Grist
Grist
A community for the environmentally-conscious!
Preserve

A plastic-recycling company

< read all 1 reviews

Recycling comes full circle.

  • Mar 1, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

     Finally, a company that allows you to recycle your #5 plastic (which aren't accepted for recycling in many communities) and uses them to create new products that you can, in turn, purchase for your own everyday use. From plastic plates and cups to colanders and razors to even toothbrushes, Preserve has it all. All of Preserve's products are made from 100% recycled plastic, made in the USA, and free of BPA and phthalates. Preserve also has a no-animal-testing policy and supports and has signed the Corporate Standard of Compassion for Animals. Best of all, when you are finished with any of your Preserve products, you can send them right back to Preserve through their postage-paid recycling program. These recycled Preserve products will then be ground up and turned into plastic lumber for use in new picnic tables, park benches, and boardwalks.

     Aside from the obvious environmental benefits of using Preserve products, they are also reasonably-priced, effective, and efficient. The toothbrush, for example, has a curved head similar to dental tools, while the razorblades last for a few months, at least in my experience, without becoming dull. Preserve products also come in a variety of colors. For anyone interesting in preservation of the environment, I suggest visiting the Preserve website, or Cosmo's Vegan Shoppe. If you're lucky, your local health food store may carry Preserve products as well.
Recycling comes full circle. Recycling comes full circle.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
August 23, 2011
Thanks for sharing.
 
October 12, 2010
Thanks so much for sharing this! I think it's great to have an innovative company finding practical solutions to seemingly overwhelming problems. I've never heard of this company before and probably never would have without your review- so thanks again!
 
April 28, 2010
Thanks for this info, I'm definitely going to share it. You would probably like this website... www.rebk.org. We're promoting the concept for recycling everything. Please check it out, we need support.
 
March 10, 2010
Nice review. Sounds like a company worth supporting. God do I hate waste!
March 11, 2010
Thank you. So do I.
 
March 04, 2010
Thanks for the review. I hadn't heard of Preserve before. I will definitely look for their products. I love that they recycle #5 plastic.
March 04, 2010
You're welcome. I came across Preserve by chance, and decided to share it.
 
March 01, 2010
nice! I live in San Francisco which is just so tight on recycling laws right now. This is very good to know!
March 01, 2010
Here even in Florida it's difficult to recycle anything aside from the typical cans, paper, glass, and soda bottles, so it's nice to have an alternative to #5 plastic recycling. Thanks for the feedback.
 
1
About the reviewer
GCS ()
My user-name was derived from the title of a poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I came to Lunch with the hopes of publishing reviews that would be appreciated by others and reading the reviews of others that hope … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ulalume
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Preserve is a company that offers personal-care products, tableware, and kitchenware made from 100% recycled plastic that is melamine and BPA-free. Preserve also offers a program called "Gimme 5", in which #5 plastics, which are typically not accepted in recycling centers, may be mailed in or dropped off at a Gimme 5 drop-off location for further recycling. Preserve also recycles used Brita water filters. Please visit http://www.PreserveProducts.com for more information.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Grist is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists