Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Life of Pi

A book by Yann Martel

< read all 10 reviews

The Doldrums

  • Mar 7, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+1
Every year some publisher or another foists an uplifting allegory on the ever-ravenous public.  Paul Coelho is the emperor of the genre (for now).  Life of Pi is an addition to the canon, and has done quite well with folks seeking a sugar-coated sort of uplift.  I found the book to be moderately entertaining, moderately clever, not particularly insightful, and way too long.  When the characters hit the Doldrums, the book does as well and shifts from moderate to boring, and never recovers.  I'd be thrilled if the reading public gave Life of Pi a rest, but I fear it's going to find an eternal niche in the becalmed waters of the New Age. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 26, 2009
Hmmm, I keep hearing about this book and a ton of people have been telling me to read it, so it's interesting to see a poor review of it. I'm not a fan of "way too long" if it's sugarcoated and not insightful. Thanks for your thoughts!
 
March 09, 2009
I read this when it first came out, and I don't remember what the twist was. I do remember going, "Oh, a twist," and tossing the book on my give-away pile. I was in India at the time, and I think it ended it up in a call-center employee library. Sorry.
 
1
More Life of Pi reviews
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2010
I liked it. I never worked out what I thought had happened, but I still liked it. One of the few "inconclusive" novels that still has me hooked.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
I tried three times and was never able to make it through this. I've heard the end is good and the beginning was exciting, but the middle is a long stretch.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
Stick with it...the ending is a zinger! It completely changes you're perspective on the whole story.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
love this book, entertaining with an interesting ending.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
great story!!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
In some ways, a challenging read due to length and some of the specifics of the journey. Overall, however, an amazing journey to take. At turns practical and philosophical, it's a book that will hold you to the end.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
It starts out slow but the writing is charming and the story is interesting.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A great adventure!
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
loved it
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
loved this book!
About the reviewer
Richard Wells ()
Ranked #91
Community Organizer by profession, artist at heart. "I been all 'round this world..."
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
rwellsrwells
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by rwellsrwells
About this book

Wiki

Yann Martel's imaginative and unforgettableLife of Piis a magical reading experience, an endless blue expanse of storytelling about adventure, survival, and ultimately, faith. The precocious son of a zookeeper, 16-year-old Pi Patel is raised in Pondicherry, India, where he tries on various faiths for size, attracting "religions the way a dog attracts fleas." Planning a move to Canada, his father packs up the family and their menagerie and they hitch a ride on an enormous freighter. After a harrowing shipwreck, Pi finds himself adrift in the Pacific Ocean, trapped on a 26-foot lifeboat with a wounded zebra, a spotted hyena, a seasick orangutan, and a 450-pound Bengal tiger named Richard Parker ("His head was the size and color of the lifebuoy, with teeth"). It sounds like a colorful setup, but these wild beasts don't burst into song as if co-starring in an anthropomorphized Disney feature. After much gore and infighting, Pi and Richard Parker remain the boat's sole passengers, drifting for 227 days through shark-infested waters while fighting hunger, the elements, and an overactive imagination. In rich, hallucinatory passages, Pi recounts the harrowing journey as the days blur together, elegantly cataloging the endless passage of time and his struggles to survive: "It is pointless to say that this or that night was the worst of my life. I have so many bad nights to choose from that I've made none the champion."

An award winner in ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0156027321
ISBN-13: 978-0156027328
Author: Yann Martel
Genre: Literature & Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers
Publisher: Mariner Books
First to Review

"This is a very good book"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists