Grist
Grist
A community for the environmentally-conscious!

EVOS

3 Ratings: 3.3
An eco-friendly fast food restaurant chain.

Healthy and environmentally sound fast food chain, featuring soy, veggie, turkey, and salmon burgers, baked fries, and fruit smoothies with locations in California, Florida, Georgia and North Carolina.

1 review about EVOS

Yes, "Green" Fast Food Really Does Exist.

  • Dec 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Green fast food?  What a concept!

After viewing EVOS' website, I thought, "Wow, this place sounds awesome", so I had to check out the South Tampa branch when I was in town.   Their menu consists of burgers, wraps, salads, fraps, smoothies, french fries, and other snacks. 

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3049/2914396624_73ea6fb11e.jpg?v=1223192944

For a fast food place, the food's pretty good.  Bonus points because they use REAL cheddar cheese and for the fact that their french fries, which they call Air Fries, are baked and not deep fried, and apparently, everything's organic, which I can dig.  I also really like their ketchup flavors, which they call Ketchup Karma.  They have four kinds of ketchup: Original American, Mesquite Gravity, Cayenne Firewalker and Garlic Magic.  I'm a big fan of the Mesquite Gravity and Cayenne Firewalker.  You squirt 'em into little black cups by yourself and to keep yourself from getting confused over the flavors, they have little color coded stickers with the names printed on them to be stuck on the cups!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3029/2913552079_185589a220.jpg?v=1223192917

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3289/2913577347_9dbcba2cff.jpg?v=1246496535

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3213/2914422114_872256e99f.jpg?v=1223191529

What I dislike about EVOS, though, is how tacky and gimmicky they are.  And the staff members aren't as awesome as the In 'n Out people are; they were just like any other fast food joint, but there were stacks of holistic healthy and spiritual magazines there.  The whole place was painted in shades of green, and their ad on their wall consists of the bumper of a yellow hippie van with the license plate "LUV EVOS" and bumper stickers that said stuff like, "Save the Humans", "War is the real enemy", and "Curb your CONSUMPTION", and the kicker: They were playing yoga music.  That's right, YOGA MUSIC in a fast food joint.  I know this is green fast food, but it's still fast food.  What's up with this psuedo, wannabe hippie stuff?  I find this over-the-top gimicky green stuff to be hilarious.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3254/2913551425_8f3f60b982.jpg?v=1246497660

For a fast food joint, the prices are a bit high, but considering that it's organic, it's pretty reasonable.  It was about $19 for a meal for two, which included a veggie burger, a steak burger, two fries, and two large fruit smoothies.  Not bad.  As gimmicky as EVOS is, I still have to give them a five because it's an awesome concept, and you can't beat fast food that's healthy(er) and eco-friendly.  EVOS also encourages recycling, which in Tampa, isn't done very often!  Kudos to them :)
EVOS

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
46
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
22
Post a Comment
October 24, 2009
OMG! I was just talking about this concept to my friends the other day. I told them "Why does fast food have to be bad for you, why can't there be a healthy choice for fast food". And then -Poof-, question answered! Maybe there is a God out there listening out there... and maybe, just maybe She enjoys french fries as much as I do ;) (See what I did back there? Yeah, I know... I'm a genius :)
December 03, 2009
It's the power of prayer! ;D
 
October 24, 2009
Not into the whole organic thing but still sounds like a good place to eat and if they can make a good smoothie than I'm all for eating there if it came to my town.
December 03, 2009
I hope this restaurant makes it around the country! If not, hopefully other restaurants will follow suit :)
 
September 16, 2009
This just reminds me how much it sucks to live in Pennsylvania Dutch country! There are no options to eat in places like this. I could only wish to have the option of eating organic fast food. Well, I guess I'll have to keep eating perogies and yocco's hot dogs until I get a chance to visit Florida or California. *sigh* Anyway, thanks for the visuals...Good Review!
September 16, 2009
Thanks, Raymon! At least there's chicken pot pie and all sorts of yummy desserts where you live. Perogies and hot dogs are plenty welcomed in my world! :D
 
July 19, 2009
Great review. EVOS reminds me bit of a place that I went to a few times out here in SoCal. They had the 'air fries' and ketchup bar. They also had a soda bar where you put in syrups yourself. If I am ever in Tampa, I'm gonna check this out. You'd think they'd be out here with that business model...wait, there is one in San Luis Obispo, a mere 194 miles away. :(
July 20, 2009
Whooooa, what's this magical place that you speak of?  Me + Soda bar where I can pour syrups myself = trouble.  I'd overdo it! :D

Hopefully EVOS will expand!  I'm surprised that they aren't in LA or SF yet!

July 20, 2009
It was called Topz. They may have went out of business.
 
May 30, 2009
The ketchup alone would make me one to visit. But I like the idea of a healthier fast food restaurant & that would be awesome if we had something like this in my hometown.
June 01, 2009
I'm still drooling over their mesquite gravity ketchup!  If you're ever in San Francisco, you've gotta check out Frjtz.  They've got delicious Belgian fries that they can drizzle truffle oil onto, plus like, 30 dipping sauces or something, including curry ketchup, spicy peanut yogurt, wasabi or pesto mayo, and parmesan peppercorn ranch.  So good!  But, uh, not that healthy :P
June 02, 2009
Well, I can say in all honesty you've sold me on both obviously. Both sound completely divine & I would be in food Heaven from the sounds of this. Thanks for those specifics & I will definitely try them when visiting. ;-)
 
May 05, 2009
sounds appetizing! There's a place here in SF called "Camille's sidewalk cafe" and this place sounds like it operates under the same concept. Great write up and thanks for the info, Devora. you rock.
June 01, 2009
Thanks! Oh man, my friend works right by Camille's. Now I wanna go visit him for lunch!
 
April 24, 2009
There's no healthy fast food joint out here in the back blocks where I live, unless it's an orange and a cup of yogurt for lunch, y'know? But I do get to the city streets now 'n then and I'll be looking for EVOS or a place like it. Great idea--who doesn't love fast and healthy?
April 25, 2009
Well, if you're ever in Florida or Southern California, you should check EVOS out! :)
 
April 14, 2009
I'm also intrigued. I'll be searching for this place during some of my business travel. There are none near me.
 
April 14, 2009
Hmmm, I'm intrigued. We have a couple places that are similar in NYC - Better Burger comes to mind. I love the language these places use, like "air fries." It makes me think of a french fry that's wearing athletic shorts while dunking a basketball.
 
March 20, 2009
I AM SO EXCITED!! I hope they open a branch in Orlando soon- but that might be worth the drive- well that and the beach!
 
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on EVOS?
rate
3 Ratings: +3.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
EVOS
Related Topics
Earth's Best baby wipes

Moist chlorine-free baby wipes

Source: EVOS on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Grist is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists