Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Pizza

A dish of Italian origin, made with an oven-baked, flat, generally round bread that is often covered with tomatoes or a tomato-based sauce, mozzarella cheese and assorted toppings.

< read all 13 reviews

The most perfect awesome thing ever

  • Jul 21, 2010
Rating:
+5

I love pizza.  It is perfect.  You can have it cold for breakfast, you can have it for lunch or dinner and if you have leftovers, it can make a snack for later.

If it wasn't for the oil and grease, this could be the perfect health food too.  You have bread in the crust, milk for the cheese, vegetables and fruits go into making the sauce and meat goes on top.  Thats all the food groups.

Best of all there is all sorts of Pizza out there, thin crust, regular, New York style, Chicago style deep dish and you can get it pretty much anywhere.  Supermarkets sell it frozen and most restaurants have pizza on the menu and there are fast food pizza places out there.  For a while MCDONALDS even sold it (the logo had the golden arches on their sides for the z's.)  Like burgers and other things, theres good pizza and bad pizza.

Top it with more kinds of cheese, different meats or vegetables or however you want.  There is no food that is better.  Awesome.
The most perfect awesome thing ever The most perfect awesome thing ever The most perfect awesome thing ever The most perfect awesome thing ever The most perfect awesome thing ever The most perfect awesome thing ever

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
January 31, 2012
Once you have had pizza with all fresh ingredients, there is no going back. I was in Soho, NYC over the weekend and had a couple of slices with Cherry tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, topped with pesto. Frozen pizza and those chain pizzas (Dominoes, Papa John's Pizza Hut) are a big letdown after that.
 
January 14, 2011
Great review! Pizza is a universal food. You can find a form of pizza in many different cultures. It goes by various different names. "A pizza by any other name..would taste as sweet.." Pizza is the ultimate comfort food. And everyone has their own opinion about pizza..That's why I love pizza! And I know you all love it to! Thanks!
 
January 12, 2011
Your title says it all. I propose that you could put anything on a pizza base and it would be instantly improved. Especially if it were wrapped in bacon.
 
August 03, 2010
Not sure how they do it in Italy, but I've read once that Pizza is a great food that can help you against a certain type of cancer. I do love pizza myself--especially the veggie and chicken one. Nice write up!
August 03, 2010
Maybe thats why I'll never have cancer.
 
July 27, 2010
I love pizza...it's my all time favorite food! If I could, I would eat it everyday. I've been meaning to do a pizza review for a local place. I might tackle it one of these days, lol! Great review, John!
July 27, 2010
the closest I've done is a place called Nick N' Willy's which is a small chain that is scattered across the US. If you ever see one, try it. They rock.
July 27, 2010
If I ever run across one, I shall be sure to try it. I love all pizza to varying degrees. The only one I've been disappointed with is Pizza Hut, which never seems to settle right in my stomach.
August 03, 2010
have you had the chicago pizza, Adrianna?
August 05, 2010
You mean Chicago style or a chain restaurant of that name? I usually prefer thin crust or NY style pizzas. :)
 
July 26, 2010
Pizza really is one of the most awesome things ever! If you switch around some of the toppings, it *could* be a healthy dish ;)
July 26, 2010
Your comment reminds me of the old Ninja Turtles cartoons where they would put ANYTHING on a pizza. Gumballs, tofu, butterscotch. Anything.
 
1
More Pizza reviews
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
I know I'll piss off some people who only like fancy-pants food that's small, dainty, and overpriced, but I think pizza is among the finest contributions in the culinary world.  There's noting quite like a thin crust pizza with pepperoni and jalapenos on it, with a close second being a stuffed crust with pepperoni and bacon.      My favorite pizza chains are Pizza Hut and Papa John's, while my favorite local pizza places are the Pizza House in …
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2011
posted in Gourmand
A running contender for best food ever! I like mine with pepperoni and mushrooms, but the beauty of a pizza is that so many things go well on top of it that it's ripe for experimentation for all kinds of toppings! It was also a pizza with one slice missing that inspired Pac-Man, so there's that to take into account! Also, did you know the throwing the dough into the air isn't necessary? It's just a show trick designed to lure customers into pizzarias.
review by . August 24, 2010
posted in Pizza Therapy
Put A Part of Yourself in Everything You Make...
I was recently contacted by Sky, who just returned from a year in Italy. She has beeen working on a series of short films about the spitituality of food.      I thought this was quite moving. I have felt that you can make a real connection with the food you make, if you have the correct mindset. You need to connect with your food on a higher level.      Your food will just taste better. Your pizza will be better...      Here is what …
Quick Tip by . July 29, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
How I wish that homemade vegetarian pizza wasn't so time-consuming to make from scratch. Because I do love, Love, LOVE pizza. I haven't had any in over a year and a half. (: p
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
But only in NY!
Quick Tip by . March 29, 2010
posted in Pizza Therapy
I've been needing some pizza therapy. Life's hard but it doesn't have to taste bad
Quick Tip by . November 02, 2009
Pizza, movie, couch = perfect hangover recovery trifecta. I'm craving Pizza My Heart or Blondies but, I'll have to settle for delivery...
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2009
I'm so in the mood for this cheesy goodness right now. Think I'm going to pop a Totino's one in the oven tonight!
review by . December 17, 2008
posted in Pizza Therapy
flatbread pizza
Whenever I have unexpected guests over, I make this pizza on the spot. It's so fast and simple, but looks fancy in that rustic-Italian-country sort of way. The flavor combination is classic, works for vegetarians, and there are only four ingredients. Basically: It's no fail! Ingredients Flatbread (The pita-like bread. I like Kontos brand, especially Onion flavor.) Bottled marinara or spaghetti sauce (can be any brand and variety  — I prefer Newman's) Goat cheese Fresh basil leaves …
Quick Tip by . October 31, 2009
Here in Rhode Island you will find a pizza joint on every other street corner. I am not kidding!
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #15
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by TheJohn
About this food

Wiki

Pizza is a world-popular dish of Italian origin, made with an oven-baked, flat, generally round bread that is often covered with tomatoes or a tomato-based sauce and mozzarella cheese. Other toppings are added according to region, culture, or personal preference.

Originating in a part of Italian cuisine, the dish has become popular in many different parts of the world. A shop or restaurant that primarily makes and sells pizzas is called a "pizzeria". The phrases "pizza parlor", "pizza place" and "pizza shop" are used in the United States. The term pizza pie is dialectal, and pie is used for simplicity in some contexts, such as among pizzeria staff.

The Ancient Greeks covered their bread with oils, herbs, and cheese. The Romans developed placenta, a sheet of flour topped with cheese and honey and flavored with bay leaves. Modern pizza originated in Italy as the Neapolitan pie with tomato. In 1889 cheese was added.

The bottom base of the pizza (called the "crust" in the United States and Canada) may vary widely according to style–thin as in hand-tossed pizza or Roman pizza, or thick as in pan pizza or Chicago-style pizza. It is traditionally plain, but may also be seasoned with butter, garlic, or herbs, or stuffed with cheese.

In restaurants, pizza can be baked in an oven with stone bricks above the heat source, an electric deck oven, a conveyor belt oven or, in the case of more expensive restaurants, a wood- or ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists