The Bluff
For all who love Loyola Marymount University!
Tompkins Square

A Bar and Grill in Westchester, California

< read all 9 reviews

The light of my life, Tompkins Square

  • Mar 26, 2010
Rating:
+5

Experience

Though Tompkins makes up only ¼ of my college experience, it holds a very significant place in my LMU history. Every single week my senior year, at least once a week, a drink or three would be shared with my dear LMU friends.

Best/Worst Part

Tompkins is totally Cheers. You will never walk into that place without running into a professor, classmate, or friend enjoying their fine selection of beers and burgers. Birthdays are celebrated on the regular. The bartenders are usually generous with the drinks, even when you ask them not to be.
 

Recommendation

Their food selection, although pricey, is really really good. Build your own burgers, sweet potato fries, cheese plates, and yummy mac and cheese. Bar food at its best.

The light of my life, Tompkins Square The light of my life, Tompkins Square The light of my life, Tompkins Square

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
More Tompkins Square reviews
review by . May 01, 2013
posted in The Bluff
Looks like the whole gang is here...don't mind if i chime in. Indeed that was a gutsy review by bateman, dishonoring our beloved lmu gem of a bar;gutsy but justified and i wouldnt expect it from anyone but baitman, who tends to put all his cards on the table regardless of how they may play out, an admirable quality in my opinion. I can only hope this review is half as gutsy yours bateman. Back to thompkins square, not fireside, but thompkins square, lets not confuse the two, that is my only qualm …
review by . April 14, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Experience          I must admit, this is a bit sacrilegious of me to write this review, since this is both a bar I frequent and am friends with0 (albeit casual) of the staff.  However, while Fireside (okay Tompkins Squared) is a great bar to go to on a casual night, or to watch a game, the bar continually fails to wow.        Unlike other bar rows (areas? strips?), the bars within rock throwing distance of LMU all tend to …
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in The Bluff
I've always absolutely hated macaroni and cheese, except for here. It's baked to perfection in a huge bowl with crab and bacon mixed in. Get it for happy hour.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Very cool place, just a stones throw away from the LMU Campus. Easily within walking(or stumbling distance) Outstanding selection of beers. Great atmosphere with a bunch of LMU memorabilia around. If you are there for food, try the Tri Tip Sandwich. Delicious! Interesting Fact: Look for the hidden item from the show "The Simpson". This bar is the bar that was the inspiration for Moe's from The Simpsons!
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Love grabbing a beer right before a game at T Squared! Burgers are to die for and always get the sweet potato fries!
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in The Bluff
all my friends keep talking good stuff about this place. i'll have to go soon. :)
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2009
One of my favorite bar and grills around! Always great for a burger and beer before an LMU basketball game!
About the reviewer
Aria Juliet Castillo ()
Ranked #2
I'm a graphic designer, originally from Hawaii and now I'm living it up in L.A.   I've been a vegetarian my entire life, but I am still obsessed with fast food, and I love eating … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ariajuliet
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this bar

Wiki

The Fireside Bar and Grill was an old Westchester landmark for decades, and now Tompkins Square looks to become the new landmark for generations to come. 

When the establishment was bought in 2004, the Tompkins had a dream to create a neighborhood bar that was as comfortable for their guests as it is for their regulars.  A place where you could catch the game on a big HD screen, enjoy great food and perhaps have a delicious draft beer. Three years later that dream became a reality.

Aside from the full bar, they have twenty beers on tap at The Square ranging from old favorites like Heineken and Bud light, to Pilsner Urquell and Chimay. The kitchen is sure to keep the meat lovers happy with all natural Niman Ranch burgers and steaks...but you'll also find an amazing selection of appetizers, salads, sandwiches and entrees to fit any appetite.

They welcome large parties and love to cook up something special for your event or dinner.  We're conveniently located on the corner of Manchester and Lincoln next to Italy's Little Kitchen.

Hours are 11am to 2am every day...but open at 9am on Sundays during football season for the NFL breakfast.  Happy hour every weekday from 4pm-7pm.
view wiki

Details

Address: 8522 Lincoln Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone: (310) 670-1212
Hours: 11am to 2am
Polls with this bar
Ayara Thai

Best Spots Off Campus

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Bluff is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists