Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness

Taste The Flower!

  • Jul 17, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
Or not ...it was difficult to narrow down the taste of the Hibiscus in this drink. My first sips were from a slightly chilled bottle and the aroma, while fruity and floral, was vaguely reminiscent of cauliflower. Strange, though not necessarily a turn off. Later after it was fully chilled, the cauliflower note was less noticeable and it had a pleasant flavor. For my tastes, it was a little too sweet. Not as bad as a soda or your standard grocery store fruit juices, but there. Also, it was not as "sparkling" as I had hope -- I had expected more fizz.

All in all, not a bad juice beverage alternative. It has a short list of ingredients and are more natural than most. I don't know about the health claim benefits, but it can't hurt. It attractive in it's contoured plastic botttle, but at two dollars I'll probably skip purchasing another. To me it tasted a bit like apple fruit punch, though there are no fruit juices in it.

This is a tough one and it comes down to personal tastes. You have to decide for yourself. For me, I'd drink one if it was given to me, but won't be seeking it out.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 17, 2009
I'm glad to get another opinion on this unique drink, but cauliflower?  I don't know about that!  @KellyKlepfer says that the OOBA Hibiscus drink with lime in it tastes pretty good though.

By the way, if you like hibiscus, you might like dried hibiscus from Trader Joe's.  They make great snacks even though they do leave my teeth a little colored afterwards.  @HealthyRache says that they taste good with cheese!
July 17, 2009
Thanks for the tip devora. Yep, boiled cauliflower. Not unpleasant, but noticeable if you have smell that particular veggie recently. :) Sadly, there are no Trader Joe's in Florida. :(
July 17, 2009
Hmmm, I'll have to try it for myself! That's too bad that you don't have TJ's down there. At least you've got nice Florida weather (save the occasional rain storm). My best friend lives in Tampa and I always enjoy visiting! :)
July 17, 2009
TJ's should really start selling online. But we have some good health food stores that almost make up for it. And yes, there is that warm (read humid and HOT) weather to enjoy. :']
 
1
More OOBA Hibiscus Original, 16 Oun... reviews
review by . August 15, 2009
OOBA Hibiscus drink
I think the OOBA Hibiscus carbonated drink is one of the most unique and tasty sodas out there. It has a great balance of sweetness and the tangy flavor of Hibiscus. It's "slightly carbonated" too, and I think that also adds to the experience.  You can definitely taste the Hibiscus flower in it, and I'm glad that they didn't skimp on it.       If you've never tasted any Hibiscus flavored products before, the taste may surprise you because it's sweet, tangy, and …
review by . June 01, 2009
If you believe the hype around the health benefits of the Hibiscus flower and enjoy a unique flavorful sparkling drink, then this product is probably for you.     The health claims of Hibiscus are documented on the OOBA Web site and I have heard about the health benefits of Hibiscus from others I've seen drinking some weird Hibiscus tea. That is actually what enticed me to give this a try.     Overall this drink is nice and refreshing and has a unique flavor …
Quick Tip by . August 23, 2009
Picked up one of these yesterday since so many Lunchers Lunched about it. Refreshing and tasty, but too overly sweet for a natural product.
About the reviewer
Kort ()
Ranked #4
Art Director & Graphic/Web Designer • Photographer • Gadget Lover • Hubby • Dad • Amazon.com Reviewer • Wine, Tea & Coffee Drinker • Foodie
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Kort_Kramer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

OOBA is the first ever sparkling hibiscus beverage. Taste the ancient healing power of hibiscus in all three varieties: Hibiscus, Hibiscus & Lime (Pure Hibiscus extract with Key Lime Essence) and Hibiscus & Orange (Pure Hibiscus Extract with Orange Essence.), Each 16-ounce bottle is bubbling with health benefits. “With every refreshing sip, OOBA’s pure hibiscus extract also supports cardiovascular health by providing antioxidants and vitamin C”, says founder and CEO John-David Enright, a pharmaceutical industry veteran with a passion for health. OOBA has clear advantages over other bottled beverages —a generous dose of antioxidant-rich hibiscus extract, a lean 90 calories per serving, and barely a hint of sodium (just 5mg). Made with 100% all natural ingredients (just five of them), OOBA delivers on both health and taste. The drink’s bright, ruby red color is from the pure hibiscus flower extract. The exact amount, according to Enright, is “part of OOBA’s secret recipe, and proprietary.” OOBA’s sweetness comes from the perfect amount of pure cane sugar. Hibiscus is a colorful flower commonly used to make herbal tea and drinks throughout Egypt, Asia, Africa, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America, where it has long been lauded for its health properties. Hibiscus extract contains many of the same antioxidant compounds as red wine, including flavonoids, polyphenols and anthocyanins, which have been demonstrated ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists