Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.

A sandwich made from thinly sliced pieces of steak and melted cheese on a long roll

< read all 12 reviews

Nothing more filling and hearty than a classic Philly Cheesesteak!

  • Dec 31, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Do you love foods that explode with meat, are loaded with cheese, and served piping hot? If you do, you're like me, and you'll love Philly cheesesteak sandwiches. I love them so much so, in fact, that they're the only sandwiches in which I enjoy eating cooked bell peppers! (There's enough meat and cheese to mask the taste.)

A standard, 6-8" sandwich packs in enough carbs, protein, calcium, and grilled veggies to satisfy your hunger for at least half a day. It's a self-contained meal, literally, if you add enough veggies! My favorite version includes steak, Swiss cheese, grilled bell peppers, raw onions, and cooked mushrooms on a French roll.

If you can't find a good restaurant that serves the sandiwches, you can go toCostco where they sell frozen, pre-cooked cheesesteak sandwiches for a fairly reasonable price. Although they're not nearly as delicious as one that could be ordered at a restaurant, they're still filling and are very easy to prepare. I usually warm them up and throw in some onions, tomatoes, and other veggies I can find in the fridge.

I've only been to Philadelphia once, but it was incredibly memorable thanks to a warm cheesesteak sandwich that made it feel like SoCal in June, not Pennsylvania in March. It is one of my favorites, no doubt!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
January 08, 2009
You must have had a cheesesteak at Pat's in Philly. A religious experience.
 
1
More Philly Cheesesteak reviews
Quick Tip by . November 04, 2011
posted in Gourmand
One of my guilty pleasures. I know they'll one day kill me, but I can't help myself. I love the taste of grilled roast beef and mozzarella on a roll. It's perfect to eat while watching a football game and wash down with beer! However, they're swimming in grease and calories, so it's an every now and then thing for me.
Quick Tip by . December 06, 2010
i think i had this dish in Subway and American tasting of fast foods isa tempting one for my granddaughter
Quick Tip by . October 18, 2010
I haven't tried the 2 places made infamous by the travel channel, in Philly, but my 2 experiences from other eateries in Philly lead my opinion to: Pittsburgh has better cheesesteaks!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Nothing beats it with fries and a diet cherry coke!
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
This is a classic if actually heated on a grill and not nuked in a microwave.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Okay, but have to go to far to get and excellent one.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Yum...especially from Geno's in Philly!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Yes please! :D
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Delicious for a once in awhile treat
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

A cheesesteak sandwich, known outside of Philadelphia as a "Philly cheesesteak," is a sandwich with thinly-sliced steak meat and melted cheese. When served without cheese, it is simply known as a "steak sandwich."

The sandwich was invented by Pat and Harry Olivieri of Philadelphia, who served the sandwich on a hoagie-style bun. By 1930, the sandiwch was so popular that Pat Olivieri opened a cheesesteak restaurant that exists today, known as Pat's King of Steaks.

Despite being popular in its original steak and cheese form, variations of the sandwich often include grilled onions and bell peppers. Cheese Whiz is also a common option, which became popular in the early 1950s.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists