MBlocal
MBlocal
Reviews from locals who know and care
Simmzy's

Gastro Pub in downtown Manhattan Beach, CA

< read all 10 reviews

Refreshing new addition to the Manhattan Beach restaurant scene

  • May 9, 2009
Rating:
+5
Great Vibes!  That's the first thing i think of when i think of Simmzy's.  This place has only been open a couple of weeks but i've already found myself there 6 times.  Crazy, I know.  I'm not a huge beer drinker so i didn't think i would really like this place that much, but i'm really liking it so far.  I might burn out on it, but odds are this will be in the rotation for a while.  

Size.  The restaurant is small and therefore normally looks crowded.  But even when i is jam packed, it still maintains a good feel.  The open floor plan really makes you feel comfortable even when there are a lot of people sitting and even standing in the small bar area.

Build out.  They did a great job with the place.  I can't imagine total size of the place (front and back of house) is more than 1500 sq feet so it must have been challenging to get everything in there.  The way the have the slopping roof allows a lot light and fresh air to reach even the few seats that tucked toward the rear of the restaurant.  BTW... the two bar seats furthest from the street are my favorite, because you can sit and look into the kitchen... i know, not normally what you want, but i really enjoyed having a birds eye view of all the food coming out.

Menu:  it is VERY boutique.  From the burgers to the salads to the sandwiches... there isn't much that you would have seen before.  They have taken a very cool spin on some old favorites.  I will elaborate on some specific items later. 

Breakfast: They serve breakfast on the weekends and one of the items is a French Toast Bread Pudding.  Whoa. Combining two of the best food items ever into one dish... i can't wait to try this one.  I've had the Hangover Scramble and the Toads in a Hole.  Both very tasty.  The scramble comes with sundried tomatoes that i ended up picking out just because they can be overwhelming.  UPDATE 4/1/10:  I've had the breakfast burrito a couple times now... and it is GREAT.  Not your traditional breakfast burrito because it's not all egg and potatoes, but rather some pork with a tasty dipping sauce, and i'm not a big sauce person. UPDATE 11/23/10: Okay, they slightly changed the breakfast burrito by replacing the chili verde pork with pulled pork.  It's still great as long as you ask for the au jus because without it, the burrito is a little bland.  Also, it pairs really well with my favorite beer Racer 5.

Price:  It's not cheap.  The portions are smaller than what you would get at a chain restaurant and none of the burgers or sandwiches come with sides.  This really kind of adds to the boutique nature of the menu, but if you are starving and looking to get a of food for the money, then you would probably be disappointed.

Beer:  It's hard to be disappointed with the beer selection.  They have 24 beers on tap.  From what i can tell (i'm not a beer expert), it's a great selection from light to heavy and something i really like is how they display the alcohol content.  This is a nice feature because some beers will have twice the alcohol of another... and if you don't know what you drinking, that really wreck your night.  UPDATE11/23/10: I'm now drinking a lot Racer 5 IPA because of Simmzys.

Wine:  I wasn't terribly impressed with the wine selection on my first couple visits.  It seemed a little pricey, and the Pinot Noirs were limited which is what i normally order.  They break down their list in a creative way... they call it "Good", "Great", and "Where did they find this"  I'm not sure what the different distinctions are.  I need to take a more thorough look at the wine list before i make my final judgment, but it's really hard to have a glass of wine over one of the many beers they have on tap if you're in the mood for an adult beverage.  

View:  Part of the allure of this restaurant is the open air dining.  That is very rare in Manhattan Beach, so i've really enjoyed sitting outside and some of the tables even get an ocean "peak", see my pic looking down at the water.  You get a little horizon shot which is better than nothing.

Conclusion:  I'm really digging this new place in town!  Right out of the gates they seem to have the operations down pat and the food is coming out of the kitchen looking great already.  I will keep working through the menu and report my findings here.
Simmzy's Manhattan Beach, CA Night Simmzy's Manhattan Beach, CA Ocean View Simmzy's Manhattan Beach, CA Simmzy's Manhattan Beach, CA Kitchen Simmzy's Manhattan Beach, CA Bratwurst

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 18, 2009
Oh yes..I imagine it's a hard job going through the food and booze menu but, someone has to do it, right? Like @Butter said, it looks great on the outside and I wanted to try it out but, was using you as a guinea pig lol. You survived so I guess you'll have some help on your menu mission. Great review.
 
May 09, 2009
I can't wait to try this place. Looks great from the outside and your review makes it sound very desirable.  But where are these aforementioned photos?  I don't see them anywhere.
 
May 09, 2009
Be sure the check out the brat -- It's a quite a bit more "froofy" than anything you'd find in Green Bay, but it sure was tasty with all the fixin's.
 
1
More Simmzy's reviews
review by . March 28, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Love simmzy's!   It must be the loudest place in town, what fun!  I can yell anything at all at passer's by and they never know who yelled it.  Can't wait for the balconys over the sidewalk at the new place where Beache's used to be.  One word: Beer Bottle Bombs on the sidewalk (or lugies, LOL!)
Quick Tip by . January 15, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Manhattan's first gastro pub with tons of boutique beers and high-end bar food. Food looks amazing but is only a bit better than average. Always packed and always showing the latest sports game on one of their 6+ flatscreens.
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in MBlocal
For breakfast get the breakfast burrito, but make sure to get the au jus with it. Sometimes they don't serve it with the burrito so you have to ask. without the au jus, the burrito is average... with it... one of the best food items in Manhattan Beach. I use 2 servings of au jus per burrito. Racer 5 pairs well with it. See my full review for more tips.
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in MBlocal
For breakfast get the breakfast burrito, but make sure to get the au jus with it. Sometimes they don't serve it with the burrito so you have to ask. without the au jus, the burrito is average... with it... one of the best food items in Manhattan Beach. I use 2 servings of au jus per burrito. Racer 5 pairs well with it. See my full review for more tips.
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2010
posted in MBlocal
No Corking Fee..Corking Fee..No Corking Fee..Corking Fee..Can they make up their minds already?! Other than that, best burgers in Manhattan!
Quick Tip by . May 12, 2010
posted in MBlocal
I don't generally go for fancy food just for the sake of being fancy, but the bratwurst was incredible!
Quick Tip by . April 02, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Love the menu (burger, pulled pork, ahi tuna salad) and fantastic beers on tap such as Allagash White & Magic Hat.
review by . May 21, 2009
posted in MBlocal
I will follow with a more in-depth review at some point, however, I wanted to point out two really nice things about Simmzy's:    Alcohol Content listed next to the price on the beer menu. This is really cool and let me tell you why. Craft brewed beer generally contains between 4% and 10% alcohol. I have had experiences at breweries and pubs where I have had 2 beers but since they were high in alcohol it feels like 4 beers. Not cool if you are driving. Seeing the level of alcohol …
review by . May 09, 2009
posted in MBlocal
This place recently opened in downtown Manhattan Beach (next to Starbucks) and I have to agree with @jrjohnson's  review of Simmzy's,this place has a great, great feel to it.  It occupies a small space that opens up onto the street and has a very breezy feeling.  A big chalkboard lists the 24 beers that are on tap at the time (they rotate beers when they find new, worthy additions).  While the space is tiny, it has such a classy, relaxed vibe (complete with a mirror-mural of …
About the reviewer
J.R. Johnson ()
Ranked #1
If you're looking for some more company related stuff about me... it's on my bio page here.      Also, here's a family surf video from our recent wedding. Family = good … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jrjohnson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Details

Address: 229 Manhattan Beach Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone: (310) 546-1201
Cuisine: Pubs, American
Attire: Casual
Polls with this restaurant
Four Daughters Kitchen

Best Breakfast

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MBlocal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists