Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Black Garlic

A type of fermented garlic used as a food ingredient in Asian cuisine.

< read all 2 reviews

Black Garlic: what is it?

  • Apr 15, 2010
Rating:
+5
This is probably one of the strangest foods you might have never heard of. I have tried it and I will share with you what this is and what it tastes like.

Why is Black Garlic Black?
You take fresh garlic and ferment it for several weeks manipulating time, pressure, and humidity. And garlic comes out...black!

What does it look like? 
It looks just like garlic but it's all black. Very interesting indeed

Ok, what does it taste like? 
Black garlic has one of the most interesting complex flavors I have ever tasted. It's sweet like licorice but maintains a smokey, garlicky taste. Very complex indeed.

I'm creating a Black Garlic and Bacon BBQ sauce that will be up soon. I have already created an experimental spicy sample and regular sample. Very delicious and very interesting indeed.

However, this stuff is expensive!!! 1lb of this stuff can cost you $50!!!! No kidding. So unique and so interesting. I suggest before you die, try it.
Black Garlic: what is it?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
37
Thought-Provoking
34
Fun to Read
34
Well-Organized
33
Post a Comment
April 16, 2012
I like garlic bread. Non-odor garlic supplements are good also.
 
March 16, 2011
Oooh....black garlic! I've never heard of such a thing but, I LOVE garlic and this sounds like it has quite the intriguing taste. Thanks for sharing :) I can't wait to see your BBQ sauce recipe!
 
January 06, 2011
Apparently you can make this by baking garlic in a covered glass container with high humidity at 150F (needs to be 140-155F) for forty days........
 
November 16, 2010
This reminds me of Century Egg! $50? Oh, you mean before I spend all my money :D
 
November 15, 2010
That sounds quite intriguing. I'm a fan of all forms of garlic, but this is the first I've come across black garlic. Thanks for sharing.
 
June 08, 2010
P.S. Thank you, Cap for hooking us up with some samples of the Black Garlic.
 
June 08, 2010
Chef Adrien of Cruda Catering prepared a delightful treat using the tasty Black Garlic... check out the video link attached: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nwh-BjxYmw Cruda Catering is also on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/-cruda-/304684472457?ref=ts
 
April 23, 2010
Holy cow, I've never seen anything like it! Okay, going on my bucket list. Actually, since it's a typically Asian ingredient, I wonder if I've ever tried it before because I ate a ton of fermented foods growing up.... Hmmm, well, I'll have to hunt it down. Thanks for the heads up on this! :)
November 16, 2010
Don't think it's Asian. At least those Asian countries I've been to and eaten in, I've never even spotted it! Unless he means Philippines which I'm not familiar at all. But at $50, I doubt it's Asian! LOL...
 
April 20, 2010
I tried black garlic at the Fancy Food Show in SF a few months ago. I loved the flavor so much that I went back for a second sample the next day. The flavor is indeed unique, tangy, smokey and even a bit sweet. I look forward to trying it again, maybe even in your BBQ sauce.
April 21, 2010
Hi Karen. The people who you sampled the black garlic were sampling my black garlic salsa experimental sample and we're working together to create some black garlic stuff. Look for it and I'll post it here.
 
April 16, 2010
Hey Cap, lookin' forward to that BBQ sauce you're working on!
April 16, 2010
So far, making some experiments with it. I'm working with the distributor for Black garlic (www.blackgarlic.com) to come up with some samples. We have a spicy one so far and creating a Black Garlic & Bacon one that needs refinement. Getting there.
 
1 2 Next
More Black Garlic reviews
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Chef Adrien of Cruda Catering prepared a delightful treat using the tasty Black Garlic... check out the video link attached: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nwh-BjxYmw Cruda Catering is also on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/-cruda-/304684472457?ref=ts
About the reviewer
Josue "The Captain" Cano ()
Ranked #13
I'm the creator of the best Garlic Salsa on the planet:El Capitan's Garlic Salsa    This salsa was handed down to me from my parents who brought the recipe from Guadalajara Mexico. During the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
captain
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Black garlic is a type of fermented garlic used as a food ingredient in Asian cuisine. It is made by fermenting whole bulbs of garlic at high temperature, a process that results in black cloves. The taste is sweet and syrupy with hints of balsamic or even tamarind.  Black garlic's popularity has spread to the United States as it has become a sought-after ingredient used in high-end cuisine. It is unrelated to a genetically unique six-clove garlic also called black garlic and used in countries such as Korea, or with the ornamental plant.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists