MBlocal
MBlocal
Reviews from locals who know and care
China Grill (Manhattan Beach)

A contemporary Chinese cuisine resraurant

< read all 6 reviews

China Grill PWNS P.F. Chang's

  • Mar 18, 2011
Rating:
+4



I've been here several times now and each visit has been a very pleasant experience. I absolutely love specials, particularly when they're actually a great value (which China Grill definitely boasts). I also enjoy the fact that they don't charge extra for brown rice! (god forbid affordable healthy options). 


















So speaking of specials, I always get the chicken in black bean sauce with brown rice and hot and sour soup. The soup is quite good and the black bean chicken with the asparagus and roasted tomatoes are delicious. And all for under $10!

I'm sure most people are going to immediately compare China Grill to P.F. Chang's, and though they don't have as large of a menu, they don't have the high prices either. The quality of food is just as high, if not more so than P.F. Chang's, so it's a pretty easy no-brainer. Plus, when the owner comes to your table, refills your drinks, and asks how everything is doing, you know that service is very important to him, and it certainly is reflected in the staff.

China Grill is definitely one of my go-to places in Manhattan Beach, but if there is one gripe I have, it's that they NEED to change their fortune cookie vendor. "Fortune is one of your sweet cookies." is NOT a real fortune! =P

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 05, 2011
I missed fortune cookies since I left America. You know, you won't get to see those cookies in Asia!
May 05, 2011
lol, you're right! I never thought about that. I really want to go to China though!
 
1
More China Grill (Manhattan Beach) reviews
Quick Tip by . April 08, 2011
posted in MBlocal
China Grill has the best vegetable egg rolls I have ever had, they are not too greasy and they actually taste like something! I really love their wonton chips.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
great lunch specials and good prices. This place used to be in my regular lunch rotation, but sometimes parking can be a bear around the holidays.
Quick Tip by . March 28, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Great food and great spot for groups - I've always been for dinner though, should definitely check out for lunch!
Quick Tip by . March 24, 2011
posted in MBlocal
I dig their lunch specials! The Orange Chicken is pretty good!
Quick Tip by . March 19, 2011
posted in MBlocal
The wonton soup is really great! Its huge, has tons of wontons, pieces of white chicken, shrimp, and vegetables. Its also so big that its a full meal by itself.
About the reviewer
Tu Nguyen ()
Ranked #7
Member Since: Aug 27, 2010
Last Login: Nov 30, 2012 05:23 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
zephyr2050
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Our mission at China Grill Bistro is to provide unmatched service excellence and outstanding culinary execution to distinguish ourselves from the competition. We achieve this through no extraordinary means other than our dedication, commitment and creativity, while maintaining the highest ethical standards in our industry. Our guests, to be sure, are the most important people in the restaurant!

China Grill Bistro is the brainchild of Fernando, Roberto and Marcelino Chong (the Chong brothers as they are known), owners of the China Grill restaurant in Manhattan Beach and the various Chong’s restaurants in the South Bay.

It was, no less, thanks to the continued inspiration of friends and customers whose residences neighbor the restaurant, and who for many years had frequented the much more distant China Grill, that fueled in the Chong brothers the desire to open the Ws restaurant in March of 2003.


Fernando, Roberto and Marcelino are born of Chinese parents, but, as their names may insinuate it, their roots are deeply Latin. All three were born in Cuba, emigrating to Peru while still young toddlers where they were raised. They have lived uninterruptedly in the South Bay since 1975.

It wouldn’t be unusual to see either Fernando or Roberto pacing the dining room any given evening chatting with friends in their impeccable perfect Spanish.


 
...
view wiki

Details

Address: 3282 N. Sepulveda Bl. Manhattan Beach, CA. 90266
Phone: (310) 546-7284
Hours: Mon-Thu: 11:00 till 9:30pm; Friday: 11:00 till 10:00pm; Saturday: 12:00 noon till 10:00pm; Sunday:12:00 noon till 9:30pm
Cuisine: Contemporary Chinese, Chinese
Price: $$
Attire: Casual
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MBlocal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists