Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness
Brussel Sprouts

A type of wild cabbage known for its small heads, which resemble lettuce.

< read all 5 reviews

Yes, they look disgustingly testicular. Roast them!

  • Dec 19, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
So first off: Yes, brussel sprouts look disgustingly testicular. They're unattractive, veiny, and I generally avoid them like the plague, having bad childhood memories of eating wet steamed ones b/c they were supposedly "healthy." 

All of that is true, but I'm an adult now who still tries to eat healthy, and I still have to eat my veggies. So here's a simple recipe that transforms the lowly brussel sprout into something crispy, snack-like, and quite delicious. 

Believe it or not, it can be quite a party food. I can't over-exaggerate the golden, "roasted" flavor that these brussel sprouts take on. 

ingredents
brussel sprouts, washed and cut in half
olive oil 
salt
pepper

instructions
Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly coat the halved brussel sprouts with a bit of olive oil (less is more here). Salt and pepper them. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the edges turn brown and crispy. If you'd like, salt and pepper once more. Let cool. Enjoy! 

roasted brussel sprouts

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 26, 2009
TRY NUTMEG! I also roast them, with nutmeg as well as the salt, pepper and olive oil. Pinenuts sound good -- I'll try that.
March 26, 2009
Nutmeg? I would've never thought! I'll try it! That bottle of nutmeg on my spice rack has been sitting there long enough.
 
January 05, 2009
They really do roast incredibly well - it's like they were made for it. I roast them with red wine vinegar, apples, and bacon and it's actually an awesome dish (which surprised me considering the bad rep of the main ingredient!).
 
December 28, 2008
I love me some brussel sprouts. Mom roasts 'em and tosses some crumbled bacon in with them. Not the healthiest choice, but it's mighty yummy and a good way to convince people to at least give them a shot. I now roast them with garlic and salt. Mmmmm..
 
December 19, 2008
Thanks for the suggestions. I've always had them very plain with kosher salt, but pine nuts sound like a great addition. Rosemary? I'll give it a try.
 
December 19, 2008
LOL! I haven't had my coffee yet. ;)
 
December 19, 2008
LMAO @ "disgustingly testicular" ahahhaa. Hey, it's what nature or God or whoever gave us so give us a little credit here haha!
 
1
More Brussels Sprouts reviews
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2009
I enjoy 'em. Not a fav, by any stretch.
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2009
When I was a young girl, my mother told me that these would make my eyes sparkly if I ate them. Wrong-o.
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
I love them sauteed, but steamed is great too as long as they aren't overcooked. Mushy Brussels sprouts are not good.
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
The only vegetable I dislike. I swear! My sister says they taste like...little farts. I've never had one I've liked, and I've tried lots!
About the reviewer
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki


The Brussels (or brussels) sprout (Brassica oleracea Gemmifera Group) of the Brassicaceae family, is a Cultivar group of wild cabbage cultivated for its small (typically 2.5–4 cm (0.98–1.6 in) diameter) leafy green buds, which visually resemble miniature cabbages.
view wiki

Tags

Food, Gourmand, Recipes, Vegetables, Brussel Sprouts

Details

Polls with this food
Beets

What is Your Favorite Veggie?

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists