Potter Junkies
For fans of Harry Potter and beyond!
Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone

The first film in the Harry Potter movie franchise directed by Chris Columbus.

< read all 34 reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

  • Dec 19, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+2
I am a really big fan of the HP series, but this is probably my least favourite in the series. It does have a lot of faithfulness to the book, and for Potter fans like myself, what more could you ask? Even if you're not a fan of the series and want to see it, you don't really have to have an extensive knowledge of the books to enjoy the film.

Besides, even if you've never touched a Harry Potter book in your life, you probably still know who he is. He's an iconic character and has been a part of pop culture since the release of the first book. It doesn't matter if you like the books or the movies better, Harry Potter is still pretty much a universal fandom. That being said, onto the movie.

First of all, the casting is truly fantastic. I realize that Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson are all really young kids in this movie, and that they get better with age, but they were still pretty talented kids. This film has a big supporting cast and they all do a fantastic job in their respective roles. Richard Harris was a great Dumbledore, even if I do like Michael Gambon better in the later films.

There wasn't really a big villain in this, except the minor villain of Draco Malfoy and the possessed Quirrell. Quirrell's role paved the way for Voldemort in the future (although, thanks to A Very Potter Musical, I don't think I can ever take Voldemort seriously again) and made Ralph Fiennes' presence a total mystery. By that, I mean unless you've read the books, you don't know what will happen with Voldemort. Nothing much else to say, except that the big ensemble cast does a great job and paved the way for their matured characters in the later films.

In terms of story, this is incredibly faithful to the film, for better and for worse. It doesn't leave much suspense for those who have read the books, but for new fans, it would privde enough thrills to not bore the audience. However, it does drag in some parts and I think that the Dursleys were in the movie way too long. I don't think the actors for the Dursleys were all that good, and their scenes in the films are by far my least favourites. The pacing was good and it kept things moving along nicely without labouring.

The visual effects are still pretty awesome to this day, but again, they do get better as the films progress and the budget for effects increases. My favourites are probably the wizard chess board and the voldemort/quirrell scene at the end. The rest of the uses, like the magic use, are pretty real looking and the sets (namely Hogwarts and Diagon Alley) definitely had a great deal to do with the excellent visual style of this and the future films.

If you haven't seen this, it's definitely worth a rental, even if you don't like the books. It's definitely not perfect, and the films do get better as the story progresses, but this film is still pretty good and a fitting entry into one of the greatest film series' of all time. Great visuals, great story (if a bit unsuspenseful for the previous readers of the book), and great acting make for this great movie.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
December 19, 2010
I have liked all of them thus far but the ones with Helena Carter are excellent because of her.
 
1
More Harry Potter and the Sorcerer'... reviews
Quick Tip by . December 19, 2010
fantatic!since I met this book when I was 12 years old I never found it was boring.
Quick Tip by . September 14, 2010
This movie captured the wonder of childhood perfectly!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
keep us interested and was a movie for the whole family
review by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
   It is too funny that your son and yourself fight over who is getting to read the books of the Harry Potters series but that is what happened in our house. So of course when the movies came out, it was pandemonium. I love all of the Harry Potter movies. Nothing bad to say about any of them. This was in particular a great movie and love to see Hagrid, Harry, Ron, and the Professor in action.  It is also very fun to watch Harry and all the kids grow up and the peculiar teachers at …
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Very faithful to the book, but a tad bit long. Great performances by a very young cast.
review by . July 01, 2010
When I read this book, I felt scared for Harry, because of all that he went through. I would be scared, too if I found out that I was a wizard and had to go to a magical school.       I would recommend this book to anyone that might have always felt different from others.      The setting takes place at Hogwarts, a secret and magical school for witches and wizards.       This book is about a boy that who learns that he is …
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
The first of the series is so great, not only because of the happy ending and generally positive note (compared to the last volumes , for instance), but becaus eit somehow has a magical quality of almost making fantasy real and reality fantastic. I know after reading it, when being on the railway staion, I could not help to look at the walls and wonder,...what would it be like if that would be a secret passage to another world?
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
One of my favorite out of all the movies. I like how Harry finds out for the first time that he is a wizard.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
I don't like harry potter for some reason. I have read his books, but I just never felt like I got into like everyone else did/has.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This book is a very easy read and it's got a great storyline. I enjoyed this and the movie is good as well. I'd recommend this to anyone.
About the reviewer
About this movie

Wiki

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, released in the United States and India as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, is a 2001 fantasy-adventure film directed by Chris Columbus and based on the novel by J. K. Rowling. The film was the first of the Harry Potter film series. It was written by Steve Kloves and produced by David Heyman. The story follows Harry Potter, a boy who discovers on his eleventh birthday that he is a wizard, and is sent to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry to begin his magical education. The film stars Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter, with Rupert Grint and Emma Watson as Harry's best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. The adult cast features Richard Harris, Maggie Smith, Robbie Coltrane, Alan Rickman and Ian Hart.

Warner Bros. bought the film rights to the book in 1999 for a reported £1 million. Production began in 2000, with Columbus being chosen to create the film from a short list of directors that included Steven Spielberg and Rob Reiner. J. K. Rowling insisted that the entire cast be British or Irish, in keeping with the cultural integrity of the book and the film. She also approved the screenplay, written by Steve Kloves. The film was shot at Leavesden Film Studios and historic buildings around the United Kingdom.

The film was released in the United Kingdom and United States in November 2001. It received a mostly positive critical reception, made more than $974 million at the worldwide box office and was ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Chris Columbus
Genre: Adventure, Drama, Family, Fantasy
Release Date: November 16, 2001
MPAA Rating: PG
Screen Writer: Steve Kloves
Runtime: 159 minutes
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures, Heyday Films, 1492 Pictures
Polls with this movie
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Best films

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Potter Junkies is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists