Love of Foreign Films
A Lunch Community
Shaun of the Dead

A 2007 horror-comedy movie

< read all 18 reviews

The slowest (and funniest) zombies you've ever seen

  • May 23, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
Like a true American, I think everything is better with a British accent, and this zombie spoof is no exception.  I'm not sure it would be as funny if it were American-made, but that's rather besides the point.  Shaun and a group of his friends wind up running around London, rounding up his friends, ex-girlfriend, mother and father ("He's not my dad, he's my stepdad!") in order to protect them from the zombies suddenly taking over the city.  To give you an idea of how non-threatening these zombies are, one of my favorite scenes in the movie is when Shaun and his friend Ed are trying to stop some zombies coming after them in the backyard.  Between the two of them, they have a crate full of LPs, and they evaluate the records before throwing them at the zombies -- "Purple Rain" is a no-go, but the Batman soundtrack is okay to use as a weapon.  Awesome.

Don't forget to kill Philip!
Zombie mob Backseat zombie

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
January 27, 2009
That record rating scene is one of my 3 favorites as well. The other 2 are; the tribute to NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD ("WE'RE COMING TO GET YOU, BARBARA."), and when they encounter another group composed of people EXACTLY like them while on the way to the pub. Very funny stuff.
 
1
More Shaun of the Dead reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
I must have watched this film 100 times now, the more you watch it, the funnier it gets. Full of subtle human and not for the fainr of heart, its a film you definately have to sit down and pay attention to.
review by . April 11, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****    Edgar Wright is the kind of guy who I would best describe as nice. A director of comedy films - always has, always will be, I hope - , it's surprising that one of the genre's greatest minds working today does not succumb to the universal demands of the folks overseas. A filmmaker working primarily in his homeland United Kingdom, Wright isn't one to rely on gross-out gags or excessively crude humor. He does however seem to like blood a whole lot. But that's …
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I was not expecting to enjoy this movie at all. I am not much of a horror film fan, but this movie is funny and done very smartly. Nick Frost and Simon Pegg are the perfect comedy team in this movie.
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
totally stupid in a very funny way, i didn't think i would like it but i did.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Probably my favorite British cult favorite, a zombie movie is never this fun. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are an incredible duo.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
One of the greatest splatsticks ever, Shawn of the Dead takes the social commentary of early George Romero's zombie works, moves it to modern day London and adds a keen sense of British humor to it all. It's an entirely funny affair perfectly mixed with a bit of gore, cricket bats, vinyl records, the local pub and how the day in and day out routine of many people's lives is relatively no different than being a zombie. Outside of the biting people bit... in some cases.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
While this is a good movie, I don't like it as much as a lot of other people seem to.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This movie is a great mix of horror and comedy. Pegg is excellent as usual.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This horror-comedy is one of the best out there of its type.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A zomedy (zombie comedy). Quite funny and very good to watch wth friends.
About the reviewer
Kristin ()
I'm a... travel search marketer, news junkie, pop culture lover, and I'm Handing Out Hope (holler!).   
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kristin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Edgar Wright's horror-comedy film, SHAUN OF THE DEAD, follows the title character (Simon Pegg) through his mundane life in London. Joined by his immature and ever-present roommate, Ed (Nick Frost), Shaun excels at nothing except drinking pints of ale and watching television, which causes friction with his girlfriend, Liz (Kate Ashfield). Before Shaun can save his relationship, however, he's got to fend off a horde of zombies that are slowly taking over the city. Armed with a cricket bat and a vague sense of direction, Shaun must rescue his friends and loved ones, and bring them to the only safe place he can think of--the pub.

Cowritten by Wright and Pegg, SHAUN OF THE DEAD succeeds remarkably well at combining droll British humor with good, old-fashioned zombie cinema. While the movie is often hilariously amusing, it takes its horror pedigree seriously, offering up moments of genuine suspense, and even a healthy dose of gore. Pegg is oddly charming as the put-upon lead slacker, and Frost is ap...
view wiki

Details

Director: Simon Pegg
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: 2004, September 24, 2004
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Simon Pegg
Runtime: 1hr 39min
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Foreign Films is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists