Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
McDonald's

The world's largest chain of fast food restaurants

< read all 23 reviews

You can order the McMystery meal if you want-it is either fresh cooked or a greasy gray patty!

  • Aug 25, 2009
Rating:
+2
It's hard to say what you can get at a McDonalds these days.

After I moved I got to experience a whole new slew of fast food locales with more visits then I have in teh past.  The more I ate at them, the more I realized that McDonalds can't cut it for me in my fastfood diet anymore.

Sure they're fries are okay, and only okay.  Compared to the freshness of In N Out fries or the beefiness of Wendy's and Jack in the Box fries there is no comparison anymore.

The burgers and chicken is only okay and it's hit and miss on the quality.  There are days when I can get a fresh and yummy Double Chesseburger that goes down easy and other times I get a literal greaseball burger that slimes it's way down my throat and makes me run for an antacid.

Not much to say about their dollar menu other then if I'm not mistaken, McDonalds is the one that kicked off this trend which is another anomoly of sorts.  Some parts of the country have 5 piece McNuggets as a permanent place holder and other parts don't. 

The thing that they have going for them is speed.  You get your food FAST, even when they're busy.

I guess the only other thing to mention is that McDonalds is going a long way to try and enhance it's image and dining experience.  The last few McDonalds I've been to all have unique looks to them.  Some I've seen with roman pillars and others have a lighthouse built into the sides of them.

Bottom line, if your not looking for anything special or need familiarity then McDonalds can fit the bill.  And a dollar is all it takes to buy yourself a McDouble, the Double Cheeseburger with only one slice of cheese.
You can order the McMystery meal if you want-it is either fresh cooked or a greasy gray patty!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
August 25, 2009
Have you ever eaten at a Culver's? It's a great "fast food" joint that has delicious butter burgers and fries. Way better than McDonalds!
August 25, 2009
Yes I have, before I moved CUlvers were ALL OVER Wisconsin, Fond du Lac alone had 3 of them. THey were okay.
 
August 25, 2009
I pretty much will never eat at MickeyD's again unless it's breakfast.  Their breakfast is unbeatable as far as fast food goes.  Every other time I go though, I end up not feeling well at all.  I don't think I have eaten there for anything else but breakfast in over a year.  I'm actually a huge fan of Chipotle.  It's probably the best "fast food" place today! 
August 25, 2009
I forgot their breakfasts, but the bagel bacon egg and cheese sandwiches aren't bad and the last time I had the pancakes they were pretty good, I guess I was pulling from the last time I ate at McDonalds which wasn't that great and with In N Out and Whataburger among others nearby, I don't have much reason to go to McDonalds again.
 
1
More McDonald's reviews
review by . January 21, 2012
posted in Love Bites
Best junk (food) in the world!
I like McDonald's especially when I crave for fried food. French fries is good but I only like them with chilli (especially the sweet and hot version; like Thai chilli) sauce and not ketchup. The only burger I eat is Filet-O-Fish and nothing else  (oh, may be once in a blue moon the McChicken). McDonald is also great to have when I'm broke! Other than that, I've no idea what the rest of McDonald means ;-)      Oh, I do love its hashbrowns! Matter of fact is, …
Quick Tip by . November 13, 2011
There's nothing I can find appealing about McDonald's, as I think they're the epitome of cheap, processed garbage passing as food. Hell, just thinking about their name and image is enough to make my skin crawl.  Don't get me wrong, I like fast food when it's done right, but McDonald's and quality are like antonyms. I haven't been to one in five years, and the only things I ate there were the chocolate shakes and fries (which I didn't eat frequently). Ever since …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
The least favorite of fast food options, I'll only eat here as an absolute last resort and I'm starving to near death. I used to like their fries until I tried Carl's Jr's which are far better. I think that Mickey D's has long ago given up on any sort of quality and gone for profit and expansion. When I'm traveling, I get a little frustrated that this fast food place is in a culinary city like Paris or somewhere where travellers should be encouraged to try the local cuisine which is going to be …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
Caption
The French Fries at McDonald's are about all I will eat there. They are probably one of the better fast food fries around. Otherwise, watch out for the chicken nuggets which are made of sketchy excess chicken parts that are turned into paste, dyed and re-modeled into what resembles a nugget. Yum, yum.        
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
A cheap tasty fix, but beware, as the quality can change making it exciting to eat at sometimes.
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
Personally McDs makes me sick to eat anymore except for the occasional breakfast sandwich, but they do serve their purpose. As a person that home cooks most of my children's meals, happy meals now and then can be effective tools for treats for them and they can burn off most of the crap they eat playing on the play structure until they are worn out.
Quick Tip by . May 27, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Just had their Reese's McFlurry and found it to be a delightful little treat. I still prefer the Reese's Sonic Blast from Sonic, though.
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
I know you're horrible and contain trans fat, but why are your fries and burgers so good? You're my once a year dirty little secret.
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
I don't like really McDonald's burgers but I can enjoy the deliciouos french fries from its menu, for me the best french fries in America.
Quick Tip by . November 13, 2009
Never ever liked McDonalds. The burgers were always razor thin and greasy even in the 1960's.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #15
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

McDonald's is the world's largest fast food chain, serving more than 47 million customers daily, and having more than 31,000 locations worldwide. The restaurant serves traditional American foods like burgers, fries, shakes, and chicken, and has branched out into other foods in recent years, such as salads, Mexican cuisine, and snack wraps.

McDonald's has come under heavy criticism in recent years for its role in contributing to growing obesity trends in many nations. As a response, the company prints nutrition information on many food wrappers, in addition to serving healthier fares such as salads.

The company was founded in San Bernardino, CA, in 1940, and is currently headquartered in Oak Brook, Illinois. As of 2008, the company had over 380,000 employees worldwide. 
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists