Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

DIY Kombucha - The Good, The Bad, And The Really Ugly (Smell)

  • Apr 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I love Kombucha! My bestie Colin turned me onto it when he started "brewing" his own at home. His is really tasty stuff, and when you make it yourself, it's practically free, as opposed to the $5 a bottle.

Kombucha is a "living" drink. As in, those probiotics and friends-of-your-colin (colin, not Colin, thought Colin would definitely tell you the probiotics are indeed his friends) are alive and kickin' all the way down. In order to make kombucha, you have to find someone who has a "mother" who can give you a "baby." Weird, right?*

Basically, Kombucha looks like a big puddle of bacteria, lying or floating in a big glass container of some sort. It's the shape of, say, a pancake. You have to "feed" it. It loves tea and sugar. The mother "digests" the sugars and tea and turns it into Kombucha. As the mother converts the stuff into the stuff you want, it produces a "baby," which you can give to your very, very, strange friends.

Anyway, I'm quite clearly not an expert. This is about as much as I knew when I accepted one of Colin's kombucha babies and decided to try making this stuff myself at home. I ended up feeding it once and never again, because the Kombucha it made was really acidic and my BF made fun of me a lot for being nuts enough to attempt this in a small Brooklyn apartment. I still have the thing! It's sitting in a jar covered in a bandana in a closed cabinet above the giant bag of catfood. Every time I open that cabinet door I get a huge waft of its vinegar stink. I feel like I can't throw it away because its my baby!

Anyway, I wouldn't recommend trying this at home unless you're very determined to do it, really love Kombucha, and really know what you're doing (as Colin does).

Be prepared for some really intense smellz!

*Please note, you probably can start your own brew at home without getting a "baby" but I have no idea how that's done.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
April 14, 2009
so bizarre, yet so intriguing! after all, whose colin doesn't need a friend!? great review -- glad you're back from vacay, we missed you : )
April 14, 2009
Aww, shucks! It's good to be back! Also, I totally agree. Please join me in my "Every Colin Needs A Friend" campaign. :)
 
1
More Kombucha by Synergy reviews
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2011
posted in ENN Community
where I worked for 1 1/2 yrs it was very progressive and there were multiple organic stores, coops, etc.... re: quinoa, one of the coolest things was locally produced kombucha in big vats and you could just fill your own renewable container...I told my local green store...as I think this is an awesome idea!!!
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
2 for $6 at Whole Foods, nice deal, great way to experiment on some, i put up huge #'s throwing back #3, #7, #9, multi-green & trilogy..
Quick Tip by . April 10, 2010
Kombucha is on sale at Whole Foods in El Segundo for $3.00 per bottle. Last year it was $5.00. Time to stock up and feed my addiction.
review by . January 09, 2010
http://happyliverinc.com is the maker of the Kombuchia I drink. It's live Kombuchia and from what I see has the best results. I want to try and make my own soon but have not found the time. There is definitely a big move to people using Kombuchia I see it in dry tea as well but have stayed away from that because I hear it isn't as good. The site above only deals to Heath Food Stores, but most will happily order it for you mine did...I will soon try and make my own and I think I may try the dry tea …
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2010
2 for $6 at Whole Foods is a nice deal, great way to experiment on some, i put up huge #'s throwing back #3, #7, #9, multi-green & trilogy..
review by . November 19, 2008
Kombucha
I wouldn't be Fashion Kitty unless I was some on trendy diet (I am self proclaimed diet junkie). I tried the raw foods diet as quickie fad to help me drop 5lbs before New York Fashion Week.  Turns out that I love diet and I do it every so often to get me back on track.  Late night nacho runs and a heck of a lot of booze can take a toll on the bod.      Kombucha is my favorite non-alcoholic beverage, ever.  It tastes great and is full o all sorts of super-healthy …
About the reviewer
Erin ()
I really dig this website!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EeezOfSteeez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Varities:

Original
Citrus
Gingerade
Mult-Green
Botanic No. 3
Botanic No. 7
Botanic No. 9
view wiki

Details

Type: beverage

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists