Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Danger Dog

A Mexican style hot dog wrapped in bacon.

< read all 5 reviews

The best hot dog I ever ate

  • Mar 25, 2010
Rating:
+5
Bacon Wrapped Hot Dogs Mexican Style Sizzling on a push cart
As a child and through out my teens my family would travel to Guadalajara Mexico for Summer and Christmas. Walking down the streets as a tourist of downtown Guadalajara I would see push cart street vendor foods that Zagat ratings aren't applied. Personally, if you ask me I would rather go try a Zagat rated C than anything else. Perfectly presented and perfectly clean food doesn't peak my interest. 

I would watch these push carts that would be steaming with sizzling hot dogs on them but these hot dogs weren't the Americanized versions. These hot dogs were wrapped with Bacon. Something I had never seen in America and only in Mexico. As I bite and chew on it I can only say that the pleasure and sensation my tastebuds were experiencing would never be matched across the border. 

Now, to mankinds delight these hot dogs are now available in the states and these Mexican style hot dogs are available everywhere in L.A. because that's how Mexican's love them. 

Do yourself a favor and eat one...you won't regret it. 

Cap

Life is hard but it doesn't have to taste bad

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
December 15, 2010
now I am hungry!
 
November 28, 2010
Yum! The perfect post-night out treat in LA! These are so good they're worth the possible heart attack you may have by ingesting them ;p
December 15, 2010
just have eat some cauliflower and drink its juices. It helps! :)
December 15, 2010
Really? That's good to know!
 
March 26, 2010
We get these after the Galaxy games if the Galaxy win! We call them "Victory Dogs"! But I have used the term "Death Dog" to refer to the fact that.. well you get the idea.
March 26, 2010
Ryan, I just came back from the Mexico vs. New Zealand game at the rose bowl and these sizzling carts were everywhere. I thought I was in heaven.
March 26, 2010
Nice! I wanted to go to that game but couldn't make it! I went to the Chelsea vs. Inter Milan game at the rose bowl over the summer and grabbed one after the game! Soccer fan huh? I have a US Soccer community you might want to check out! http://www.lunch.com/YanksSoccer
 
March 26, 2010
i can't tell you how many of these i've eaten over the years. They are sinfully delicious. They used to be exclusively in Mexico, but now every USC football game i go to, i have to walk by a dozen or so of those sizzling carts. yum!
March 26, 2010
After the Mexico vs. New Zealand game several weeks ago at the Rose Bowl there were dozens of these sizzling carts. I thought i died and went to heaven
 
March 26, 2010
I agree with you wholeheartedly. I have only been to Guadalajara once and didn't get a chance to sample the hotdogs but I had similar and also different ones in both Barranquilla Colombia and Santiago Chile and those were the best hotdogs I ever ate. They have some places in New York that try to imitate the ones in Colombia but are just not as good. How do the LA ones rate? I get out to LA periodically and will look for one of the places if you have specific suggestions.
 
March 26, 2010
I do not live in LA but I sure would like to try one of these. Nice job
 
March 26, 2010
I actually tried to make one of these at home. Not bad, but I think a real Chicago Dog trumps this anyday! IMHO of course. Thanks Captain.
March 26, 2010
I've never had a Chicago Dog. Am I missing something?
March 26, 2010
Only Sport Peppers (tiny green tabasco-like dudes), celery salt, kosher pickle spears, cucumbers, mustard, relish, tomatoes, onions, poppy-seed buns. That's all. :)
March 26, 2010
Less is more.
 
March 25, 2010
Ugh, you've got me craving one of these!  I hope you don't mind, but I moved your review over to the topic for Danger Dog (yes, there's actually a name for this!).  My friends and I use Danger Dog, Mexican Dog and Bacon-Dog intransitively and we're always on the prowl for them after a night of hanging out in San Francisco :)

Thanks for sharing this awesome review in my Gourmand community!  I don't know if you saw my community description, but it says, "This is a community for people who know what good food tastes like, but aren't above eating a hot dog or burger. ...Especially if that hot dog is wrapped in smoked, artisan bacon and that burger is made of kobe beef ;D", so this review fits perfectly! ;)
March 25, 2010
i wonder if they have them in SF? i went to school at UC-Santa Cruz and still visit the bay frequently. I'll be up there next month so i'll fill you in if they got em there. i wonder if they're available at the mission district???
March 25, 2010
Yes!  They're totally in San Francisco in the Mish!  I just had them the other week and snapped this pic off of the 24th and Mission BART station.  The tragedy is that they use regular hot dogs and regular buns, but that late at night, anything is welcome :D
March 25, 2010
OH snaps!!!! They do have them there! Game on! i wonder if they have veggie dogs because believe it or not they had veggie dogs in L.A. Funny huh!
March 26, 2010
What??? No, these street vendors in SF do not do veggie dogs. No offense to the veggies out there, but that doesn't sound very... dangerous :P
March 26, 2010
Devora, you would be surprised but they were pleasantly good. I'll eat anything and I gave the veggie dog a try. Afterall, life is hard - but it doesn't have to taste bad ;)
March 26, 2010
We're going to get along just fine then.  You have no idea how often I go out with people and when they ask me what I feel like eating, I always say, "I'll eat anything"!  By the way, I just spotted this review featured on the Lunch FB fanpage! :)
March 26, 2010
Geez. This review has taken a life all it's own!
March 26, 2010
And just when you thought it was over....  I guess that's what happens when you write an awesome review :P
March 26, 2010
@ Devora: LMAO!!! It's turned into the gift that keeps on giving:)
 
1
More Danger Dog reviews
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Gourmand
There's nothing quite like a heart attack in a bun. Especially when there are jalapenos on top.
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Gourmand
@devora: hilarious!!! @jrjohnson: Why say no when it feels so good to say yes!
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Gourmand
so bad, yet soooooo good. I love these things. Kind of like Krispy Kreme donuts... you can eat them 3 at a time.
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2009
If by danger, you mean awesome, then yes. Nothing like a bacon wrapped hot dog. Dangerously awesome. Zing!
About the reviewer
Josue "The Captain" Cano ()
Ranked #13
I'm the creator of the best Garlic Salsa on the planet:El Capitan's Garlic Salsa    This salsa was handed down to me from my parents who brought the recipe from Guadalajara Mexico. During the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
captain
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Danger dog is the slang term for a type of hot dog first sold by street vendors in Tijuana, Mexico and is also known as a "Tijuana bacon dog" or a "dog dog." A danger dog is a hot dog wrapped in a piece of bacon, fried in oil and served on a bun with grilled onions and chili sauce.

The term "danger dog" originates from this form of hot dog's reputation as being of cheap quality (or presumed low quality, as it is usually sold by unlicensed street vendors). The danger dog has recently turned up north of the border and is now being sold by Los Angeles, San Francisco, and New York City street vendors.

On the east coast of the United States, a variation has appeared with the bacon-wrapped hot dog being deep-fried and called a "Jersey breakfast dog". There is a tradition in New Jersey of serving hot dogs that have been deep-fried in boiling oil until they rip apart ("rippers") or just blister lightly (an "in and outer"). The Jersey dog is usually served atop fried or scrambled eggs.
view wiki

Tags

Food, Bacon, Hot Dog, Danger Dog

Details

Polls with this food
Carolina Hot Dogs

Favorite Style of Hot Dog

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists