Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Bulgogi

A Korean dish that usually consists of marinated barbecued beef.

< read all 2 reviews

Bulgogi Baby!

  • Aug 25, 2011
Rating:
+5

 


Bulgogi is probably one of the best foods made in Korea.  It's probably one of their most well known too.  It's beef that is marinated for hours in soy sauce, sesame oil, onions, garlic, pepper, and a host of other yummy ingredients.  The meat is generally prime cuts of beef, so it's tender and juicy and the marinade combines to make a savory yet surprisingly sweet dish.

Stepping into a bulgogi restaurant is like stepping into a sensory overload.  The smells, the tastes and textures, and the overall ambiance of bulgogi restaurants are captivating.  Since this is a popular meal in Korea, often times bulgogi restaurants are very crowded, but Korean food service is surprisingly fast and efficient.  The wait is never long, but even if it were, the wait is so well worth it!




Of course, Korea is well known for their side dishes, so bulgogi is usually served with rice, kimchi, pickled radish, etc. that help to offer an hearty and delicious meal.  While beef can be expensive in some areas of Korea, bulgogi is still something that one should splurge on.  Generally, the price ranges from around 7, 000-12, 000 KRW per serving, which in my opinion isn't very expensive.  But when compared to other meals such as bibimbap (which can be had at 4, 000-6, 000 KRW) or kimbap (which can be had at 1, 000-3, 000 KRW), bulgogi can be a bit pricey.

I've sampled both grilled and pan cooked bulgogi and they're both exceptional.  Next stop?  The Bulgogi Burger.


 

Bulgogi Baby! Bulgogi Baby! Bulgogi Baby! Bulgogi Baby!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
August 26, 2011
...I know what I'm having for dinner tonight :D
 
August 26, 2011
WOW, both versions look really good! I'm going to have to hunt some of this down in SF. Thanks for sharing :)
August 29, 2011
No problem! It's so good. It might be a little pricey in the US, but it will be sooooo worth it. Happy eating!
August 30, 2011
I'll have to let you know if I find any...I guess there is since @'s having some ;p I'll have to ask her where to find it out here.
 
August 26, 2011
The preparation looks appetizing.
 
August 25, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Try some shochu on the side.
 
1
More Bulgogi reviews
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Caption
This is actually very easy to make. I don't want to brag, but I make a killer Korean Bulgogi! I like to use thin rib eye for my bulgogi, I like making the pork and chicken ones too but they are not as sumptious as the beef ones. The trick in making a great bulgogi is its sauce and that you have to marinate it overnight. Curiously I don't use sugar to sweeten it....it is a secret of mine.     
About the reviewer
Gen ()
I recently graduated with a Master's degree in English. I love reading, writing and researching so much that I hope to make it my life's work! I've taught first year composition and have worked … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Genessa
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Genessa
About this food

Wiki

Bulgogi is a Korean dish that usually consists of marinated barbecued beef, although chicken or pork may also be used.

Bulgogi is made from thin slices of sirloin or other prime cut of beef.  The meat is marinated with a mixture of soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, garlic and other ingredients such as scallions or mushrooms, especially white button mushrooms or shiitake. Sometimes, cellophane noodles are added to the dish, which varies by region and specific recipe. Before cooking, the meat is marinated to enhance its flavor and tenderness.

Bulgogi is traditionally grilled, but pan-cooking is common as well. A practice common at Korean barbecue, whole cloves of garlic, sliced onions, and chopped green peppers are often grilled or cooked at the same time.  This dish is sometimes served with a side of lettuce or other leafy vegetable, which is used to wrap a slice of cooked meat, often along with a dab of ssamjang, or other side dishes, and then eaten as a whole.

Bulgogi literally means "fire meat" in Korean (this refers to the cooking technique—over an open flame—rather than the dish's spiciness) The term is also applied to variations such as dak bulgogi (made with chicken) or dweji bulgogi (made with pork), although the seasonings are different.

There is a bulgogi fast-food hamburger sold at many Korean fast food restaurants. The hamburger patty is marinated in bulgogi sauce and served with lettuce, tomato, onion, and sometimes cheese. It is ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Bulgogi Baby!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists