Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness
Walking

Tthe action of one that walks.

< read all 9 reviews

Walk On

  • May 25, 2011
Rating:
+2
Walking is that simple, basic, everyday human function in which you place one foot in front of the other in order to propel yourself forward. It's something that absolutely everyone who has ever lived knows how to do, and the VAST majority of the human population does it or at the very least has been capable of doing it in their lifetimes. It's useful as a means of transportation and exercise, especially if you have an eye out for the better welfare of both the environment and your bank account. You don't need gasoline or insurance in order to walk.

At first thought, walking would seem to be ideal for quite a bit of the average joe's average day. It certainly has its uses, but how much you can feasibly depend on walking is pretty circumstantial.

If you walk for exercise, there is a certain way you have to do it. That certain way is to place one foot in front of the other very rapidly, or else you're not burning many calories, and you certainly won't be building muscle. You will only be taking a light stroll, and the only way that can really benefit your body is if you happen to live in an area with a lot of steep slants and inclines so the feeling of walking up and down a lot of stairs can be at least somewhat simulated.

Location is also the key to how useful walking can be as a form of transportation. It's just fine if you live within a short radius of the sources of your living necessities - say a mile or so. Walking from one place to another is slow going, and it can take hours to go relatively short distances that a car or a bus or a bicycle can cover within a matter of minutes. Walking for long distance travel is out of the question is out of the question unless there is literally nothing else on your agenda. But it's not impossible - there are a lot of proponents of long-distance walking who use this simple means to go from one place to another, and they turn the walk itself into an opportunity to sightsee. Acclaimed filmmaker Werner Herzog is among these proponents - he once walked from Brazil to California.

People like that are exceptional cases, though, and if you're trying to walk for practical purposes while living in a rich, far-off suburb or whathaveyou, you can forget having a ton of free time. If you live rurally, it's impossible. Practical walking is best suited to urban environments or speed walking for exercise.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Walking reviews
Quick Tip by . October 26, 2010
posted in Green Living
It is my favorite form of locomotion. I wear a pedometer like I would a piece of treasured jewelry. No longer a step saver but a step taker inside, outside, all around. Of course add some music and the walking can get fun and a bit sassy and like MarySoderstrom says "You don't need a healthclub membership..."
review by . March 28, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I walk every chance I get.
For as long as I can remember I have loved to walk.  Even when I was a young man I never cared much for running or jogging.  For one thing, I always found running to be very hard on my feet, ankles and knees.  Likewise, I lacked the wind and physical stamina to either run or jog for more than a few minutes at a time.  I found that walking was more my speed.       When I was in my late 30's I weighed somewhere in the vicinity of 230 …
Quick Tip by . June 05, 2010
posted in Green Living
You don't need a healthclub membership if you walked everywhere!
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
posted in Life with Dogs
Make sure you've got a good solid leash and plenty of poop bags when you're on a walk with your pup(s)
Quick Tip by . May 08, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I usually take a walk once a day with my dog. She can go about a 1.5 miles and it's a nice way to get fresh air and relax.
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
My favorite thing, ever. Miss doing it more before I moved to LA!
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I try to walk as often as I can. Bonus points for nice scenery & good people/animal watching!
About the reviewer
Nicholas Croston ()
Hi! I'm here in part to plug my writing and let everyone know that I'm trying to take my work commercial.      Now, what about me? Well, obviously I like to write. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BaronSamedi3
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by BaronSamedi3
About this topic

Wiki

Walking (also called ambulation) is one of the main gaits of locomotion among legged animals, and is typically slower than running and other gaits. Walking is defined by an 'inverted pendulum' gait in which the body vaults over the stiff limb or limbs with each step. This applies regardless of the number of limbs - even arthropods with 6, eight or more limbs.

In humans and other bipeds, walking is generally distinguished from running in that only one foot at a time leaves contact with the ground and there is a period of double-support. In contrast, running begins when both feet are off the ground with each step. (This distinction has the status of a formal requirement in competitive walking events, resulting in disqualification at the Olympic level.) For quadrupedal species, there are numerous gaits which may be termed walking or running, and distinctions based upon the presence or absence of a suspended phase or the number of feet in contact any any time do not yield mechanically correct classification. The most effective method to distinguish walking from running is based on the percent of the stride in which a foot is in contact with the ground (averaged across all feet); defining a walk as greater than 50% contact corresponds well with identification of 'inverted pendulum' mechanics via force plate measurements.

The average human child achieves independent walking ability around 11 months old. The word walk is descended from the Old English wealcan "to roll".
...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists