Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Lumpia

Pastries of Chinese origin similar to spring rolls popular in the Philippines and Indonesia.

< read all 3 reviews

The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll!

  • Dec 11, 2009
  • by
  • posted in Gourmand
Rating:
+5

There are quite a good variety of lumpia. There’s the Sahnghai style, one with crab and there is the vegetable kind. Instead of making a history about the lumpia, I’ll go straight to the recipe of the most popular kind of lumpia. I doubt anyone is interested with its history anyway. Perfect for parties and family meals.
 
Lumpia (shanghai-macao style)

Ingedients:

1 pound ground pork
1 pound ground beef
¼ pound shrimp (shelled, deveined and chopped)
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 carrot, grated
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce (Maggi seasoning is also preferable)
2 1/2 teaspoons black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons garlic powder but I prefer 1 ½ cloves of finely minced garlic
2 tablespoons sugar (I prefer honey)
2 tablespoons salt
1 (16 ounce) package spring roll wrappers
1 1/2 quarts oil for frying
Directions:
1) In a large deep bowl, mix everything--combine the ground pork, beef, shrimp, onion and carrots. Don’t be shy to use your hands (plastic gloved if you want) but mixing everything thoroughly is a must. Knead the meat if necessary and gradually blend in the low-sodium soy sauce, Maggi, black pepper, minced garlic, honey and salt. Make certain it is even and that all ingredients are properly distributed.
 
2) Lay out the wrappers and put in about a 2-3 tablespoons of the filling but make sure that the filling is no thicker than a woman’s thumb (I have fat thumbs) or the wrapper may cook before the meat inside. Take them on the sides and fold them to the center like you were wrapping cigars. Not too tight but tight enough to hold the meat. Moisten the edge to seal the wrapping.
 
3) Heat the oil to medium in a deep fryer (if you’re using a frying pan, don’t totally immerse the lumpia rolls and turn it over once) Fry them 3-4 rolls at a time. Lumpias are cooked when they float on the surface and the wrapper is golden brown. Drain on paper towels, you may cut them in half if you prefer.
 
4) Use soy sauce with lemon, Jufran banana sauce or sweet and sour sauce for dipping.
 
Tips: I usually do my seasoning by taste and not by measurements. I cook by instinct. I advise mixing the seasoning in a separate cup to test the taste before mixing it with the all the meat. My mom used to also add turnips that are pared and grated.
 
Great with steamed jasmine rice! 

       The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll!

                  The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll!
 
Sweet and Sour Sauce:
¼ tsp. salt
2/3 cup water
2 tsp soy sauce
4 tablespoons sugar
4 tablespoon vinegar
2 tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/3 water
1 tsp cooking oil
In a porcelain or glass saucepan, combine all ingredients for sauce except cornstarch and oil and bring to a boil. Stir in cornstarch and cook until the mixture becomes thick and almost transparent about 2-3 minutes and stir in oil to bring in shine.

The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll!
 
 
 
 
 
The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll! The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll! The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll! The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll! The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll! The Favorite, Ever-Popular Filipino Egg Roll!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 16, 2009
Lunch time!!! Hmmm, looks like a crossing between Croquettes and Spring Roll! Have you tried the Indonesian Kroket? I used to love it as a child... I'd take it as a sign to return! How come there's no man who cooks around me? Lol... Can we import you over to Asia?
 
December 14, 2009
Holy whoa, Woo! Um, cook for me? :P

Sometimes I make veggie ones and put shredded carrot and taro in place of the meat!
December 14, 2009
I'll send you a recipe for the unfried fresh lumpia (veggie) and if you're interested, I make crab lumpia too, I'll message you the recipes my mom left me ;-P.
 
December 11, 2009
Mmmm, this I would love to try. I might just pull pull out some kitche utensils & give it my best shot. Whew! This looks too good to turn down. ;-) Thnks for sharing!
December 11, 2009
Folks always go crazy for lumpia. I wanted to be a little diverse in my reviews, but I will revert back to my twisted self real soon...ceno-biters and woopakolytes UNITE!! LMAO
December 12, 2009
I won't lie. I'm addicted to your perverse musings & the extreme horror endeavors but these food reviews are soooo enticing. With the banana sauce & the lumpia, you have secured your place amongst my favorite food reviewers next to Devora & Food Dude. Whatever happened to Food Dude? Is he even around anymore? So what's the next twisted review?
December 12, 2009
working on a few. I dunno if I should post a twisted pink flick for the holidays...but I will be taking on SALO once you get your review up. I tread carefully when it comes to Japanese pink flicks, I don't want to get nixed and leave an impression that I'm a perv. LOL Twisted yes but not a perv. See real pervs put up a show that they're moral and clean LOL!
December 12, 2009
Ahem. I don't know if I'm that good at putting on a show or pretending to be clean. Even if I was, I seriously doubt anyone would buy into it. LOL I really need to pick up some good pink soon. I bought Sachiko Hanai for a friend's birthday but I'll probably watch that with him atleast once. If I really like it, I'll just get my own copy. Still need to pick up Watcher In The Attic which I've been meaning to see for ages. It's just no use trying to be clean. Ha!
December 12, 2009
WATCHER IN THE ATTIC is good but it is a little overrated IMHO. Some of the best directors in Japan began in pink horror (Yojiro Takita is one) I need to send you guys a list. I wanted to review ANGEL GUTS here and the Groper Train series but I dunno, it is a little weird. I may drop a pink movie review and one for NAKED RASHOMON LOL!
December 16, 2009
Naked Rashomon? LOL There is really a movie with this title? Any simblance to the Kurosawa classic? Hehe Oh, do review Angel Guts. Been dreadfulyl cruious about that one for years.
 
1
More Lumpia reviews
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Rice Table
So unhealthy, but so tasty! I'll take mine with Vietnamese fish sauce!
Quick Tip by . December 10, 2009
Tasty party pleaser that was inspired by cigar wraps! Full review coming soon....
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #3
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Lumpia are pastries of Chinese origin similar to spring rolls popular in the Philippines and Indonesia. The term lumpia derives from lunpia (traditional Chinese: 潤餅; pinyin: rùnbǐng; POJ: jūn-piáⁿ, lūn-piáⁿ) in the Hokkien language. The recipe, both fried and fresh versions, was brought by the Chinese immigrants from the Fujian province of China to Southeast Asia and became popular where they settled in the Philippines and Indonesia. In the Netherlands, it is spelled loempia which is the old Indonesian spelling for lumpia and has also become the generic name for "spring roll" in Dutch. A variant is the Vietnamese lumpia, wrapped in a thinner piece of pastry, in a size close to a spring roll though the wrapping closes the ends off completely, which is typical for lumpia.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists