Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness
The connection of sport and fitness

An organized, competitive, and skillful physical activity requiring commitment and fair play.

< read all 2 reviews

Sports: a better way to train

  • Apr 1, 2010
Rating:
+5
Many times we dread the thought of laboring into the gym and the thought of getting on the treadmill followed by an unspiring bout of lifting weights just isn't that entertaining...if not boring! If this is you, it's time to reconsider your training program.

Here's a truth: you won't do anything long term unless you enjoy doing it.

Ever since discovering and now exclusively practicing the sport of Olympic Weightlifting I fully understand the above statement. I love practicing this sport so much that I no longer perform any cardio on stationary equipment, no more machines, no more sit down crunches of any kind. No more silly trendy exercise approaches.

The point is to lift as much weight over head in either 1 rapid lift or in 2 lifts. It requires flexibility that you can't get statically stretching, it requires fast explosive moving of your muscles, balance, coordination and strength. But more than that, it requires an extreme mental state of concentration. I have never done anything that required as much mental focus and concentration as what I'm currently doing.

Lastly, the point of this post is to share that I'm not doing this sport because i want my abs to look a certain way or that I'm trying to lose fat or look a certain way just because what's printed on magazines. I will never step into that lifestyle or approach to fitness where i dread the process. The sports approach to fitness is very empowering because not only do you like to do it but because when you're into it, when your attention and concentration is fully present (not distracted with iPods) it becomes an empowering journey where you're a better person afterwards. I'm lifting weights once thought impossible. But I wouldn't have believed unless I give all my concentration and focus to stepping up to the challenge.

It's about being a better you. Pick up a sport you once loved or you're into. Make that the majority of your training because not only will you enjoy it even more but you'll be better off as a person. Say no to magazine training methods and turn off that TV. They only make you feel more ugly.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
32
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
I agree wholeheartedly.
 
May 19, 2011
Well, that explains why I could never get into running and prefer cycling. I just don't like running!
 
June 01, 2010
A great way to enjoy fitness is to take yoga. I enjoy yoga so much more than anything else I've tried to keep active.
June 02, 2010
Hi Raederie. I once did a yoga and spinning class. While the spinning was allright the yoga was amazing! I agree with you!
 
June 01, 2010
I completely agree with everything you've said. As a two-sport college athlete, I find it extremely hard to motivate myself in the off season when i'm not running down the field after a ball, or chasing down the girl who has the ball, or practicing my shot. Even during preseason when there aren't games, I know what i'm working towards and it motivates me. I know that when I graduate next year I will definitely be continuing sports in one way or another. It's difficult to run on a treadmill towards nothing, staring at the same thing the entire time! Sports help me run after something, whether it's something literal like a ball or figurative like a win.
June 02, 2010
Stacie, join me in saying no to hamster wheel treadmills and to all types of magazine training that make us feel uglier and fatter which does nothing for your self esteem. Empower yourself and continue to play sports you love!
 
May 21, 2010
Thanks! I have found this true in my life - do the sports I love! I also have found integrating the sport, in this case biking, into my daily routine. I love biking to work - great exercise, good way to relax before and after work, and good for the environment...oh, it also is the fastest and least expensive way too!
June 02, 2010
Philip, i remember when I use to competitor biking. The rush of being in the slipstream in a group of riders isn't comparable to sitting on a stationary bike at the gym going...nowhere.
 
April 11, 2010
"you won't do anything long term unless you enjoy doing it. " --- that is so very true! I won't mind biking if the weather is cool and nice! With an iPad on the mount, it's even better, lol! Wish I could visit America National Parks everyday!
 
April 01, 2010
Good stuff. I don't always like 'working out', but I love playing sports. So I like it that when I'm participating in sports it cuts down on the workout time I would have done. When it is golf season I'm walking 2 miles every time out. Well that's good for my walking that day. When I play tennis there goes my cardio for the day. Great points, Captain.
 
April 01, 2010
Man, I should really get into sports! I'm a real gym rat and actually enjoy going to the gym; makes me feel accomplished every time I'm done working out, but I'd really like the hit the outdoors someday. Great review, Josue!
 
1
More Sports reviews
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I love all kinds of sports. You get exercise, competition and fun. Works for me.
About the reviewer
Josue "The Captain" Cano ()
Ranked #13
I'm the creator of the best Garlic Salsa on the planet:El Capitan's Garlic Salsa    This salsa was handed down to me from my parents who brought the recipe from Guadalajara Mexico. During the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
captain
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A sport is commonly defined as an organized, competitive, and skillful physical activity requiring commitment and fair play. It is governed by a set of rules or customs. In a sport the key factors are the physical capabilities  and skills of the competitor when determining the outcome (winning or losing). The physical activity involves the movement of people, animals and/or a variety of objects such as balls and machines. In contrast, games such as card games and board games, though these could be called mind sports, require only mental skills. Non-competitive activities such as jogging and rock-climbing, are usually classified as recreations.

Physical events such as scoring goals or crossing a line first often define the result of a sport. However the degree of skill in some sports such as diving, dressage and figure skating is judged according to well-defined criteria. This is in contrast with other judged activities such as beauty pageants and body-building shows, where skill does not have to be shown and the criteria are not as well defined.

Accurate records are kept and updated for most sports at the highest levels, while failures and accomplishments are widely announced in sport news. Sports are most often played just for fun or for the simple fact that people need exercise to stay in good physical condition. However professional sport is a major source of entertainment.

Although they do not always succeed, sports participants are expected to display good ...
view wiki

Tags

Health, Sports, Fitness, Training, working out

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists