MJJCommunity
Michael Jackson's Fans From Nation 2 Nation
Trial of Dr. Conrad Murray set to start in January

A trial of Dr. Conrad Murray in connection with Michael Jackson's death.

< read all 2 reviews

Will Michael Jackson and his family ever get the justice they deserve?

  • Sep 10, 2010
Rating:
+5
Here is a clip from MTV news on the latest news of the trial of Dr. Murray:

More than a year after Michael Jackson’s death, the pop icon’s former personal physician, Dr. Conrad Murray, was in court Monday (August 23) where a judge finally set a preliminary date of January 4, 2011, in the cardiologist’s involuntary-manslaughter trial.

TMZ reported that Murray’s legal team won a request to get a fluid sample from Jackson as part of their defense strategy questioning the accuracy of levels of the surgical anesthetic propofol found in Jackson’s body. The Los Angeles County Coroner’s office determined that Jackson, 50, died as a result of acute propofol intoxication.

Murray has pleaded not guilty to a felony charge of involuntary manslaughter and has admitted to giving Jackson propofol, a strong anesthetic usually used during surgery but allegedly employed by chronic insomniac Jackson as a sleep aid. Murray’s lawyers have said the physician did not administer any drugs that “should have” caused Jackson’s death. The investigation into his death was equally lengthy, lasting more than eight months, after which Los Angeles prosecutors charged that Murray gave the King of Pop a lethal combination of propofol and other painkillers and sedatives in the hours before the singer was found dead in his rented Los Angeles mansion on June 25, 2009. Murray faces up to four years in prison if convicted.

After hearing from both sides in the case at the January court date, the judge, Michael Pastor, will determine if there is enough evidence to mount a full trial.

Jackson’s mother and father, Katherine and Joseph, were in court on Monday, according to Radar Online, sitting in the front row as Judge Pastor set the preliminary hearing date. Pastor granted a protective order covering all evidence in the criminal case, meaning it cannot be released to anyone other than the lawyers, paralegals and investigators in the case.

Murray’s defense team reportedly asked for access to three fluids collected by the coroner’s office, including ones taken from syringes and an IV tube to re-examine test results. Pastor ruled that the coroner’s office must preserve the samples, and if defense attorneys and prosecutors cannot agree on the request, he will schedule a hearing on the matter.


Personally, this is getting rather aggravating for me.  Despite the fact that we're talking about Michael Jackson, I would still be getting annoyed no matter who the victim was.  I cannot for the life of me, ever figure out why there is a question as to whether "there is enough evidence to mount a full trial" - how much more evidence do they need in order to see that this so called Dr. committed involuntary manslaughter?  

I am very passionate about injustice; and this is truly an injustice for sure.  There have been questions raised such as "Should he be convicted; after all, Michael Jackson asked for the drugs to help him sleep" - this is not the point!  It does not matter if he asked for it or not, the simple fact is he was addicted and NO doctor had the right to feed this addiction just because of who MJ was.  Murray and every other doctor in the world takes the Hippocratic oath, and Murray certainly did not abide by this oath in any way.  He saw dollar signs and simply did not care about Jackson's health.  This is quite obvious seeing as how he deliberately tried to cover up his mistake while Michael laid on his bed with no heart beat, waiting until there was no hope for MJ to be revived, before he bothered to call for help.  There are so many discriminating facts that I find it hard to believe there should be any question as to whether he committed manslaughter.   

As far as evidence goes - there is plenty of it.  The amount of drugs in his system is proven, and for Murray to have the nerve to say he was "trying to wean him off Propofol" is ridiculous.  There is NO protocol for weaning one off Propofol because no one is ever addicted to this drug in the first place as it is only used in an operating room for anesthesia.  He had no business whatsoever giving him the drug in the first place, and anyone with even a little bit of sense would realize that the cocktail of drugs given to Michael was lethal.

I have said it before, I'll say it again; if Joe Blow from the street asked Murray to give him drugs such as the ones MJ was given, would Murray have given it to him?  No, because Joe Blow is not a famous and rich celebrity.

I have found myself so angry at this injustice it makes me ill.  No one deserves to be fed an addiction, no matter who or what you are.  No one deserves to have a doctor who's only thought was of money - and a cardiologist at that.

I hope justice will eventually be served.  Yes, MJ was hopelessly addicted, he had problems that no one but him would ever understand, but it is still no excuse for incompetency of a doctor.  There were many physicians, even Michael's PA, who refused to put the star's life in danger by giving him what he wanted, and they can still sleep at night knowing they had no part in his death. 

In my opinion, if this was a police officer, an FBI agent, a politician, or anyone else with prestige, you can bet there would be no question as to Murray's guilt (as well as it should be) but I can't get over the feeling that since it was the controversial Michael Jackson, too many questions have been raised and justice has not been served in the correct manner.  

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
October 05, 2011
What do you think of it now that it's in full swing? I can't believe how much evidence there is against this scumbag. At first I thought he was just a sham, now he has become a full blown scumbag- what with all the girlfriends and recording MJ when he was incredibly vulnerable and on the edge of death's bed, constant lies, no emotion....it's ridiculous.
October 16, 2011
I agree with you completely Sam I watched a few days of it off and on and could not believe the girlfriends, children, and the fact he is not even board certified! Lost of evidence against this scumbag and I hope the jury sees it our way. 4 years in prison is not enough for this guy and I certainly hope he's in general population cuz I'm sure there are some inmates who won't appreciate him being there LOL It's a shame though that MJ had to resort to going to someone like him for his drug habit -- it seems there was no hope for him at all; he was in way too deep. I can't get over all the drugs they found and am surprised MJ lived as long as he did. Thanks for the comment Samantha!!
October 17, 2011
Brenda!!!! I missed you :) Yes, I think it's ridiculous. You'd think MJ would have enough people around him that cared to research a qualified doctor for the job. It's so sad to think that his life ended this way. But, I agree with you- the amount of drugs is astounding...I could NEVER take even the smallest amount of that amount and live. I'm glad he's not taking the stand- makes him look even more guilty. I just hope he ends up in general population too- he'd be dead by the end of his first day.
October 17, 2011
I read the book "The Michael Jackson Tapes" written by the rabbi that tried to help him get his life back after the molestation allegations and unfortunately MJ listened to no one who had his best interest at heart; not even his own mother whom he worshiped could help him. When his "good" friends tried to help, he would walk away and completely dismiss them, including the rabbi himself. Kenny Ortega and others who were involved in his upcoming tour tried to convince MJ to have a doctor for him while he would be living in England, but MJ refused saying he wanted Dr. Murray. I find it discouraging that he was around so many people who used him for his money, such as Murray, but that he would not pay attention to the ones who truly cared for him. He was hooked so bad I don't believe anything could have stopped him. I agree with you too about the amount of drugs he was taking; the Ativan alone in that amount would kill some people and how he even functioned at all is beyond me!!! And yeah, general pop would not be good for him--he'd definitely be an MJ fan's bitch at a point before getting slaughtered!!!
October 17, 2011
That is so sad. I've been around addicts before and truly, the only way you can make a difference, even above saving them from an overdose, is to leave them be and practice tough love. It's definitely not easy but, that's how I've helped friends and family before. It's crazy how lonely and screwed up actually living your dream can make your life.
October 18, 2011
You're absolutely right - and as far as MJ goes, he had the power to make the world a little better, which he tried his whole life to do and accomplished it also, but that power also ruined him since so many bad people wanted a part of that power. And you're also right about how lonely he was even though he was living his dream. Sad stuff Sam...
 
September 14, 2010
Great review, Brenda. I don't want to rush to judgment because I don't know the real facts of the case, but you bring up many good and valid arguments. Thanks for sharing!
September 14, 2010
I've been keeping with all of this since it happened; I never believe what is written in the tabloids, however I do keep up with the news about MJ's death; I am very passionate with the whole subject since it was so unavoidable and tragic. I hate to see anyone get by with anything like this, especially a doctor. Thank you for reading Devora.
September 16, 2010
Agreed, the idea of a doctor enabling a patient in such a way is just so wrong. Well, I guess the jury will decide that. This isn't the only case like this in the news right now, there's also the Anna Nicole Smith case. Very sad.
 
September 11, 2010
Such a thought-provoking write up...I don't see it as fun because of the topic being discussed but it is fun to read a sincere opinion. Nice one, Brenda!
September 11, 2010
LOL it's not a fun topic is it? It makes me angry and I did feel a little better after writing it and I'm glad you liked it! I want justice! Where is the justice?? LOL
 
1
More Trial of Dr. Conrad Murray reviews
Quick Tip by . November 19, 2011
posted in MJJCommunity
Caption
I have not heard from the MJ Community about your thoughts on the outcome of Murray's trial.  I watched parts of it here and there, got disgusted at the blank look on his face as if he had no idea why he was being tried, and then I was very happy the jury found him guilty. However, it seems his sentence will not be long enough for the damage he did.  Up to 4 years, and will probably only serve a few months.  What's your opinion on it?  I think he should get a longer sentence; …
About the reviewer
Brenda ()
Ranked #1
I love to read mysteries and thrillers; I am addicted to scary psychological thrillers and horror movies; "The Exorcist" and "Silence of the Lambs" being 2 of my favorites. I love … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Butterfly1961
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Cardiologist Conrad Murray joined Jackson's camp in May 2009 as part of Jackson's agreement with AEG Live, the promoter of his London concerts. Murray first met Jackson in Las Vegas  when the doctor treated one of the singer’s children. AEG Live said the singer insisted the company hire Murray to accompany him to England.  Murray said through his attorney that he did not prescribe or administer Pethidine or Oxycodone to Jackson, but did not say what, if anything, he did prescribe or administer.  Los Angeles police said the doctor spoke to officers immediately after Jackson's death, and during an extensive interview two days later. They stressed that they found "no red flag" and did not suspect foul play.  On June 26, police towed away a car used by Murray, stating that it might contain medication or other evidence. The police released the car five days later.

Politician and minister Jesse Jackson, a friend of Michael Jackson's family, said that the family was concerned about Murray's role. "They have good reason to be [...] he left the scene." Over the next few weeks, law enforcement grew increasingly concerned about the doctor, and on July 22 detectives searched Murray's medical office and storage unit in Houston, removing items such as a computer and two hard drives, contact lists and a hospital suspension notice. On the 27th, an anonymous source reported that Murray had administered propofol within 24 ...
view wiki

Tags

Law, Michael Jackson, Doctors, Trials, Dr Conrad Murray, Criminal Trials, Celebrity Trials

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MJJCommunity is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists