Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness
Hiking trail marker

Outdoor activity.

< read all 8 reviews

My favorite physical activity.

  • Dec 19, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love hiking more than any other physical activity. A good hike can be just a quarter mile or more than 20. No matter what, a hike will hopefully lead you away from the craziness of modern life and into a spot that will offer solitude and peace.

I first got into hiking after my family moved to California in the early 1990s. Our home is located right next to a national forest boundary, and as such, our front yard was literally a massive playground.

Throughout high school, I explored our mountains more and more, often escaping school and seeking respite while walking on trails on weekend mornings. My enthusiasm culminated in my junior and senior years when I was made my high school's hiking club president! It was truly an honor, and I did my best to introduce others to the joy of hiking either locally or far away on overnight trips.

In college, I was fortunate enough to be in new territory and I explored a lot of the Sierra Nevada, Coast Ranges, and Cascades. These days, back in Southern California, I keep hiking as a way to stay fit (it's great for your abs and heart!) and as a way to de-stress and meditate.

To love hiking doesn't mean you have to love nature and be some physical fitness guru. All you need is a pair of comfortable shoes, an open mind, and two feet willing to take you wherever you want for as long as you desire.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
February 21, 2010
I fully agree that hiking is a wonderful way to stay in shape and de-stress. I love spending time outdoors and in nature - I can't think of a better way to relax.
 
1
More Hiking reviews
review by . October 09, 2009
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Hiking 1
It seems that my wife and I never tire of taking hikes.  It is a great pastime and one of the few things we can do these days on the spur of the moment.  Just what's not to like about immersing oneself into the great outdoors?   We enjoy just about everything about it.  Molly and I  love the solitude, the scenic vistas, the birds and wildlife, the fresh air and of course the physical activity that is associated with hiking.  We find that …
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2011
posted in City Lifestyle
Caption
Extremely fun when in countries like Switzerland, Norway, Canada and the U.S. Awful in Asia, especially South East Asia! Temperature and the lack of hiking trails have a little to do with that.            I love hiking with a camera and especially if I'm not rushing to finish a trail! Hiking alone does pose some degree of dangers, especially for woman and older people.      Having said that, hiking in national parks is one of the best …
review by . March 03, 2010
Hiking is definitely my favorite sport.  Why?       Because I love the outdoors, it can be done with essentially nothing but a nice pair of boots, and it can be done year round.  It is fun, something that can be done whether your 5 years old or 95, and it is great exercise.      In the winter I snowshoe!      Because I love the outdoors, it can be done with essentially nothing but a nice pair of boots, and it can be done year …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
I always love to get some fresh air and sun while on a hike in the countryside.
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
If it's a long hike, a dog backpack works great -- the dogs get tired and they just LOVE to carry their own gear
Quick Tip by . March 20, 2010
posted in Green Living
I grew up hiking with my family every Fall. I love the exercise and the chance to soak up the beauty of nature.
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2009
posted in Go Canada
Hiking is great, especially on a scenic spot like around the lake or mountain areas. I love it where weather are cool and during Autumn!
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Hiking is an outdoor activity that often involves walking along established trails in natural environments, including mountains, forests, beaches, riversides, among others.

While the term "hiking" is understood in almost all English-speaking countries, its usage varies from country to country. For example, in Australia and New Zealand, the action of hiking is often called "tramping," and "bushwalking," or simply "walking."

While almost anyone can partake in the activity, long-distance hiking, or hikes that involve extreme elevation change, often require some degree of physical fitness. Also, while hiking generally has low impacts on the surrounding environment, excessive trail use may lead to pollution, erosion, and the general ecological degradation of the area near trails. Nonetheless, the activity forms the base for many other activities, and is extremely popular among nature enthusiasts throughout the world. 
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists