MBlocal
MBlocal
Reviews from locals who know and care
Four Daughters Kitchen

restaurant in Manhattan Beach, CA

< read all 12 reviews

My current lunchtime crush.. feels like home!

  • Apr 13, 2010
Rating:
+3

General: why is this unique and different?
Perfect vibe, atmosphere, and decor, set things off to an awesome start.  Very "beachy" - just what I expect most South Bay spots to be, yet am often let down.  In this case, it literally felt like home to me.  It was just casual and easy, with good attention to detail and a light, happy, sunny color scheme.  They have the same plates I have in my own kitchen, laid back sort of worn-in chairs, and pictures on the wall of the actual "four daughters" ... 4 precious sundrenched blond toddlers who reminded me a lot of my own little one ; )

The service is good, not amazing, but just fine.  Servers are my favorite kind - they don't really interrupt and just blend into the overall atmosphere.
 
Restaurants: favorite menu item?
So far, I've only tried one dish -- their signature lunch sandwich, the SBLT.  What's the "S" for you're wondering? 

Shrimp. 

I know, right?  I was dubious, but it was fantastic.  Fresh, light, and a really unique take on my frequent BLT order.  But it was the bread that also made it.  Light, yet just doughy enough. Fantastic.  The shoestring fries are very solid too - and that's saying something since they're actually one of my least favorite varieties of fry (yes, I'm a fry conosiour of sorts =).  I've tried the dish w/ the side salad instead, but found the salad was identitcal to what was on the sandwich (same lettuce and tomatoes).

Restaurant: best value on menu or wine list?
Best value?  How about the FREE and delicious, fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies!?  I had them the first two visits, but came late after the lunch rush my third time, so they were gone by then.  Lovely feature... a real "why, are those for moi!?" moment ; )

That said, I'm sadly not actually that value oriented (much to the horror of our dear founder, @jrjohnson).  If it's fun, has a good vibe, is quality service/product and sucks me in enough to get a crush on it, I sort of go with the flow... short of being heinously robbed. 

Restaurant: best day/time? food/deal specials?
I've only been for lunch, and it's not overly packed at all even during peak times. This does make me wonder if it'll last though. I imagine weekend brunch is much more crowded.  Need to take note of the wine specials next time, and update this - pretty sure they have some good selection and deals.

General: if you moved would you miss this and why?
I would miss this place, and actually worry whether it can hack the tough restaurant scene long enough to survive.  Mainly I'd miss that unique SBLT, which you can't find elsewhere that I know of.  Big fan of the overall ambience too.

 

My current lunchtime crush.. feels like home! My current lunchtime crush.. feels like home!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
April 15, 2010
Nice review! It's all about the SBLT hands down! To be honest I'll probably never get anything else when I go there. It's just that good...
 
April 13, 2010
Great review! I'm glad that calling you out in my email inspired some reviewing ;) it worked!! As much as you've been there i can't believe you've only had the SBLT... I'm looking forward to when you get brave enough to sample some more of the menu.
 
1
More Four Daughters Kitchen reviews
review by . March 25, 2010
posted in MBlocal
This Shrimp BLT Is Amazing!
Experience:   Four Daughters is a great restaurant with a classic beach feel to it.  From the outside you can tell you're in for some awesome boutique food. When you walk inside, the place is homey and comfortable. With the windows open you can feel the fresh beach breeze, which is perfect on a warm day. The employee are all nice and the service is good as well.      Favorite Dish:   My favorite item on the menu is the SBLT or the Shrimp BLT. May sound …
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2010
Awesome place for breakfast and lunch. The ambiance does not really suit for dinner, but if you can get over that, the food is great. For breakfast all of the scrambles are a must get. The El Porto and sausage are the go to's. The color scheme reminds me of a South Carolina beach house. The staff is amazing. Always a smile on their faces and let you relax and not push the "get em in and get em out" mentality of a bunch of local restaurants.
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Love 4DK! If you like North End Cafe, you will love this place. Great spot to grab b-fast or a relaxing dinner. Chef Sean knows his stuff!
Quick Tip by . May 20, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Was there when they had the 'cubano' sando special. Best I have ever had, no joke. Small menu but good. Look out Northend..
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Try the El Porto Scramble with cappuccino and i dare you to eat breakfast elsewhere!
Quick Tip by . May 06, 2010
Best espresso in the South Bay good food better ambience = a winner.
Quick Tip by . April 02, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Shrimp BLT, Chipotle Chkn, burgers and fish dishes (dinner) all great. Serve beer & wine, outdoor seating is a +
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in MBlocal
loving this place right now - feels like home to me, and the SBLT is fantastic, despite seeming like an odd combo
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Great breakfast egg sandwich and delicious lattes. Nice morning place but has limited seating.
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Nice, welcoming ambience. Solid, high quality food. Best espresso in town (no joke).
About the reviewer
Melissa ()
Ranked #5
Really loyal, a little more lippy than I'd wish, love love love the beach and all things tropical, sneeze freakishly loud, love the F word, came of age in the Midwest during the 80's, get a lot … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
lyssachttr
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

http://www.fourdaughterskitchen.com/

Four Daughters Kitchen
3505 N. Highland Avenue,
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266.
Telephone:     310-545-2444

E-mail: info@fourdaughterskitchen.com

Our breakfast and lunch menus offer something for the whole family, served up at affordable prices with lots of love! Our dinner menu is getting finalized and we are excited to introduce dinner in late-February (5pm - 10:30pm)
view wiki

Details

Address: 3505 N. Highland Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266.
Phone: 310-545-2444

Polls with this restaurant
Four Daughters Kitchen

Best Breakfast

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MBlocal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists