Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

The BEST ice cream, better then homemade!

  • Jan 11, 2010
Rating:
+5
Well, I cannot say that it is REALLY better then homemade, but I can't imagine it getting any better then this.

Haagan Daz five is a new product from the famed ice cream makers Haagan Daz. I have always looked to Haagen Daz as a quality ice cream brand, that uses extrodanary ingredients and makes a great product. When I first saw the five product, I was quite excited and intregued. It uses only 5 ingredients, all natural, no preservatives, no artifical flavors.

I first got the Vanilla Bean, since I was buying ice cream to accomany some pie. It had specks of vanilla bean in it, so you know that it is going to be good. The vanilla flavor was unparalled to any other vanilla ice cream i've tasted. The ice cream was so smooth and thick, almost like frozen custard.

The chocolate is probably the least impressive of them all, but the texture is still fabulous.

The most delicious flavor, that I am enjoying as I write this review is Passion Fruit. It is not overly sweet, just the right amount of tart and intense passion fruit flavor. It is so smooth, and slowly melts in your mouth as you eat it.

Brown Suger is also really impressive flavor, I've never had brown sugar flavored anything before. It was not like eating a spoonful of sugar like I had expected.

It also comes in Mint, Ginger and Coffee.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
This is a good brand with delicious flavors.
 
November 10, 2010
Yum! Sounds good to me...might have to throw this one in the cart, thanks!
 
February 19, 2010
Man o Man, i'm lactose intolerant, but i still love me some Hagen Daz
 
January 12, 2010
Mmm... I'll have to try that! Thanks! =D
 
January 12, 2010
Nice review. Don't believe I have ever tried Haagen-Dazs brand before. Now you have stirred my curiosity. Passion Fruit sounds fascinating!
 
January 11, 2010
Thanks for reviewing this, Aria!  I've been curious about it, but every time I go on an ice cream run, I grab my good ole Ben & Jerry's instead.  I'll have to pick up passion fruit next time I'm at the grocery store :)
January 12, 2010
I sure love Ben and Jerrys too. This is really good also, when you need "ice cream medicine" and just want something cold and creamy, but the chucky stuff is a little too much to handle.
 
1
More Häagen-Dazs five reviews
Quick Tip by . March 29, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Just polished off a pint of the vanilla bean. Thanks to @ariajuliet for introducing me to this!
About the reviewer
Aria Juliet Castillo ()
Ranked #5
I'm a graphic designer, originally from Hawaii and now I'm living it up in L.A.   I've been a vegetarian my entire life, but I am still obsessed with fast food, and I love eating … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ariajuliet
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki



All-natural ice cream crafted with only five ingredients for incredibly pure, balanced flavor... and surprisingly less fat!

Come in Mint, Ginger, Coffee, Vanilla Bean, Passion Fruit, Brown Sugar, Milk Chocolate
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists