Grist
Grist
A community for the environmentally-conscious!
Gardening

The practice of growing ornamental or useful plants.

< read all 7 reviews

Tomato Blight, Our Warming Climate and Who Cares?

  • Jul 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
So far no field tomatoes from Quebec have showed up in Montreal stores or at the Jean Talon Market. Usually it’s August before the crop comes in, and this year it may be even later because of the cool weather and rain. But, if the farm panel on CBC’s Radio Noon show is right, we may escape the blight that is ravaging tomato crops in the US North East.

The New York Times had a big story on Wednesday, about the damage done by the blight, a fungus related to the one that caused the Potato Famine in Ireland 180 years ago. Organic farmers, whose arsenal of defence is limited, are particularly hard hit, it seems. Aside from tearing up and burning or deeply burying affected plants so the blight though, so it must re-applied after every rain at a cost of about $1,000 a shot, according to one farmer.

That explains something a neighbor told me Tuesday. A friend of hers on Long Island reported that no local tomatoes were in the markets there, but that tomatoes from Quebec were. They must be hothouse ones—I’ve written before about the excellent Savoura ones we get now all winter long—which is more than a little strange for this time of year.

All this comes out at a time whe climate scientists from around the world are meeting in Montreal for a conference called Our Warming Climate. There has been very little press coverage even though meteorologists, arctic specialists, oceanographers and many other academics have been discussing a number of important issues. Don't know if this is a result of the extremely erudite quality of the papers presented, or because nobody is very interested. If it's the latter, we're in trouble.

From my blog Recreating Eden:  http://marysoderstrom.blogspot.com

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
More Gardening reviews
Quick Tip by . September 09, 2012
Plants create oxygen, so gardening is always a good thing. There are strategies and challenges to it too. It isn't just planting the seed into the soil, watering it sometimes, and letting nature take its course. There are certain plants you have to strategically plant according to season, terrain, and to get them however much sunlight they might need.
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Growing your own food and flowers is good for the body an soul. When you eat food you've grown yourself, and eat it right away, you get the full enzyme benefit.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
People need to focus more on organic gardening to aid in recyling as well as overall health.
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
Its that time of year again. Starter plants and root vegetables going into the garden!
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
Gardening in general is one of my top 5 stress relievers. Just being outdoors and growing your own fruits and veggies is very rewarding.
review by . December 11, 2008
My favorite thing about gardening is the growth process. That and the layouts, colors and shapes that my garden ends up taking. Although I have always loved gardening and flowers, gardening took on a new dimension for me after my parents died. It also became therapy for me - seeing that although some things die ( like people) - there is still a growth process here on earth, and that life truly does go on around us, even in our gardens. Seeing a small sunflower seed turn into an awesome 10' tall …
About the reviewer
Mary Soderstrom is a Montreal-based writer of fiction and non-fiction. Her new collection of short stories, Desire Lines: Stories of Love and Geography, will be published by Oberon Press in November, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MarySoderstrom
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Gardening is the practice of growing ornamental or useful plants. Ornamental plants are normally grown for their flowers, foliage, or overall appearance. Useful plants may be grown for consumption (vegetables, fruits, herbs, or leaf vegetables) or for a variety of other purposes, such as medicines or dyes.

Gardening ranges in scale from fruit orchards, to long boulevard plantings with one or more different types of shrubs, trees and herbaceous plants, to residential yards including lawns and foundation plantings, to large or small containers grown inside or outside. Gardening may be very specialized, with only one type of plant grown, or involve a large number of different plants in mixed plantings. It involves an active participation in the growing of plants, and tends to be labor intensive, which differentiates it from farming or forestry.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Grist is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists