Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness

New Chapter Wholemega Focus

2 Ratings: 4.0
Omega-3 fish oil supplement

The Benefits of Fish Oil with Whole Omegas Omega 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9’s are fatty acids found in wild fish and often referred to as “good fats.” Why so good? Primarily because omegas are present and play an important role in every … see full wiki

1 review about New Chapter Wholemega Focus

Quality Fish Oil

  • Sep 15, 2011
Rating:
+3
I regularly take Omega-3 fish oil for its touted heart, brain, skin and joint benefits. I recently turned 40 and figure I should keep things well oiled (bad pun - sorry). I've tried variety of brands and dismissed most of them because they elicited the dreaded fish-burp/reflux after consumption. The two best I've found are Schiff MegaRed and Coromega. The latter I enjoy sucking right out of the packet - it tastes that good. But if you prefer soft gels, then Wholemega is a good option. I like the fact that included in the formulation are herbs that benefit mood and alertness. I trust the New Chapter brand and appreciate their dedication to providing the purest and most wholesome ingredients they can.

Two minor things keep me from wholeheartedly (I know, another pun) recommending this product. The first is that one needs to take 3 softgels per serving or over the course of the day. This leaves you with only 20 servings per container -- not quite the value of the other two products I mentioned. They only require one pill or one packet respectively. Also, even when taken as directed, I would occasionally get mild fish-burp. Not as severe as other companies' formulations and not every time, but it does happen. I never get it with MegaRed or Coromega.

Those are not necessarily deal-breakers and Wholemega is still a good product, but after I finish this jar, I think I'll stick with my other brands. If you prefer softgels and/or want to spread your dosage out over the course of the day, then Wholemega may be right for you.

~ Kort
Quality Fish Oil Quality Fish Oil Quality Fish Oil

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 21, 2011
A good place to purchase your favorite brands of fish oil or any other vitamin/supplement is on www.iherb.com - they have every brand of health products you can think of and their prices are excellent and much cheaper than at a health food store; shipping is extra fast too - usually you receive your order no longer than 3 to 4 days after you place it. I have not tried the MegaRed, but I have heard as you have that Nordic Naturals is a good product. Thank you for sharing!
 
September 16, 2011
What other brands will you be going for? I'm in the market for fish oil since my optometrist told me that it was good for dry eyes!
September 16, 2011
The other two I mentioned in review (Schiff MegaRed and Coromega). The MegaRed is supposed to be quite potent, thus you don't need much of it. Coromega touts that it is 300% more absorbable than other because of its formulation. That is my favorite. I also hear good things about Nordic Naturals.
I don't have dry eyes so something must be working! ;)
 
September 16, 2011
The benefits of Omega 3 are considerable. Just purchase a good quality product.
September 16, 2011
Yes, a quality product is key, especially for this supplement.
 
September 16, 2011
Omega Fish Oil is a good health tonic.
September 16, 2011
Agreed. It is great for many ailments and for general health:
"Here are seven benefits that Medline Plus says are possible from Omega 3:
1. Freedom from pain and inflammation. The National Institute of Health's website, Medline Plus says, "Omega-3 fatty acids reduce pain and swelling." How? Omega 3 fish oil fatty acids, particularly EPA, are involved in your body's inflammatory response and inflammation cycle. Relieving the inflammation (swelling) will help reduce the pain.
2. Better brain function and higher intelligence. Pregnant and nursing mothers who include omega 3 fatty acids in their diets, may have a positive impact on their babies intelligence. For adults, fish oil is also being researched in association with improved memory, recall, reasoning and focus.
3. Feeling better with much less depression. Making you smarter is not all that fish oil may do for your brain. Psychiatry department researchers at the University of Sheffield UK, along with other research studies, have seen the possibility that the omega 3 fatty acids in fish oil supplements "alleviated" the symptoms of depression, bipolar and psychosis. [Journal of Affective Disorder Vol. 48(2-3);149-55]
4. Lower incidence of childhood disorders. Just to show how fish oil fatty acids leave nobody out, studies suggest that children (and adults) with ADD and ADHD may experience a greatly improved quality of life. From Medline Plus, "Taking fish oil seems to improve thinking skills and behavior in 8 to 12 year-old children with ADHD."
5. Superior cardiovascular health. Research has suggested that the DHA, EPA and DPA in fish oil may have a positive effect on heart disease. According to Medline Plus, "Fish oil may be effective in keeping people with healthy hearts free of heart disease. People who already have heart disease may be able to lower their risk of dying from heart disease by taking fish oil. Though not all researchers agree, some investigators believe that fish oil may be even more effective in reducing death from heart attacks than a group of commonly used cholesterol-lowering drugs called "statins."
6. Protection from heart attack and stroke. When plaque builds up on arterial walls and then breaks loose, it causes what's known as a thrombosis, which is a fancy way of saying clot. If a clot gets stuck in the brain, it causes a stroke and when it plugs an artery, it causes a heart attack. From Medline Plus: "Moderate fish consumption (once or twice a week) seems to lower the risk of having a stroke by as much as 27%."
7. Reduction of menstrual pain. And finally, it seem that fish oil may have a positive effect on the discomfort associated with menstrual pain or dysmenorrheal. According to Medline Plus: "Taking fish oil alone or in combination with vitamin B12 seems to improve painful periods and reduce the need for pain medications such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS)." That should be reason enough for every woman to include omega 3 fish oil in her daily routine!"
 
1
What's your opinion on New Chapter Wholemega Focus?
rate
2 Ratings: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
New Chapter Wholemega Focus
Details
First to Review

"Quality Fish Oil"
Source: New Chapter Wholemega Focus on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists