MBlocal
MBlocal
Reviews from locals who know and care
Cafe in Manhattan Beach

a restaurant in Manhattan Beach (also known as North End Cafe)

< read all 16 reviews

Hidden Gem of the South Bay

  • Jan 15, 2011
Rating:
+5

North End Caffe is the best spot in Manhattan Beach to get a killer breakfast! North End is a privately owned, 'real food' type joint. When I mean they serve real food..it means they skimp on nothing about the grub. Huge portions, homemade, well-thought, super high quality ingredient combinations and first come, first serve seating. This place is packed all the time (especially during brunch on weekends) so come prepared to fight for a table.
 

Restaurants: favorite menu item?
My favorite items on the menu for breakfast are:
The Laird - Huge plate of egg whites (seasoned perfectly and cooked to be light and fluffy), corn and flour tortillas (steaming hot) and spicy guacamole (guac covered in salsa rojo and cilantro). I make little egg white and guac burritos that are DELISH.
Exceptional Fruit Bowl - Get to North End before they run out of this amazing item (typically around 11am on weekends). Chalk full of blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, papaya, mango, pineapple, kiwi and other (expensive) seasonal fruit...you won't find a cantaloupe or melon anywhere in site! It will run you $10 bucks but its worth it!

Restaurant: best value on menu or wine list?
Everything on the menu is a 'value'. The portions are HUGE, so remember to ask for a to-go box.

Restaraunt: best day/time? food/deal specials?
My favorite time to go to North End is during brunch on the weekend but the best time to go is during dinner during the week. Every evening they have hearty, comfort food specials (think spaghetti bolognese, short ribs and polenta, etc) that will rock your world for dinner.
 

General: if you moved would you miss this and why?
North End is like cheers. The owners are always there working behind the counter and in the kitchen, if you're a manhattan local, you will always run into someone you know and the food is ALWAYS hot, fresh and oh so good. North End represents everything that is great about a small local restaurant that everyone loves.
 

Hidden Gem of the South Bay Hidden Gem of the South Bay

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More North End Caffe reviews
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Great breakfast sandwiches - I often eat them for lunch.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
They now have beer and wine here. makes this an even more compelling option for dinner! Check out the specials board on the back wall. Recently, that's all i look at.
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in MBlocal
great food, but be prepared to struggle finding a seat. Since they were featured on the Food Network, the place it packed on weekend for breakfast and lunch. I can't recommend one item over another because they are all boutique and delicious on their own way. Check out the special board, experiment and try something new!!
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
The Laird is a healthy, tasty option for breakfast. Egg whites, tortilla and guacamole! Ole!
review by . September 10, 2010
   I just got finished with another flawless meal at the North End Cafe in Manhattan Beach. It's been about 6 months that I've deprived myself of my favorite breakfast on earth! The breakfast tacos never fail to be anything but perfect. Beyond flavorful, more than filling, and no guilt after eating the whole plate..........including the amazing seasoned potatoes! Thank you North End for being walking distance from me!
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
posted in MBlocal
It's all about the Vaughn sandwich!
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
Great food. Haven't had a meal miss yet. The Vaughn and The Shellback keep me coming back on a regular basis
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in MBlocal
My favorite restaurant for breakfast/lunch in Manhattan Beach! unbelievable sandwich selection -- My fav: shellback
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in MBlocal
My personal fav breakfast item ? The Tani: egg, turkey, cheese, guac, tortilla. Unique and delicious.
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2010
posted in MBlocal
full review to follow shortly. great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. casual, order at counter, but high quality grub. one of my favs
About the reviewer
Susan Edds ()
Ranked #14
I was born in East Amherst, NY...lived there for 13 years before moving to Vadnais Heights, MN. I spend 5 years in MN, decided it was too darn cold there and ventured onto college in Phoenix, AZ at Arizona … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Savvygirl
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

North End Caffe in Manhattan Beach serves breakfast and brunch and has a variety of sandwiches and paninis. They also carry a large selection of coffees and teas.

they now serve dinner too!!

Address
3421 Highland Ave
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
(310) 546-4782
www.northendcaffe.net
view wiki

Details

Address: 3421 Highland Ave Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

Polls with this restaurant
Four Daughters Kitchen

Best Breakfast

by

First to Review

"Love the "North End"!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MBlocal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists