Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness

Iodine from Seaweed

1 rating: 4.0
a food and a natural health solution

Seaweed is a source of iodine, necessary for thyroid function and to prevent goitre.      The high iodine content of seaweed can produce iodine toxicity if large amounts of seaweed are consumed.  

Tags: Health, Seaweed, Iodine, Iodine From Seaweed
1 review about Iodine from Seaweed

Iodine from seaweed, not pills?

  • Apr 5, 2011
Rating:
+4

Yeah, it's totally true that eating seaweed is probably a gentler way to protect yourself from radiation than taking iodine pills :)

Of course this info is relevant to the Japanese and not the United States, as there is not really a radioactive food concern here. Anyway...people are already buying seaweed in California... 

Anyway, iodine pills have side effects which may include:

acne, loss of appetite, or upset stomach (especially during the first several days, as the body adjusts to the medication). More severe side effects which require notification of a physician are: fever, weakness, unusual tiredness, swelling in the neck or throat, mouth sores, skin rash, nausea, vomiting, stomach pains, irregular heartbeat, numbness or tingling of the hands or feet, or a metallic taste in the mouth

The LA times says:

A dose of potassium iodide contains about 100 mg of iodine [100000 mcg]

This article lists food based sources of iodine per 100g serving:

Different seaweeds contain varying amounts of iodine:

  • 62900mcg Hijiki
  • 7200mcg Dulse
  • 3200mcg Wakame
  • 2500mcg Kombu
  • 1600mcg Nori

The article also lists other fish and mollusks and eggs and milk - which have lower values for iodine content (up to 340 mcg for Haddock, for example), so foods other than seaweed aren't really going to help. Also, you can't really eat enough salt or cod liver oil to really get a meaningful amount of iodine, because it's unhealthy to eat that much salt or cod liver oil. I've also seen some misconceptions. For example, kale isn't that high in iodine.

This means that if you want to get as much iodine as you would from a pill, you'd have to buy hijiki seaweed, and eat 1.5 or 2 servings. It's pretty much your only option if you want a huge amount of iodine - unless there is another high iodine seaweed not on this list.

You also have to be sure about your source of seaweed. Some Australian seaweed has already tested positive for iodine. It's a similar situation in canada. So if you're a serious health nut, you should probably order your seaweed online. Here's an example of one Maine company that will ship seaweed to you.

Originally posted in my tumblr : willw2.tumblr.com

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
April 06, 2011
Go to Supercontents to see my article on Antidotes for Nuclear Radiation which includes the alternative medicinal or natural protocols also. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the World Health Organization both list the KI on their websites. In addition, if you are taking seaweed- make certain that it is not contaminated. If there is an emergency, the government will be providing the KI in all likelihood. Eating non-inflammatory foods together with the KI or some other approved protocol will put you in a better position than having a diet of inflammatory foods like sugar and gluten.
April 06, 2011
ha link?
April 06, 2011
Discuss the seaweed protocol with your physician.
Right now, the World Health Org and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission recommend the KI protocol. There are other
products like NukeProtect which are combinatorial protocols of KI and herbs.

The product must be effective once used otherwise you will not have the requisite protection.

Conventional medical doctors may support the KI protocol. Alternative Medical Practitioners will support other protocols like the one you mentioned.

Since you are recommending this protocol, there should be some authoritative source like The Journal of the Lancet. 

Do you have any professional medical citations to recommend for this audience?  If not, start doing some research.
April 06, 2011
I was asking for the link to your article because you mentioned your article but didn't say where I could find it. I'm not taking seaweed, nor am I about to. This was merely meant to spotlight something I felt was interesting. Of course people should do enough research so they are comfortable with their own decisions.
April 06, 2011
Here is my article in Cafe' Libre. http://community.cafelibri.com/reviews/d/Use...ilable_Products_to.html

Whichever protocol you select be it conventional medicine
or alternative medicine- make certain that you discuss the
implementation with the family physician. If your family
physician believes in conventional medicine- he or she will
recommend that you take the KI in all likelihood.
An alternative or complementary medical practitioner
may recommend an herbal combination, seaweed,
mega doses of Vitamin C or some other remedy.
You should ask for a professional literature reference
for whatever you take.

The KI is recommended by the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission and is on the World Health Org website.
Whatever you take, remember that it must be proven to
be effective . Otherwise, you may contract a thyroid
cancer or something worse once exposed.

That's why I recommend strongly that you discuss
the preferred protocol with your personal family physician.
 
April 05, 2011
Whoa, this is all good info!  I've been reading more news on iodine than ever what with recent events, but haven't read about the seaweed yet.  That's also interesting to know that iodine is already in some of the foods that we eat every day anyways.

And Californians aren't the only ones rushing out to buy iodine things, so are Wisconsinites apparently:


(Here's the link in case the video doesn't load)

Oy.

Thanks for sharing this great post! :)
April 05, 2011
Wow thanks for the great comment and the vid!!
 
April 05, 2011
I had been making Japanese seaweed soup before this. But as you know, now that the radiation is also in the sea, forget it. Whatever it is, enjoy your life on a daily basis is a lot more productive than taking whatever steps to guard yourself against radiation! Other than for those with health problems, I don't think we've to be too concerned about problems we have no control over. :-)
April 05, 2011
Ha, I'm pretty chill. I'm more curious than anything else...I think it's ridiculously cool when natural solutions obviate the need for side effects laden pills :) Thanks for your comment :)
 
1
What's your opinion on Iodine from Seaweed?
rate
1 rating: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Iodine from Seaweed
Details
Related Topics

The original diet was an Atkins Style diet with the addition

The Sonoma Diet was developed by Connie Guttersen and is a d

First to Review
Source: Iodine from Seaweed on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists