For the Love of Ireland, This Site Is For You
Guinness

Popular dry stout that originated in Arthur Guinness' brewery at St. James's Gate in Dublin, Ireland

< read all 11 reviews

Pioneering, unique stout

  • Nov 8, 2010
Rating:
+5
I am going to review Guinness Draft not as a beer snob but as a home brewer.  I don't drink much beer I buy because I brew enough mead and beer for myself and probably my friends too :-).

Guinness is one of those underrated beers which is great in part because of how it subtly differs from other stouts.  Folks either love stouts or hate the burned bitterness that characterizes them.  But Guiness goes a step further by adding a signature tanginess which comes from a small portion of the wort being left to undergo a separate, different sort of fermentation.

Guinness is brewed using a somewhat unusual method whereby a small portion of the wort is set aside and allowed to undergo a lactic acid fermentation before being skimmed, boiled, and added back to the main wort.  If you taste Guinness, you will note that it doesn't taste like a stout:  it has a tangy sourness that's not normally present.  That's the lactic acid from this secondary, "sour wort" brewing.  This is similar to the tang you expect from a nice sourdough bread (and actually it's an analogous process).

Sour worts are not generally favored by most breweries and home brewers because there is a view that they are hard to control (and hence consistency isn't as possible as it might be otherwise).  This is true, but Guinness has managed to master it.

So if you are looking for a unique, bitter, and tangy beer, Guinness is one of those you cannot ignore.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
August 05, 2011
I prefer dark beers and I love Guinness.
 
January 04, 2011
I don't know enough beer to write about it, much less to brew one myself! But I sure love the Guinness in Ireland!
 
November 10, 2010
*in my Homer voice*mmmm....Guinness....And, where do you live? I'll come by and help you and your friends out with that extra brew lol
 
November 09, 2010
Mmmmmm, I'm a Guinness fan, too.  Stout fan in general.  Have you seen this review of all the many possibilities of Guiness?  Think you might enjoy that one :P  Thanks for sharing this great review!
November 10, 2010
Wow. Thanks. Those treats look interesting!
November 10, 2010
I love root beer floats, so my favorite is that stout float! :D
 
1
More Guinness Draught reviews
review by . February 19, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
Everyone's heard of Guinness. even if you don't drink beer, you've heard of Guinness.  As the gentleman in the TV ads would say, their marketing is, "brilliant!" Unfortunately, their beer is awful!      The Pour   Upon pouring this into a pint glass, the first reaction is, “This is one beautiful beer!”  When you first pour it, it looks brown in the glass as it comes alive in the glass and releases bubbles into a gorgeous very light beige …
Quick Tip by . August 12, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
For me, the darker the better!!! If I can stand a spoon up in it, it is good to go!!! Great bitter taste. However, consider the fact that my favorite beer is free beer, and my all time favorite beer is, cold free beer!!!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
The perfect breakfast beer.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
my go to choice when having a beer. people think its heavy because of the color, but i find it so refreshing. it tastes healthy too, right?
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
Guinness is my chocolate milk.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2010
Great in Ireland, esp. Dublin but awful in the rest of the world. I'm no beer drinker but like it on the tap (in Ireland, ie)!
Quick Tip by . October 25, 2009
This stuff reminds me of used motor oil. Gross!
review by . February 27, 2009
I'm not too into dark beers, but Guinness does have a pretty nice, crisp finish.  I prefer it as part of a "black and tan" (half Guinness, half Bass Ale) but can certainly finish one or two pints of Guinness if I'm up to it.    One thing I've found is that it tastes INFINITELY better when it's super cold.  So if you're a slow sipper, you may find that the last few sips might be a little warm and not as tasty.  So bottoms up!  
review by . December 10, 2008
How a truly poured Guinness should look.
I have to begin by saying that I'm a little bias when it comes to beer. There are so many beers that I haven't tried, but of the ones that I have had, I can be very picky. I don't really care for American beers like Budweiser, Coors, Busch, etc. I really tend to enjoy mostly European beers. With that said, my view may be a little skewed.    I've tried Guinness several times over the years. It's of course a very dark beer, and has a strong taste that has never interested me. I've …
review by . December 10, 2008
Guinness is one of my favorite beers.  The thick, creamy brew feels like you're almost drinking a dessert.  Interestingly enough, a Guinness has less calories than the same amount of a regular beer, so it's good for girls who want to avoid calories when going out.  I love drinking one or two with my guy friends and really savoring the taste.  Although I've heard it's a million times better in Dublin, it's still a lot better then most domestic beers in the US.  "Lovely day …
About the reviewer
Chris Travers ()
   I live in a haunted house Beneath a tall and mighty tree   With my wife Mia and my sons Wilhelm and Conrad   Where I write software and carve runes   It is a … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
einhverfr
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this drink

Wiki

Here are some stats on Guiness compared to other beers:

A 12oz serving of Guinness has 125 calories, 9.8 grams of carbs and it’s alcoholic content is 4.2%. For comparison, 12 ounces of Budweiser is 150 calories and 11 grams carbs, 12 ounces of Heineken is 150 calories and 12.2 grams of carbs, 12 ounces of Corona Extra is 148 calories and 14.1 grams of carbs, and SURPRISE… a Sam Adams Light has 126 calories and 10.9 grams of carbs.



All the grain used by Guinness is grown in Ireland. The non-malt grains used in the domestic product is 25% flaked barley and 10% roasted barley. (MJBC p 181)


view wiki

Tags

Beer, Beers, Beersnob, Stout, Guinness, Dark Beers, Irish Stout, Stouts

Details

Type: Irish Stout, Dry Stout
Country: Ireland
Brewery: Guinness
ABV: 4.2%

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Irish Is Everything is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists