Healthy Lifestyle
Fitness, Nutrition and Overall Personal Wellness
Edamame

A preparation of baby soybeans in the pod commonly found in Japan, China and Korea.

< read all 14 reviews

Edamame is So Versatile!

  • Mar 4, 2010
Rating:
+5
Image Copyright - www.NovelEats.com

Lately I have been on an edamame kick, and it's probably thanks to having easy access through the nearby Trader Joe's and multiple Asian grocery stores.

Easy to Prepare

For one thing they are super easy to prepare as a snack food. Just toss the frozen soybeans in your steamer or boil on the stove for 10 or 15 minutes, add a little salt (or not) and then there you go. Perfect. Easy. Yummy.

You can also toss the cooked shelled beans into salad or stir fry (check out the vegetable and tofu stir fry I made a while back - turned out really great), or get really creative and make edamame hummus (Trader Joe's also sells a nice edamame hummus).

Great Health Benefits

Edamame is high in protein, making it a really great option for vegans who are concerned about their protein intake. It's also high in carbohydrates and fiber, and contains vitamins A and C, iron and calcium.

Where to Find

I've already mentioned Trader Joe's, but it can also be found in the frozen food section in your grocery store. Costco (and probably Sam's Club, too) sells large containers of it, and it's pretty much guaranteed to be found in your local Asian grocery store.

It is also typically not that expensive - around $2 or $3 for a 10-ounce package, and you can usually find it both as shelled or in the pod.

Tip - You'll always want to shell the beans before eating. The shell is too tough to be edible.

How do you eat your edamame?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
May 30, 2011
I LOVE edamame! Great review, thanks for sharing :)
August 03, 2011
How about arroz con edamame ?
August 03, 2011
Yum! Sounds good to me!
 
March 07, 2010
I love edamame, too!  You may have seen my edamame review, and I included a few of my favorite ways to have it.  My favorite is having it shelled with some lemon juice, salt and pepper, and mint leaves, I also add gruyere, but you can do without.  Great review, Samantha!  These really are very versatile :)
 
March 06, 2010
Roasted in the shell with sea salt. Yum.
 
March 06, 2010
Steamed and salted! I love using Himalayan salt or sea salt! :)
 
March 04, 2010
I made a simple and delicious dish featuring edamame last night: fry or saute cubed eggplant. Serve in a chunky sauce made from 12 oz. edamame pureed with a tsp each of soy sauce and mirin, more to taste.
 
March 04, 2010
I eat mine just how you described. Steamed and salted. (And shelled).
 
1
More Edamame reviews
review by . November 16, 2009
posted in Gourmand
Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :)
Just like how bananas are often thought of as a happy fruit (they're smiley-shaped, afterall!), edamame are like happy, smiley soybeans!  It's hard to believe that there was ever a time where I didn't enjoy edamame.  I wouldn't touch them even if they were a complimentary app at a Japanese restaurant, but I gave them a chance a couple of years ago and they've really grown on me.  In fact, I think I might be obsessed.  Now my freezer is always stocked with at least a bag or two.  …
Quick Tip by . May 10, 2011
posted in Love Bites
Caption
A popular appetizer in the Japanese cuisine although if one has them in a Japanese restaurants, it's darn expensive! I found them in supermarkets in Shanghai 2 years ago at dirt cheap prices. All one has to do is to simply boil them and they serve as a great snack! My alternative to chips!                 
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2011
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I just had edamame for the first time. I ate them steamed right out of the pod. Naturally tastes like buttered peas to me. Very tasty with lots of fiber. Will now be a staple for my weekly diet.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Edamame is the best appetizer in the world! All restaurants should serve edamame on the table instead of bread.
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
This is my favorite starter before eating sushi. So healthy and tasty.
Quick Tip by . March 23, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
I've become a big fan of Edamame over the past few years. Goes great in many pasta/rice dishes or as a side
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Love it.
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
There is nothing they do with edamame that I would not like. I love them boiled, dried and crunchy, hot flavored!
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Pods of happiness! Love this shelled & in salads :)
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in The Rice Table
Yum! I wish I ate edamame more, it's the perfect appetizer or snack.
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
My name is Samantha andIwrite www.NovelEats.com, a vegan food blog where I post recipes, how-to articles and advice for people who are considering incorporating vegan food into their diets. Ialso pride … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
noveleats
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Edamame is a preparation of baby soybeans in the pod commonly found in Japan, China and Korea. The pods are boiled in water together with condiments such as salt, and served whole.

Outside East Asia, the dish is most often found in Japanese restaurants and some Chinese restaurants, but has also found popularity elsewhere as a healthful food item.

Green soybeans in the pod are picked before they ripen. The ends of the pod may be cut before boiling or steaming.

The pods are then boiled in water or steamed. The most common preparation uses salt for taste. The salt may either be dissolved in the boiling water before introducing the soybean pods, or it may be added after the pods have been cooked.

Other condiments can also be used. Jiuzao, made from the highly fermented grain residue left over from the distilling of rice wine, can be used to add fragrance and flavor. Some recipes also call for Sichuan pepper for taste. Five-spice powder can also be used for flavoring.

Boiled soybean pods are usually served after cooling, but can also be served hot. The beans are consumed whole. Along with eating the beans whole, they can be used to make a variety of dishes. Packets of seasoning for edamame dip can be found in many Asian/Oriental sections of food markets.

The United States Department of Agriculture states that edamame are "a soybean that can be eaten fresh and is best known as a snack with a nutritional punch".

Edamame also contains protein, which further helps ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Beets

What is Your Favorite Veggie?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Healthy Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists