Modern Family Fans
A community for people who love Modern Family.
Manny Delgado

A character on the television show Modern Family.

< read all 8 reviews

What woman wouldn't want a man like Manny?

  • May 4, 2010
Rating:
+5
In many ways, Manny Delgado embodies what most women would want in a man.  So what if he's a little insecure?  He's cultured, with sophisticated and refined taste.  Mature.  Sensitive.  A great listener.  Dispenses good advice and valuable insight.  Thoughtful.  Articulate and oh-so eloquent.  Always knows what to say.  Witty.  Isn't afraid to get in touch with his feminine side.  Knows how to groom and pamper himself a la colognes and steams.  Enjoys the finer things in life, like fencing, chess, and the companionship of a pet turtle, as well as some artisan cheese and Colombian coffee -- black.  Writes poetry and music.  Wears his heart on his sleeve.  Knows what he wants and isn't afraid to do whatever it takes to get it.  Is a self-professed "man of action".  Knows how to plan a good date and woo.  Is tres romantique.  Ready to love, and be in love.  His greatest fear in life is dying alone.  Oh, and did I mention that he's in the fortieth percentile? *swoon*

But... as with many good things, however, there are a few catches...

He doesn't have a car, not even driver's license. 
Okay...

He still lives with his mom. 
Uh...

Oh, and he's only 10 (and three-fourths, as he keeps insisting).
..........

If you're starting to feel a little creeped out and disgusted with yourself, don't feel too bad -- it's not the first time Manny has sounded to good to be true to a grown woman:

"Her name is Whitney. I met her in the online book club. We both like vampire fiction and the romance of eternal life."

(Apologies about the quality, it was all I could find!)
 
After Whitney sobbingly says that she had no idea that Manny was actually a child and that she felt stupid, Manny says, "You're not stupid.  Stupid is not following your heart and taking a chance on love".  Obviously, Manny's broken hearts, but surprisingly, he's also had his own heart broken as well.  Like the time Fiona Gunderson, the girl whose "laugh makes science lab feel like recess" rejected him and chose Ted Durkas, the kid who can do a pull up, over him.  Of Ted Durkas, he admits, "He has a natural confidence. I admire it and fear it".

What Manny says and the way that he speaks is what  I love about him the most.  He's more articulate and eloquent than most people I know, not to mention slightly melodramatic, but coming out of a 10 year old -- it's hilarious.  Precocious is a serious understatement. 

How did such an old soul end up in the body of a 10 (and three fourths) year old?  If someone were to describe to me all the things that Manny says and does, I would imagine an older, former playboy dressed like Hugh Hefner sitting in his dimly lit mansion, sipping on scotch or gin out of an old fashioned glass, neat, and if he had to do a cocktail -- a basil gimlet, puffing on cigars, and polishing his monocles all day.  He's such a little old man.

Like I said, precocious is a serious understatement.
What woman wouldn't want a man like Manny?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
January 04, 2011
The world needs more kids like Manny. Thoughtful and mature. I can't believe I compared him to Bobby Hill.
January 04, 2011
Yes! And Bobby Hill? No way! :P
January 04, 2011
I can' stand Bobby, but I did think of him when I first saw Manny, a chubby young kid whos offbeat and says odd things. Thankfully I've seen more of the show now and I realize how much better Manny is then Bobby.
 
May 04, 2010
"Manny Delgado embodies what most women would want in a man.  So what if he's a little insecure?  He's cultured, with sophisticated and refined taste.  Mature.  Sensitive.  A great listener.  Dispenses good advice and valuable insight.  Thoughtful.  Articulate and oh-so eloquent.  Always knows what to say.  Witty.  Isn't afraid to get in touch with his feminine side.  Knows how to groom and pamper himself a la colognes and steams.  Enjoys the finer things in life, like fencing, chess, and the companionship of a pet turtle, as well as some artisan cheese and Colombian coffee -- black.  Writes poetry and music.  Wears his heart on his sleeve.  Knows what he wants and isn't afraid to do whatever it takes to get it.  Is a self-professed "man of action".  Knows how to plan a good date and woo.  Is tres romantique.  Ready to love, and be in love."

wow! That is incredibly deep!! Ha-hah! "He doesn't have a car... and lives with his mom.." sounds like a project LOL!

Very nice, Lady D! You are rocking these characters... :)
May 04, 2010
Thanks, Woo! Yeah... I don't need anymore projects ;)
 
May 04, 2010
Excellent review sounds like a lot of guys need to be more like "a fictional character" [gotta love Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back]. Oh well, I can't let my girl read this or I'll hear the "why can't you be more like him" speech. Great review love the way it was written.
May 04, 2010
Thanks, Alex! I hope you remember to delete your browser history then. Cookies if your girl's more tech-sophisticated like that ;)
 
May 04, 2010
Hahaha... You're allowed to keep him, Debbie! I'm pretty happy with what I've got ;-)
May 04, 2010
What do you got? Should I be jealous??? ;P
 
May 04, 2010
im really not this much of a douche in rl, but.... sorry. manny's mom is so so milfy.
May 04, 2010
I know, Gloria's a babe! The actress actually has an 18 year old kid IRL. Talk about wow!
 
1
More Manny Delgado reviews
review by . April 09, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
How can you not just love Manny? He is so outspoken and confident in himself, yet so honest as well.      For a child actor, his character is so full of personanity and tons of complexities. He loves his family more then anything and all he wants is to be loved back.      This is my most favorite Manny moment....     
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2011
posted in Modern Family Fans
Reminds me of Bobby from King of the Hill, except Manny is likable, and not totally awkward, and Columbian, and has talent....so he isn't much like Bobby at all short of being offbeat.
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
Reminds me of Bobby from King of the Hill, except Manny is likable, and not totally awkward, and Columbian, and has talent....so he isn't much like Bobby at all short of being offbeat.
review by . March 02, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
Manny Delgado is such a unique character.  Sure, we have all seen the "cute, sassy, and precocious" kid in many sitcoms, but Manny defies the stereotype.  In a family where people's ids can get out of hand, Manny often provides a semblance of sophistication and sanity (even if it is in an insane fashion).  He has a way of putting things into perspective in such a simple and refreshing way. Thank you, Modern Family, for such a great character.
Quick Tip by . April 01, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
this kid cracks me up... i bet he can make a great martini... not sure why... just feel like he can
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
Manny is hilarious, wise beyond his years.
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
This kid needs an Emmy! He's so talented!
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The role of Manny Delgado is played by Rico Rodriguez II.

Manny Delgado (Rico Rodriguez II), Gloria's son from her first marriage, is very outgoing and not the least bit self-conscious. He is very mature and intuitive for his age and is often shown doing adult-like things, such as having conversations with Claire about her marriage and kids, and drinking coffee. He has inherited his mother's passion for life which causes him to be very romantic. His support is mainly channeled through his mother Gloria and almost nonexistent in his stepfather Jay. Manny is not afraid to take chances, leading him to ask out older girls, and develop somewhat of a crush on Haley. He idolizes his absentee father, often speaking about him in a positive light, even after being repeatedly flaked on. He plays for a soccer team and fences.
view wiki

Details

Polls
Alex Dunphy

Modern Family Characters

by

First to Review
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Modern Family Fans is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists