Gourmand
Where gourmands come to meet/eat.
Taco Bell

Mexican-style fast food restaurant chain based in Irvine, California

< read all 11 reviews

Is it bad their employees know me on a first-name basis?

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
There's a Taco Bell near my work and lately, I've been visiting it quite frequently! You might ask why I don't visit other nearby fast foods for variety. That's because Taco Bell has all the variety you could want! And the pic I included? It's of some of my favorites: a soft taco supreme, nachos supreme, and a small drink.

It's true that all the menu items include a combination of the same ten ingredients or so. But the endless shapes, sizes, and forms you could order them in makes each Taco Bell visit incredibly unique!

Despite liking nearly all their items, a few stick out as my favorites. They include:
  • Nachos Supreme: Nacho chips topped with melted cheese, ground beef, refried beans, diced tomatoes, and sour cream (430 calories). Delicious, a perfect complement to any meal, easy to eat, and cheap!
  • Double-Decker Taco Supreme: A standard Taco Supreme (taco shell, ground beef, lettuce, diced tomatoes, grated cheese, sour cream) surrounded by a tortilla with refried beans in between the taco shell and tortilla (350 calories). Filling, fast, and highly varied in flavor!
  • Mexican Pizza: Probably their most original creation, this monster features two hard tortillas with ground beef and beans between them, topped with special salsa, grated cheese, and diced tomatoes (530 calories). Yeah, I've never seen this concoction anywhere else, but it's unusually delicious.
Also, I think the old-style Taco Bells (stores with Mission-style architecture, often smaller and older), are better than the newer ones. But don't get me wrong- they're all spectacular! The food is cheap, filling, and fast. If you visit them enough, Taco Bell employees should start to know you on a first-name basis, as many of my local ones do! 
My favorite Taco Bell combo!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 13, 2009
I'm actually a huge fan of the regular soft tacos. Sure Taco bell isn't fine dining, but eating there brings be back to my childhood days of Taco bell dining. The cinnamon twists are also an all-time favorite for me.
 
December 15, 2008
Haha, I love how you gave a Taco Bell a five!
 
December 15, 2008
I am with you on the nacho supreme ... something about the processed cheese. It's one thing that Del Taco can't do.
 
1
More Taco Bell reviews
Quick Tip by . November 20, 2012
posted in Dining Out
The quesadillas and side nachos aren't bad, and the Mountain Dew Baja Blast is a neat drink, but the rest of the food at Taco Bell is just mediocre.  Personally, I'd much rather go to a reputable Mexican restaurant instead like La Quesadilla and Mi Ranchito (Mexican restaurants in Northwest Indiana).
Quick Tip by . November 09, 2012
posted in Gourmand
The food isn't good for you, but it's painfully addictive. They have a very good dollar menu.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Dining Out
I've never gone out of my way to go to Taco Bell, but the times I've gone, it's okay.
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Knockin' the quickie rating two scores down on account of The Bell getting my order wrong today... I ordered the number 8 combo meal, but instead of giving me 3 soft tacos like I specified, they gave me 3 hard shell tacos. Discovered this at home, which compounded the frustration quite a bit as I was too lazy to drive back & complain. >:[] That said, it was still a decently delicious snack.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Cheesy Gordita Crunch.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Slosh through a Mango Strawberry Frutista Freeze. Tangy and sweet, it's a great alternative to an ice-cream truck snowcone on a hot day.
Quick Tip by . October 22, 2009
Eating a Taco Bell won't shave years off your life...everything in moderation! By the way, I just had a Burger King and it sure tasted good!
Quick Tip by . October 21, 2009
Oh man, I can walk out of here with such a big bag of yummy food for under $10. It'll also shave a few years off my life.
Quick Tip by . October 21, 2009
I prefer making my own nachos but this will do in a pinch & I'm getting way too hungry to wait. Hence, desperately seeking fast food!!
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2009
I used to love Taco Bell, but they keep discontinuing my favorite products. Bring back the Chilito (aka Chili Cheese Burrito)
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Taco Bell is a multinational chain of Mexican-inspired fast food restaurants. Although they sometimes claim to serve authentic Mexican foods, critics point out that many of their menu items stray away from traditional ingredients found in Mexican cuisine.

Founded in 1962, the chain has since spread throughout the United States, Central America, Europe, and the Middle East. Currently, the company is part of Yum! Brands and is headquartered are in Irvine, CA.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Gourmand is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists