Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

A grilled or toasted sandwich consisting of two slices of bread with melted cheese.

< read all 26 reviews

Simple, yet so diverse.

  • Dec 22, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
There are so many ways to make a grilled cheese sandwich, and that's why I love it. Some people toast two slices of bread, pop in some cheese, and microwave for half a minute or so. Others will go so far as to use exotic breads, butter up a pan, and fry up a sandwich with a variety of cheeses.

My personal favorite is just two slices of whole-grain wheat with muenster and cheddar cheeses in between. I put a bit of butter in a pan, turn up the heat, and then just assemble the sandwich in there. After a minute or two, I flip it over, using my hands to prevent it from falling apart. I grill for another minute or two, and it's ready.

Grilled cheeses can be surprisingly filling, especially if you put a lot of cheese and you eat it with a simple side, like French fries. Mimi's Cafe serves up a good one made with four cheeses, and it, too, comes with some sides like fruit or a salad.

While I don't make the sandwich too often, it is still one of my favorites because of its simplicity and it's ability to alter in any manner that pleases the cook.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Grilled Cheese Sandwiches reviews
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Basically two pieces of toast with melted cheese between them. Even better with chicken and tomatoes! How can something so simple be so good?
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
Marble coby = best for grilled cheese! Ever! I've tried all the cheddar and I must say, it is indeed the best cheese for the job. It melts well, and has a wonderful taste only it could bring!
Quick Tip by . October 26, 2010
Buttering the bread is a must. I like using Alvarado St bread with a combo of jalapeno jack and cheddar. MMMMMMM
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Love, love love, grilled cheese sandwiches with ham and onions; lightly browned around the edges...
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
The use of multiple cheeses and good bread are the keys.
Quick Tip by . October 18, 2010
Toast the outsides of the grilled cheese. It makes a better crunch for when you dip it in tomato soup!
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
Grilled cheese with tomato soup is incredible! Anythig tomato based (ketchup) to dip it in makes this sandwich the bomb digity!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Quick,easy and delicious.Don"t forget the tomato soup.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
I like the versatility and creative posibilities of grilled cheese. My favorite, at present, is sourdough bread with gruyere cheese served with a roasted red pepper and tomato soup.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Sourdough works well. I'm not fond of American or Velveeta.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The Grilled Cheese sandwich is a type of food where cheese is placed between two slices of bread that is fried, toasted, or broiled.

The practice of creating a hot cheese sandwich (where the bread is toasted and the inside cheese is heated to a point of melting) began in the 1920s as sliced breads and processed cheeses became more widely available. The original versions, however, contained one slice of bread, topped with cheese. The practice of adding a top, toasted slice of bread became popular in the 1960s. A cold version, without toasting and melted cheese, is simply called a cheese sandwich.

Today, the grilled cheese sandwich is a very popular food in the US with a grilled cheese convention held annually in Los Angeles in its honor. 
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists