Grist
Grist
A community for the environmentally-conscious!
Deepwater Horizon Drilling Rig Explosion

An explosion that occurred on the BP ship Deepwater Horizion on April 20, 2010 and resulted in a historically massive oil spill.

< read all 9 reviews

Is it the beginning of an end?!

  • Jun 13, 2010
Rating:
-5
What is turning out to be a commercial venture becomes a potential catastrophe if not the beginning of an end for the world at large! I'm no petroleum engineer nor am I into anything technical at all. But what I'm gathering from the news and also from citizen journalism out there, well, get ready for the earth to shake!!! And not just in the U.S. too!

For those in the U.S., well, I think you'd better believe God exists! Otherwise, this fooling around with nature is going to create the supervolcano which we saw on Discovery Channel & it will erupt in our lifetime!

No one think it's that serious now but after going through this series of conversations, you'd be wise to move out of the United States! Good God!














No one clearly has the facts to write an objective review about this matter. What I fear is that authorities are hiding the implications from this disaster. Granted, no ordinary citizen can do much about this. However, if the air one breathes is toxic, then in no time all the facts will show up in hospitals and everywhere across the country. Only time will tell. 

1.3 million gallons a day was the last I read on NY Times. In this interview, it's been mentioned 4 million gallons a day! Now, I cannot even begin to grasp that figure. All this resulted because of our dependence on oil and also a corporation need for bottom lines? That sucks, big time!!!

It's hence imperative that each and everyone of us is ready to face a planet in which greed had played a prominent part... somewhat reminded me of Avatar, the movie! Who is going to save planet Earth now?
Is this the beginning of an end?! Is this the beginning of an end?!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
June 22, 2010
You are now Lunch's best reporter! :)
June 22, 2010
I beg to differ, LOL! I guess these "discussions" are too heavy for Lunch, perhaps? Not many people are interested when you tell them depressing news. However, I do feel despite it all, there are some thing in the world we can't help but take notice of and at these crucial times, it is better to be well prepared & safe than to be sorry later! :-) Hope you're keeping well!
June 22, 2010
I guess it is because they are trying to generate a positive environment. Even Horror films get ignored here... :) Me, however, I like to read depressing themes, they are closer to the truth.
 
1
More BP Gulf Oil Spill reviews
review by . July 04, 2010
It's incredibly sad to witness a disaster of this magnitude occur out in the gulf. Millions of gallons of oil are ruining our wildlife and our oceans as we speak. On top of this, many fishermen are out of work and peoples' lives were lost when the deepwater horizon exploded. A terrible decision was made on that day to use seawater instead of mud which would allow the drilling to take place at a faster rate at the expense of safety. BP were the ones who made this call and other terrible …
review by . May 29, 2010
Where is the government? Where is the outrage?
This article pertains to the response following the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.  The majority of the blame for the spill itself rests with BP and possibly other contractors involved with the platform where the problem originates.  Instead, I would like to focus on the pending ecological disaster and the slow response of the government to minimize the impact.      Some have compared this disaster to Hurricane Katrina.  President Bush received a great deal of …
review by . April 11, 2011
posted in Supercontents
August Status
By Dr. Joseph S. Maresca April 2010 BP Gulf Oil Spill- Mid-August Status The Skytruth Oil Spill Tracker showed the following improvements from a visual inspection of a map depicting the major areas of the spill with both small and large red dots. During May 2010, there were 3 large red dots on the map in the New Orleans area, 1 large red dot in Sarasota, Florida and a smaller dot just North of Havana. By August, the initial 3 large dots in the New Orleans area were reduced to much smaller red …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
posted in Grist
It's really terrible what happened. How could anyone let this go on for so long with no comforting signs of intervention until so much oil was spilt?
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
posted in Grist
It's a shame that so much damage had to be done to the Gulf Coast and the environment while the government and Big Oil stood by scratching their heads. I hope that this will be a lesson to any offshore drilling to be done in the future to have an emergency plan in place.
Quick Tip by . August 02, 2010
An Anthem for the Age of Oil Spills...   (to the tune of Rule, Britannia!)      "Rule, Britannia! Britannia, rule the waves!   All those execs at BP are knaves!   Oil was spilled, but all for naught.   This one Earth is all we've got!"  
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
British Petroleum is creating the Salton Sea of the ocean.
Quick Tip by . May 25, 2010
I agree completely with Andrewjt's position on this! It is a shame that a solution wasn't thought of for a contingency situation in advance
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this event

Wiki

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig explosion occurred on April 20, 2010 on the semi-submersible offshore drilling rig Deepwater Horizon in the Gulf of Mexico.
view wiki

Details

Type: Oil Spill
Date(s): April 20, 2010
Organization: BP
Venue: Deepwater Horizon

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Grist is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists