Hong Kong Action Cinema
If you like martial arts....join.
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon DVD

A 2000 drama and martial arts film directed by Ang Lee.

< read all 28 reviews

Why Can't All Kung-Fu Movies Be This Good?

  • Feb 19, 2001
Rating:
+5
Pros: Great performances, fight scenes, cinematography

Cons: subtitles can be distracting at times (This is a very minor complaint)

The Bottom Line: If I was trapped on a desert island with one kung-fu movie, this would be it.

Oh wow. I feel like i've died and gone to kung-fu movie heaven. "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" is so good that I am completely speechless in trying to talk about it. So I really shouldn't be trying to write this.
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" is a beautiful story of love and honor set in ancient China. It has everything: A great story, characters that you care about, great fight scenes (the characters can fly!), cinematography that alone makes you want to see it, and, in some scenes, even a bit of humor.
I can't tell you exactly how the movie begins-I walked in a few minutes late, due to a long line and only 3 of about 8 windows being occupied-but when I walked in, a great warrior named Li Mu Bai (played by Chow Yun-Fat) was offering his sword, the Green Destiny, to an old man as a gift. Eventually it is stolen. Li Mu Bai blames it on a female thief named Jade Fox. Bai hates Fox because she poisoned his master. But it was really stolen by a mysterious thief who was trained in the same technique as Bai. I won't bother to tell any more of the plot, because I had some trouble following it, and also because it would give away too many interesting twists. But, rest assured, it all comes together in the end.
I'm going to come right out and say this now: Chow Yun-Fat and Michelle Yeoh are both great actors (if you don't believe that about Chow Yun-Fat, see his performance opposite Jodie Foster in "Anna And The King" for further proof). I think denying them both Oscar nominations was robbery. But they're not as good as Zhang Ziya, the wonderful actress who played Jen (who this movie is really about). They all do for their characters the same thing that Robert De Niro did for Travis Bickle in "Taxi Driver". So well that most of the audience was in tears at the end. The plot is extremly well crafted, with some incredible twists that you will NEVER see coming. And the cinematography portrays everything in a fashion that makes it all the more dramatic. Director Ang Lee seems to have really gone over the top for this.
I have been a kung-fu movie nut for a long time, and I have never seen anything like this. The fight scenes are breathtaking, and the love story is a million times better than the one in "Titanic". So there's something for everybody. Those who are repelled by the thought of the fights or the love story will be missing out on something extrordinary. "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" is THE best film of the year, and shouldn't be missed. The only thing not to like is the subtitles.

Recommended:
Yes

Suitability For Children: Suitable for Children Age 13 and Older

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
November 14, 2010
Yes! I loved HERO as well.
 
1
More Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon reviews
Quick Tip by . November 10, 2010
Frankly, I didn't enjoy this one as much particularly since I'm not a fan of Chow Yun-Fat. I remembered it as being too long and I don't even remember what the entire show is all about anymore!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
What amounts largely to what I'm told as an Asian Fairy Tale with it's wire work and legends in a movie. Chow Yun Fat is awesome as is Michelle Yeoh in this story of a powerful sword taken by a young woman who gains power from it.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This film has visually stunning fight scenes and set design.
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
I respect the fact that it opened America's doors to Chinese Wuxia, but NOT the best wuxia out there
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
Overrated and over long. I love martial arts movies, but this was just too melodramatic and predictable for me.
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
I pretty much grew up on Chinese martial arts flicks. I've seen better.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Chinese Oscar winner for best foreign film serves well as intro for uninitiated but may leave old fans wanting more.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
An amazing special effects movie built around a warm story.
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
About the reviewer
Nicholas Croston ()
Hi! I'm here in part to plug my writing and let everyone know that I'm trying to take my work commercial.      Now, what about me? Well, obviously I like to write. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BaronSamedi3
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is a Chinese-language film in the wuxia martial arts style, released in 2000. A China-Hong Kong-Taiwan-United States co-production, the film was directed by Ang Lee and featured an international cast of ethnic Chinese actors, including Chow Yun-fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi and Chang Chen. The movie was based on the fourth novel in a pentalogy, known in China as the Crane-Iron Pentalogy, by wuxia novelist Wang Dulu. The martial arts and action sequences were choreographed by Yuen Wo Ping, well known for his work in The Matrix and other films.

Made on a mere US$17 million budget, with dialogue in Mandarin, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon became a surprise international success. After its US premiere at the Hawaii International Film Festival, it grossed US$128 million in the United States alone, becoming the highest-grossing foreign-language film in American history. It has won over 40 awards. The film won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film (Taiwan) and three other Academy Awards, and was nominated for six other Academy Awards, including Best Picture. The film also won three BAFTAs and two Golden Globes, one for "Best Foreign Film" as well as additional nominations for ten BAFTAs including "Best Picture".
view wiki

Details

Director: Ang Lee
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: December 15, 2000
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 5, 2001
Runtime: 120 minutes
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Hong Kong Action Cinema is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists