Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

A sandwich made from thinly sliced pieces of steak and melted cheese on a long roll

< read all 13 reviews

A Quick Tip by BaronSamedi3

  • Nov 4, 2011
One of my guilty pleasures. I know they'll one day kill me, but I can't help myself. I love the taste of grilled roast beef and mozzarella on a roll. It's perfect to eat while watching a football game and wash down with beer! However, they're swimming in grease and calories, so it's an every now and then thing for me.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
November 04, 2011
I don't think I've ever had a Philly cheesesteak with mozzarella before!
November 04, 2011
Could be I just screwed up the cheese. See what happens when I try to write about a Philadelphia food when I'm not from Philadelphia?
November 04, 2011
Well, I'm not from Philly either, but I do have friends who are huge fan of Philly cheesesteaks :P I hear that it wasn't originally made with cheese, but when it is made with cheese, it's Cheese Whiz!
 
1
More Philly Cheesesteak reviews
Quick Tip by . December 06, 2010
i think i had this dish in Subway and American tasting of fast foods isa tempting one for my granddaughter
Quick Tip by . October 18, 2010
I haven't tried the 2 places made infamous by the travel channel, in Philly, but my 2 experiences from other eateries in Philly lead my opinion to: Pittsburgh has better cheesesteaks!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Nothing beats it with fries and a diet cherry coke!
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
Pass that wiz or it ain't real Philly. And the onions have to be sweet.
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
This is a classic if actually heated on a grill and not nuked in a microwave.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Okay, but have to go to far to get and excellent one.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Yum...especially from Geno's in Philly!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Yes please! :D
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Delicious for a once in awhile treat
review by . December 31, 2008
Do you love foods that explode with meat, are loaded with cheese, and served piping hot? If you do, you're like me, and you'll love Philly cheesesteak sandwiches. I love them so much so, in fact, that they're the only sandwiches in which I enjoy eating cooked bell peppers! (There's enough meat and cheese to mask the taste.)     A standard, 6-8" sandwich packs in enough carbs, protein, calcium, and grilled veggies to satisfy your hunger for at least half a day. It's a self-contained …
About the reviewer
Nicholas Croston ()
Ranked #12
Hi! I'm here in part to plug my writing and let everyone know that I'm trying to take my work commercial.      Now, what about me? Well, obviously I like to write. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BaronSamedi3
Your ratings:
BLT
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

A cheesesteak sandwich, known outside of Philadelphia as a "Philly cheesesteak," is a sandwich with thinly-sliced steak meat and melted cheese. When served without cheese, it is simply known as a "steak sandwich."

The sandwich was invented by Pat and Harry Olivieri of Philadelphia, who served the sandwich on a hoagie-style bun. By 1930, the sandiwch was so popular that Pat Olivieri opened a cheesesteak restaurant that exists today, known as Pat's King of Steaks.

Despite being popular in its original steak and cheese form, variations of the sandwich often include grilled onions and bell peppers. Cheese Whiz is also a common option, which became popular in the early 1950s.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists