into a Vermonster). It does sneak into a lot of foods that you wouldn't typically suspect though!
June 01, 2011
Herbal substitutes like Stevia and Anise are good alternatives to sugar.
 
May 24, 2011
I'm so jealous of your tour and this experience. I have to get up there some time and give it a whirl. Remind me to bring friends -- lots of them! ;) And don't mind the naysayers. The Vermonster is a once-in-a-blue-moon treat and should be viewed as such!
May 24, 2011
Do it! You can probably get it at a B&J Scoop Shop if you have one around you ;)
 
May 24, 2011
A Vermonster is gross. That's why health care is becoming unaffordable in the USA. Childhood diabetes is on an unwelcome rise- especially amongst the poor. Ben and Jerry's is a progressive establishment. The management tries to pay its employees equitably. In fact , the spread between the entry level employees and the Senior Management is one of the smallest. In this country, the spread between the top management and entry level staff can be as much as a grotesque 400 times or more. So for every dollar an entry level person makes, top management can make $400 or more. That trend is just the opposite in Ben and Jerry's to their eternal credit.
May 24, 2011
I think it's alright if you share it with a lot of people, still obviously not great though, but not over the top. With my group of 10, that equated to two scoops each. Not too too bad. And that's great to know about their company. Makes me love them even more :)
 
May 18, 2011
Wow! This looks so yummy and gross all at the same time! LOL! I'm an ice cream fanatic, but I couldn't imagine eating as this...even with a large group of friends!
May 23, 2011
Yeah, yummy and gross is a good way to describe it :P
May 25, 2011
lol!
 
May 17, 2011
Now, that is a colossal bucket o' ice cream! So, clearly you and your friends were brave enough to eat it, but was anyone brave enough or crazy enough to ask what the caloric intake was?
May 17, 2011
I was tempted to look it up for this review, but decided that ignorance is bliss in this case ;P
May 17, 2011
Probably a good idea in this case. ; )
May 18, 2011
Oh, in the wiki, it says:
  • 14,000 calories
  • 500 grams of fat
:x  I think it varies by flavors and toppings that are chosen, but it's somewhere in that ballpark...
May 19, 2011
Wow... is that per serving?!
May 23, 2011
I'm not sure. I hope it's the whole thing!
May 23, 2011
LOL! I bet the sugar buzz is lethal.
May 24, 2011
Well, at that rate, it put me in more of a food coma than anything! :P
May 24, 2011
At least you lived to feast on more another day. ; )
 
May 16, 2011
Nice! all I have to say is you guys better be there to root for me when I take this on in the lunch.com edition of woopak vs. food LMAO! (I did beat the Kitchen sink some years ago)
May 17, 2011
btw, can we do that? woopak vs. food? LOL!
May 17, 2011
LOL, YES! I can't believe you conquered The Kitchen Sink. Review please! ;)
October 21, 2011
Hey, Dev, heard about this one?  
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A Vermonster is a large ice cream sundae made by Ben and Jerry's served in a "Vermonster Bucket."

The Vermonster can only be found in Ben & Jerry's "Scoop Shops."

Ingredients:

  • 20 scoops of ice cream
  • 1 fudge brownie
  • 4 bananas
  • 3 cookies
  • 4 toppings (sprinkles, M&M's, graham crackers etc.) (customers choice)
  • 4 ladles of hot fudge
  • Whipped cream
  • Marshmallows

Nutritional information

  • 14,000 calories
  • 500 grams of fat
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists