Love of Foreign Films
A Lunch Community
Shaun of the Dead

A 2007 horror-comedy movie

< read all 18 reviews

"Shaun" is anything but dead; one of the best of the year

  • Jan 4, 2005
  • by
Rating:
+5
Let me begin by saying that I am a huge fan of horror-comedies. I mean, what are two of the strongest humor emotions? Fear and happiness. Horror-comedies mix these two elements, and if done correctly - which is no easy feat - you can have one darn fine movie. And "Shaun of the Dead" is just that. I've been looking forward to this movie since I first saw it advertised in U.S. theaters, and I can sincerely say that it lived up to the highest of my expectations.

Simon Pegg (who has gained some popularity overseas for performing in the British TV show "Spaced") stars as Shaun, a 30-year-old Brit who is stock with a crappy job and a crappy stepfather (Bill Nighy), among other things. Then there's his slacker best friend, Ed (Nick Frost). When his girlfriend Liz (Kate Ashfield) dumbs Shaun, it looks like his life has taken the final step towards hell.

But Shaun is given a chance to win back Liz, as well as fix things up with his mother (Nicola Cunningham) and stepdad. How? Simple: he just has to defend them all against a neighborhood full of zombies.

I've always been a fan of movies like "Evil Dead II", "Re-Animator", and George Romero's original "Dead" trilogy. As a fan, I can say that anyone else who liked those movies will love "Shaun of the Dead". The script, by Edgar Wright and star Pegg, knows when to bring in some comedy and when to let loose the horror. (When it does bring in horror, the casual moviegoer's stomach will no doubt flip - ever seen a man get ripped to pieces right in front of you, while he's still living, and his guts eaten?)

The cast is terrific, Pegg especially. You care about the characters, and the only one who I didn't care about was ... uh ... dealt with. Edgar Wright manages to make the film look like a comedy when there's something funny going on, but when there's any horror (especially towards the end of the film), his direction becomes quite dark.

What can I say? This is one of the best films of the year, and easily the best horror-comedy in years. I was entertained throughout the entire film. Hilarious and absorbing, "Shaun" is anything but dead.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Shaun of the Dead reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
I must have watched this film 100 times now, the more you watch it, the funnier it gets. Full of subtle human and not for the fainr of heart, its a film you definately have to sit down and pay attention to.
review by . April 11, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****    Edgar Wright is the kind of guy who I would best describe as nice. A director of comedy films - always has, always will be, I hope - , it's surprising that one of the genre's greatest minds working today does not succumb to the universal demands of the folks overseas. A filmmaker working primarily in his homeland United Kingdom, Wright isn't one to rely on gross-out gags or excessively crude humor. He does however seem to like blood a whole lot. But that's …
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I was not expecting to enjoy this movie at all. I am not much of a horror film fan, but this movie is funny and done very smartly. Nick Frost and Simon Pegg are the perfect comedy team in this movie.
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
totally stupid in a very funny way, i didn't think i would like it but i did.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Probably my favorite British cult favorite, a zombie movie is never this fun. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are an incredible duo.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
One of the greatest splatsticks ever, Shawn of the Dead takes the social commentary of early George Romero's zombie works, moves it to modern day London and adds a keen sense of British humor to it all. It's an entirely funny affair perfectly mixed with a bit of gore, cricket bats, vinyl records, the local pub and how the day in and day out routine of many people's lives is relatively no different than being a zombie. Outside of the biting people bit... in some cases.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
While this is a good movie, I don't like it as much as a lot of other people seem to.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This movie is a great mix of horror and comedy. Pegg is excellent as usual.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This horror-comedy is one of the best out there of its type.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A zomedy (zombie comedy). Quite funny and very good to watch wth friends.
About the reviewer
Tom Benton ()
Aspiring high school English teacher with dreams of filmmaking and a strong taste for music.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TomBenton
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Edgar Wright's horror-comedy film, SHAUN OF THE DEAD, follows the title character (Simon Pegg) through his mundane life in London. Joined by his immature and ever-present roommate, Ed (Nick Frost), Shaun excels at nothing except drinking pints of ale and watching television, which causes friction with his girlfriend, Liz (Kate Ashfield). Before Shaun can save his relationship, however, he's got to fend off a horde of zombies that are slowly taking over the city. Armed with a cricket bat and a vague sense of direction, Shaun must rescue his friends and loved ones, and bring them to the only safe place he can think of--the pub.

Cowritten by Wright and Pegg, SHAUN OF THE DEAD succeeds remarkably well at combining droll British humor with good, old-fashioned zombie cinema. While the movie is often hilariously amusing, it takes its horror pedigree seriously, offering up moments of genuine suspense, and even a healthy dose of gore. Pegg is oddly charming as the put-upon lead slacker, and Frost is ap...
view wiki

Details

Director: Simon Pegg
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: 2004, September 24, 2004
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Simon Pegg
Runtime: 1hr 39min
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Foreign Films is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists