MJJCommunity
Michael Jackson's Fans From Nation 2 Nation

"You Rock My World" - MJ's Best When Others Counted Him Out

  • Jul 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Let's all have a "Shamoment of Silence" before I give you a review of a lesser know work by Michael Jackson.  The song might ring familiar with many of you, but the cinematic expression might have been lost in the shuffle.

Since Michael Jackson's death, comments on his greatness have been overwhelming.  Many mention the "Thriller" video as his great work.  Now, I still think "Thriller" was a groundbreaking accomplishment, but I decided to dig a little deeper.  It's easy to pull a reference from the height of his fame, but what about after people had counted him out.

In 2001 he made a short film.  I call it a short film because of it's length 13:30 relative to the length of the actual song.  The dialogue is great too.  If you think this is a normal video, I would have you check out the cast list:
  • Chris Tucker - lots of his lines are other MJ songs...clever
  • Marlon Brando - quiet but obviously in charge
  • Michael Madsen - intimidating
  • Billy Drago - taunting
Are you kidding me?  Who but the King of Pop could have pulled this together?  The concept is simple enough, but the execution was genius.  There were new dance moves...the stuff between 10:15 and 10:45 is almost pure gold.  The crew is in perfect sync and then MJ pulls off some moves that are almost out of this world.   Then there is Michael "acting" like a tough guy and a ladies man with some degree of believability.  Who knew Chris Tucker could move like that either? 

Don't get me wrong, this was still MJ post-too much plastic surgery and his look and the situation brought flashbacks of Jim Carey in "The Mask".

I also considered "Remember The Time" starring Eddie Murphy, Iman and Magic Johnson, but "You Rock My World", won out.  The RTT vid/film was a bit obscure too, but it WAS made in 1992 when MJ was still "it".  YRMW had even MORE star power and a better story and it was all after people labled Michael a freak.

You can see "Remember The Time" on YouTube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-R643VksdxU

RIP MJ - Now you can Moonwalk on the Moon!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
19
Post a Comment
July 20, 2009
Hi.....thanks for posting this....I'll check it out on Youtube. What a cast. I follow many musicians....musically, I'm all over the place and often enjoy cuts from albums that are only remotely popular.....sometimes those cuts are even more interesting than the ones getting all the attention....
July 20, 2009
I hear ya @DonnaL1. Sometimes the stuff the label decides we should like the best just ain't so.
 
July 14, 2009
great review! still wrapping my head around the "shamoment of silence" = ) that's all kinds of fantastic.
July 14, 2009
True Story: I do some video production for a living and we went to this woman's house and she was BLASTING Michael Jackson. I turned to one of my co-workers and said "phew...I just had a shamoment". That was just like 2 weeks before he died.
 
July 14, 2009
My fave is Smooth Criminal that was taken from the short film, Moonwalker. Is that the same as YRMW? I thought it was but, maybe I'm wrong..it's been known to happen! I wrote about Thriller because it had the most impact but, I have to get off my behind and write one for Smooth Criminal. Netflix doesn't have it, I looked. Nice review...I love YRMW too...that darned MJ, I can't make up my mind LOL! It's like asking about your all-time favorite Stevie Wonder song...impossible!
July 14, 2009
I agree with you, it is tough to choose one work from a legend. I wouldn't even THINK of trying to do it based on the song alone. I could only go by the video projects and then only the ones that are in the "short film" category. I never saw Moonwalker, but now I wanna! Moonwalker was done in 1988 and YRMW was filmed in 2001 so no World Rocked on the Moon Walk.
 
1
About the reviewer
Jeff Daly ()
Member Since: Jul 13, 2009
Last Login: Mar 4, 2013 03:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dalydose
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

You Rock My World" is a song by American recording artist Michael Jackson from his tenth, and final, studio album Invincible (2001). The song was released as the lead single from the album in August 2001 by Epic Records. The lyrics pertain to being in love and trying to gain a female's affection. Produced by Jackson and Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins and co-written by Jackson, Jerkins, Fred Jerkins III, LaShawn Daniels and Nora Payne, the song is musically a disco pop song with influences from Jackson's' songs from his previous studio albums with Quincy Jones.

The song received mixed reviews from music critics, with reviewers commenting that Jackson could have made a better effort for the song and that the song was not his best material, while other reviewers generally praising the song's composition and Jackson's vocal performance. "You Rock My World" was commercially successful worldwide. The song peaked at number ten on the Billboard Hot 100, becoming Jackson's first top ten single in the United States in over six years, and his last top ten single in the country for the remainder of his career. "You Rock My World" topped the French music chart for three consecutive weeks. It also reached the top ten in Australia, Austrian, Canada, Danish, Finnish, Italian, Swedish, Swiss and the United Kingdom music charts.

As part of promotion for the song, a music video was released. The video, which is fourteen minutes long, was ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
MJJCommunity is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists