Grist
Grist
A community for the environmentally-conscious!
Analog Television

encodes television picture and sound information and transmits it as an analog signal

< read all 3 reviews

Recycle or Reuse Your Old Analog TV When You Buy a New Digital TV

  • Apr 8, 2010
Rating:
-1

Don't just toss out your old analog television set when you buy a new digital television. TV sets contain lead, chromium and mercury inside the glass tube. In a landfill, these can contaminate both our soil and our water supply. You can find a place locally who can recycle your old analog TV by going to Earth911.com's Recycling Center search or you can find another use for your old reliable television set.

FYI: The -1 rating is for analog TVs in general.  My rating for the recycling and reusing of analog TVs my rating would be +5.

Many guest bedrooms or home offices don't have Cable or Satellite hookups. Your analog TV will still be able to be used along with DVD players, VCRs and game consoles. For kid's rooms you can control the tapes or DVDs that they watch and you'll know that they cannot watch TV in their room. An analog TV set in conjunction with these accessories is better than no TV at all.

use you analog TV with a game console, like the x-Box use your analog TV with a game console, like the Wii use your analog TV with a DVD player


Some clever ways of reusing your old analog TV are making it into a flower planter, an end table, a coffee table or various other art projects. You can make a family project out of it. Be creative, but also be careful when dealing with the inside parts. Believe it or not you can turn your old analog TV into a fish tank. For real. Click the below picture to find out how.
 

fish tank made from an old analog TV
 

Once again, if you can't find another practical use for your old analog TV you can recycle it. You may have seen on your local news or newspaper about places that will recycle your analog TV. If not, you can go to Earth911.com's Recycling Center search.

Once you have made the digital switch, your new TV's resolution will be much better.  If you follow these eco-friendly steps in your digital switch you and the environment will feel better too.

Recycle or Reuse Your Old Analog TV When You Buy a New Digital TV Recycle or Reuse Your Old Analog TV When You Buy a New Digital TV Recycle or Reuse Your Old Analog TV When You Buy a New Digital TV Recycle or Reuse Your Old Analog TV When You Buy a New Digital TV

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
July 23, 2010
Many electronics retailers also offer recycling of your old electronics. It's worth asking.
 
April 08, 2010
Great review, Clay! Random story, but up until a few days ago, I had a couple analog TVs sitting in my guestroom, waiting to be given away. Nobody wanted them (who would? :P), so I looked up a recycling place and dragged them there. Felt pretty good about myself, but then yesterday, I got a little flyer on my door from a company saying that they'll pick up my old electronics if I leave them on my curb. D'oh! Should've known that we had services like that in the eco-conscious hippie-ville that I live in :P

Those are some really creative suggestions you gave for using old TVs, especially the fish tank one!  If only I didn't already have so much furniture... Thanks for sharing, Clay! :)
April 08, 2010
I hope you didn't have to actually drag them to the recycling place. A bus may have been better. Good for you. There are more and more companies that will pick up electronics at your door. But sometimes you have to find them, they won't find you. "Eco-conscious hippie-ville" has a nice ring to it.
April 08, 2010
...I drove :x Eco-conscious hippie-vile is working on its pub trans!
 
April 08, 2010
thanks for an interesting review.. will try to implement it here in Johannesburg South africa
April 08, 2010
I hope you can recycle TVs in South Africa. Thanks for the reply.
 
1
More Analog Television reviews
Quick Tip by . May 06, 2010
posted in Green Living
I just had an old analog TV of mine e-cycled. Research companies in your area who e-cycle to avoid throwing away harmful materials.
Quick Tip by . April 08, 2010
posted in Green Living
Analog had a good run, but now it's all about digital. Make sure to dispose of these properly!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Analog (or analogue) television encodes television picture and sound information and transmits it as an analog signal: one in which the message conveyed by the broadcast signal is a function of deliberate variations in the amplitude and/or frequency of the signal. All systems preceding digital television, such as NTSC, PAL or SECAM are analog television systems.

Broadcasters using analog television systems encode their signal using NTSC, PAL or SECAM analog encoding and then modulate this signal onto a VHF or UHF carrier. An analog television picture is "drawn" on the screen an entire frame each time, in the manner of a motion picture (cinematograph) film, irrespective of the picture content.

In the United States, high-power over-the-air broadcasts are solely in the ATSC digital format since June 12, 2009, the date that the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) set for the end of all high-power analog TV transmissions.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Grist is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists