Green Pieces
A Lunch Community about Gardening!
Spinach

An edible leafy green.

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by BaronSamedi3

  • Jun 28, 2011
A very bitter vegetable which tastes decent with salt or when it's raw. It has a reputation for being iron-rich, but this reputation turned out to be a mistake due to a misplaced decimal point which just got out of control before anyone noticed it.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
June 29, 2011
Those sound pretty good. I happen to be pretty fond of vegetarian spinach pizza myself.
 
June 29, 2011
Heat a little olive oil (very little; just enough to coat a pan), with some cloves of sliced garlic. When the oil's hot and the garlic has barely begun to turn tan, throw in the spinach. Saute briefly, just until the spinach starts to wilt. It tastes so good it can't be good for you.
 
June 29, 2011
I love spinach! It's fiber rich and low in calories, and I happen to think it's tasty :P Maybe try sauteing it?
 
June 28, 2011
nice one...but....



LOL!!
 
1
More Spinach reviews
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Spinach gives you all of the benefits of a leafy green vegetable with a kick of calcium. I like spinach in salads and smoothies.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Spinach is versatile...sandwiches, salads, quiches, lasagna. Yum
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Spinach is a green I taught myself to like on salads. With just the right amount of cider vinegar and unfiltered cold pressed olive oil...
About the reviewer
Nicholas Croston ()
Hi! I'm here in part to plug my writing and let everyone know that I'm trying to take my work commercial.      Now, what about me? Well, obviously I like to write. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BaronSamedi3
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Spinach (Spinacia oleracea) is an edible flowering plant in the family of Amaranthaceae. It is native to central and southwestern Asia. It is an annual plant (rarely biennial), which grows to a height of up to 30 cm. Spinach may survive over winter in temperate regions. The leaves are alternate, simple, ovate to triangular-based, very variable in size from about 2-30 cm long and 1-15 cm broad, with larger leaves at the base of the plant and small leaves higher on the flowering stem. The flowers are inconspicuous, yellow-green, 3-4 mm diameter, maturing into a small, hard, dry, lumpy fruit cluster 5-10 mm across containing several seeds.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Green Pieces is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists